3rd January, 1911
That the Police be asked to issue a public notice drawing
attention to damage done to public lamps and stating that
legal proceedings will be instituted against persons doing
damage to public lamps or fittings.
That the following plans be approved viz:- 2 dwelling-house
in Carr Street for Mr Charles Gilson. 3 W C's in Sun Street
for W G E Richards. Alterations to Bridgehouse Mills for Messrs
McLaren and Park.
On the motion of Mr Joseph Mitchell seconded by Dr Maggs
it was resolved that the Clerk communicate with Colonel Crompton
CB, of the Road Board stating that the Council have a stretch
of level main road in their district which quickly gets out
of repair owing to the heavy Motor and Omnibus traffic which
passes over it, and that the Council would feel under obligation
to him for any suggestions he may make as to the most effective
and economic method of keeping such a piece of road in as
good a state of repair a possible under the circumstances.
That during the coming summer months the Gas Manager be instructed
to experimentally substitute oxide for line purification of
7th February 1911
That 28 days' notice be served upon the landlord of the Cross
Inn property under section 15 of the Housing, Town Planning
Act 1909 to make the said property reasonably fit for human
habitation as per particulars set out in Council's record
of inspection of dwelling-houses.
It was resolved that the repair and widening of Butt Lane
from Rawdon St to Main Street be referred to the Highways
Committee for consideration and report.
That the Clerk reply to a letter received from the solicitor
to the West Riding Rivers Board with reference to house connections
to Sewer stating that the Council have the matter in hand
and are proceeding with the making of drains for taking of
water so that the house drains may be connected to the sewers
without having to contend with storm water and that by the
end of March the Council will have corrected a considerable
number of houses with the sewer to sewage works.
7th March, 1911
It was resolved that the Inspector of Nuisances take every
means in his power under The Council By-laws to have abated
the nuisance caused by Bone Boiling and fat melting carried
on by Messrs Smith and Robertshaw at Barcroft.
That the Clerk be instructed to communicate with the Midland
Railway Company stating that considerable complaint has been
made with regard to the very crowded state of the 5-38pm,
passenger train from Keighley at Oxenhope. Every third-class
compartment being filled to great inconvenience, as many as
15 and 16 persons being crowded into one compartment.
It was resolved that the Council take the initiative in promoting
the celebration in the Council District of the coronation
of King George V and that the Clerk write to various public
bodies in the District asking them to nominate not more than
three delegates to attend a meeting to be called hereafter
for the purpose of considering how best to commemorate the
It was resolved that a deputation be appointed to wait upon
Mr Michael Herbert Merral of Law house, Haworth for the purpose
of asking him to allow his name to be nominated to the Lord
Chancellor for appointment as a West Riding Justice of the
Peace for the Keighley division and that if he so consents
that a petition be forawrded by the Council in his favour
to the Lord Chancellor.
25th April, 1911
A special meeting of the Council was held this day at the
Council Chamber, Haworth.
The Clerk reported having received from the local Government
Board copy of a general order issued by them in connection
with the celebration of the Coronation of his Majesty the
King, giving sanction to reasonable expenses being incurred
by the Council in connection with any loyal address to his
Majesty, or otherwise in connection with any public local
celebration of the Coronation.
The Clerk also reported having received from the local Coronation
Committee a recommendation that the Council contribute to
the Coronation fund an amount equal to a penny in the pound
on the rateable value of the district. He had also received
a request signed by seven members of the Council requesting
him to call a special meeting of the Council to consider the
recommendation of the Coronation Committee. Mr Robert Timson
moved and Dr Maggs seconded that the Council do not make any
grant from the rates towards the Coronation festivities. On
being put to the meeting the Chairman declared the motion
to be carried.
The Clerk reported that there was a balance in hand from
the Jubilee fund of 1897 amounting to ?35.13. 1 it was decided
to keep the matter in mind in connection with the present
30th May, 1911
That Mr Jackson Lee be appointed Road Roller Engine Attendant
and to make himself generally useful under the direction of
the Surveyor at a weekly wage of 26/-, with one week's holiday
a year after first years' service, wages paid.
The Clerk reported having received from the West Riding Highways
Committee a communication that they authorised the tar spraying
of 12920 square yards of Roads in accordance with application
made by the Council on the 4th April last.
That all labourers in the employ of the Council (paid by
the hour) be allowed two-and-half days holiday per year and
time and quarter for Sunday Labour.
That day men be allowed one week's holiday throughout the
year at the discretion of the Gas Manager or surveyor.
That regular stokers be allowed one week's holiday and occasional
stokers working part time in this capacity four day's per
year, the above conditions to apply only to those who have
been in the service of the Council one year.
That the Gas Manager and Surveyor be allowed 10 days' holiday
each per year.
The Clerk reported having received a letter from the Town
Clerk of Keighley stating that it was reported that the Haworth
Coronation Committee were suggesting a beacon fire on Brow
moor on Coronation Day and that he was instructed to call
the attention of the Council to the fact that the moor is
vested in the Corporation as the Lords of the Manor and to
ask by what authority it is proposed to use it for such a
purpose without the corporation's consent. It was resolved
that the Council approved the reply of the Clerk of the 27th
May 1911 stating that the Council have made no arrangements
whatsoever for a Beacon fire on Brow moor on Coronation Day.
4th July, 1911
It was reported that some person recently had wantonly used
a fire alarm box and given a false alarm It was resolved that
the Superintendent of Police be asked to issue warning notices,
and that the Council offer a reward of 5/- to any person giving
such information as will lead to the conviction of any person
The Clerk reported having received from the Home Office an
order declaring section 87 (power to Police Constable to break
open premises in case of fire) and section 88 (power to Police
Officer to control Street traffic at fires) of the public
Health acts Amendment Act of 1907 to be in force in the Urban
District of Haworth.
28th July, 1911
It was resolved that a meeting of the Council and in committee
be called for the purpose of considering the question of a
permanent memorial to King Edward and also what form it should
5th September, 1911
That the application of Mr John White for registration of
The Cross Hotel, Haworth as a lodging house be granted, and
that the maximum number of lodgers authorised to be received
at any one time be forty six; and that the maximum number
of lodgers authorised to be received at any one time into
it each of the several rooms in his house, is the number specified
in respect of such room in the appropriate column of the following
Ground Storey Room 1 - 9
Ground Storey Room 2 7
No 1 - 8
No. 2 - 5
No. 3 - 3
No 4 - 14
3 October 1911
The Chairman made reference to the lamented death of Sir John
Brigg, member of Parliament for the Keighley division, and
to the great and important work done by him in connection
with Parliamentary and local matters. It was unanimously resolved
by all members rising to their feet, that a vote of sympathy
be passed with his family in the bereavement which they have
been called upon to bear and that the Clerk be instructed
to communicate the resolution to JJ Brigg Esq JP.
That the Council support the West Riding District Councils
Association in their opposition to the proposal of the County
Council taking over the control of the main roads and that
the members of the County Council for this district be asked
to vote against the proposal of the County Council.
The question of permanent Memorial in the Council's District
in commemoration of the Coronation of King George V as per
resolution of the Council had been brought before them for
consideration but that it was resolved to pass on to the next
It was unanimously resolved that the Clerk communicate with
the District Superintendent of the Midland Railway Company
with respect to the time of departure of the first train in
the morning from Haworth, stating that there were general
expressions of dissatisfaction in the district at the early
hour at which it leaves vis:- 5-10 am and to ask the company
to look into the matter with a view, if possible, for arrangements
to be made for the train to leave say 15 or 20 minutes later,
as under the present arrangements work people arrive at Keighley
by this train half an hour before their time at which the
various works commence business.
23rd October 1911
A special meeting of the Council was held this day at the
Council chamber, Haworth.
The Council's Keighley Corporation Bill Committee recommended
and Dr Maggs moved and Mr Robert Timson seconded that the
Council put upon the Keighley Corporation the following obligations
as conditions upon which the Council will offer no opposition
to the trackless trolley clauses of the Corporation's Bill,
(1) The Corporation to undertake to commence trackless trolley
service in the Council's District within 12 months from the
passing of their act failing which that their powers cease.
(2) The Corporation shall if required by the Council sell
to them their undertaking on terms say after seven years,
if notice be given to the Corporation by the Council within
12 months from the expiration of the seven years; if no such
notice be given, then again after 14 years if the Council
give notice within 12 months from the expiration of the said
(3) The service to be a reasonable one and to the satisfaction
of the Council.
(a) as to frequency of running of cars.
(b) suitable car accommodation
(c) as to fares to be charged.
(d) provision of suitable waiting rooms for passengers.
(e) position of standards on Highways in the Council's District
to be to the satisfaction of the Council.
(f) widening of Highways where necessary.
In case of difference on any of the above points between
the Corporation and the Council an arbitrator to be called
in to settle disputes.
7 November 1911
The time of year has now arrived when it is necessary that
all trees and hedges overhanging main roads should be lopped
or otherwise dressed. It was resolved that the Council Surveyor
be instructed to take all necessary steps to lop trees and
hedges overhanging the highway in the Council's District where
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Keighley
Corporation dated 19 October 1911 stating owing to the prolonged
drought they had been reluctantly compelled to give instructions
for the water supply to be turned off at 6-30 o'clock each
evening commencing (October 20th) until 5 o'clock the following
That 24 copies of poster issued by the Borough of Camberwell
with respect to the physical deterioration and alcoholism
be purchased and posted in the Council's Urban District.
5 December 1911
The Clerk in accordance with instructions received by him
from the Chairman of the Highways Committee reported that
he had communicated with the town Clerk of Keighley drawing
his attention to the very bad state of the road leading from
Haworth along Enfield Side to the new reservoir works of the
Corporation, that the bad state was caused by extra ordinary
traffic and asking the Corporation what they intend to do
in the matter. The Clerk reported having received a reply
stating that the roads in question was not so constructed
as to be capable of ordinary traffic without getting into
bad condition and it was realised that something must be done
to put the road into a better state and they suggest in order
to meet the Council that the Corporation undertake to maintain
the road during its use in connection with the construction
of the Water Works and hand it over to the Council at the
conclusion in a proper and reasonable state of repair.
On the motion of Mr James Ackroyd seconded by Mr George Rushworth
it was resolved that the Council support the Daylight Savings
Bill. That the passing of the Bill would conduce to the physical,
mental and moral and financial welfare of the nation and that
it is deserving of the support of all classes of the community.
That a copy of this resolution be forwarded to his Majesty's
Government accompanied by an expression of hope that will
give facilities for the Bill. That a copy of the resolution
be also sent to the members of parliament for this division.
The motion was carried, Mr Timson only voting against.
2 January 1912
That a summons had been issued against Messrs Smith and Robertshaw
in accordance with resolution of last Council meeting with
reference to the business of bone boiling at Barcroft and
that the case had come before the magistrates of the Keighley
bench, when it was decided to inflict a penalty of ?2 and
?3-3-0 costs, the defendants undertaking to discontinue bone
boiling, and had promised to remove the boiling plants from
the premises. The Clerk laid before the Council a report of
this case, by the Council Solicitor dated 22nd December. It
was resolved to instruct the Council's Inspector of Nuisances
to regularly visit the premises at different times of the
day and make note of his observations, also of complaints
if any are made by the residents in the neighbourhood and
report from time to time to the sanitary Committee.
It was unanimously resolved that the Clerk be instructed
to communicate with the General Manager of the Keighley tramways
stating the question had been raised of the unseemly rushes
which are made for the Lees and Cross Roads Omnibus, especially
those leaving Ingrow late on Saturday nights, that serious
complaints have been made by residents in the Council's District
of women being ruthlessly pushed on one side in the rush to
gain seats, and that on a recent Saturday night it was feared
some of the women would be injured, and respectfully suggest
that the Corporation erect a suitable queue gangway at Ingrow
terminus similar to the one erected by the Corporation close
to the Devonshire hotel for the Oakworth Omnibus.
17th January 1912
there is a danger of the supply and pressure of water to Haworth
being diminished by reason of the proposed intersection of
a line of pipes from Lord Lane and Tim Lane to Hog Holes Lane
as set out in work number 6 paragraph 8 there is no evidence
of the supply of water to Cross Roads and Lees being improved
by the line of pipes.
The Committee recommend that the Council oppose any interference
with the iron pipe leading from Denby Hill to Church Hills
Reservoir under clause 1 of the agreement set out in the first
schedule of the Keighley Corporation act 1891.
The Council ought to apply for an Electric Lighting Order
covering the whole of their gas supply district. That the
Council make application forthwith to the Board of Trade for
a provisional order under the Electric Lighting Acts 1882/1889
authorising the Council to supply electrical energy for public
and private purposes, either for lighting or motive power
within the District of Haworth Urban Council, within the area
of the Oxenhope Urban District Council and such portion of
the Oakworth Urban District Council for which areas the Haworth
Urban District Council have authority to supply gas.
2 February 1912
it was resolved that the Council to take the necessary steps
for opposing in the next session of parliament a Bill promoted
I the Corporation of Keighley to empower the Mayor Alderman
and Burgesses of the Borough to construct further Water Works
and Street improvement to provide and work a Trolley Vehicle
System, to provide and work Motor Omnibuses on additional
routes, to extend the powers of the Corporation with regard
to the health, Local Government and improvement of the Borough,
to vest the Keighley Institute in the Corporation and for
other purposes. The Chairman declared the resolution to be
carried, all present voting for it except W Joseph Gott who
6 February 1912
It was resolved that steps be taken to purchase Sowdens farm
and that the subcommittee already appointed to consider question
be empowered to effect a purchase of the farm.
The Clerk reported receipt of a resolution passed at a public
meeting in the co-operative Hall on 31 January 1912 of which
the following is a copy:
"That this public meeting of Parish and Ratepayers of
Lees, Cross Roads and Bocking do here by request the Haworth
Urban District Council at as early a date as possible to forward
a resolution to the West Riding County Council requesting
them to cancel the bye law raising the age for employment
of children to 14 years or on passing the seventh standard
to 12 years." It was resolved that the Council support
the resolution from the public meeting and communicate with
the Education Committee of the West Riding County Council
asking them to support their request that the bye law in question
be cancelled and further that the Clerk communicate with the
Worth Valley Education Sub Committee and asked them to support
the Council's action in the matter.
The District Superintendent of the Midland Railway Company
had waited upon him with regard to the complaints made by
the Council with respect to the early-morning train from Haworth
to Keighley and want of proper lighting and heating of the
morning trains. The District Superintendent stated that the
matter referred to had received the careful consideration
of himself personally, and of the Department at Derby, but
the company could not see their way to run the early-morning
train later as requested as it would interfere with the connections
North and South at Keighley, and that the only way to overcome
the difficulty will be to run a special train and this the
company declined to do owing to the expense involved. He stated
that the lighting and heating of the early morning trains
would be improved and that he would look into the complaint
of the 5-48 train from Oxenhope running late.
The Clerk reported receipt of a communication with respect
to the Daylight Savings Bill, containing a request that the
Council write to members of parliament for their district
asking them to give the Bill their chance in the ballot for
Private members bills next session.
5 March 1912
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication which he
had received from the Local Government Board enclosing a copy
of a general order dated 10 February 1912, with amending regulations
as to cut out device for use on motor cars, with a view to
reducing the noises which would otherwise be caused by the
escape of gases.
The Clerk reported having received a communication dated
February 23, 1912, from the Independent Labour Party (Haworth
branch) with a copy of resolution protesting against the increase
of officer salaries; also a copy of resolution passed at a
public meeting on 29 February 1912, expressing disapproval
of the action of the Council in granting an increase of salary
to the Clerk, and other matters with reference to increase
of salaries, and expressing the opinion that the Council should
make application to the West Riding County Authority to revise
the seal of election expenses, with a view to reduction of
25th March 1912
That the Clerk write to the secretary of the Keighley Co-operative
Society drawing their attention to the very fast driving of
their motor van when in the Council's District, and point
out that on Wednesday morning last about 10-30 a.m. an accident
which might have had serious results was only narrowly averted.
That the action of the Gasworks Subcommittee in issuing posters
to the gas consumers in the Council's gas supply district,
asking them to be economic in the use of gas during the coal
strike be approved.
16 April 1912
The question of proposed joint cemetery for Haworth and Keighley
at Whins top farm and report to highways committee.
7 May 1912
That the Clerk reply to communication received from the Anti-bearing
Rein Association stating that the Council have decided to
discontinue the use of Hame-rein on their cart horses harness
and have agreed that the Council allow their name to be added
to the list of Urban District Councils who have decided to
discontinue the use of the Hame rein on their cart horses.
That the communications received from various persons with
reference to claims for alleged loss sustained by reason of
steam road engine sticking fast in portion of highway of Keighley
Road, Cross Roads be referred to the Councils Solicitor
to deal with as he may advise.
The Surveyor reported that he had obtained permission to
erect two motor danger signals at Side Bar and that the work
had been carried out.
The Water Works Superintendent reported that it was his intention
to empty Hough reservoir tomorrow. It was resolved that the
water Subcommittee takes steps to have the inflow of water
at the bottom of the reservoir gauged while it is empty.
Dr Maggs had given notice of motion as follows, "to
order that the Council apply to the local government board
for bye laws to enable the Council to effectively deal with
nuisances caused by animals straying upon streets and highways
in the district". Dr Maggs decided to withdraw his motion
for the present.
4 June 1912
that the old tool house behind the Council's offices be altered
and made suitable for central fire station and that the Fire
Brigade Sub Committee be empowered to carry out the work necessary
at an estimated cost of ?12.
That the Council approved of the steps proposed to be taken
by the Harden Moor Allotments Charity to apply to the charity
commissioners for an order to transfer to the trustees of
the Harden Moor Allotments certain allotments as set out in
the letter from the Clerk to the said trustees dated 9th May
6 August 1912
That complaint be made to the Keighley Corporation of the
nuisance caused by the dropping of petrol and grease from
their omnibuses at Lees terminus.
That application be made to the County highways committee
for permission to fix an adjustable door on one side of the
wall of bridge near railway station for the purpose of snow
tipping in winter.
That the attention of the Keighley Corporation be drawn to
the coal shaft on Haworth Moor, near to Hill Top, on the Enfield
Side Road and ask them to protect the same as required by
section 26 of the coal mines act 1911.
That 28 days notice be served upon the owner of the Black
Bull Hotel, Main Street, requiring him to provide proper and
efficient drainage to the stables belonging to the Hotel.
That the Inspector of Nuisances be instructed to make smoke
observations, and that he inform the owners of factories in
the district that the Council are taking the matter of nuisances
caused by smoke into their consideration and that he be requested
to report on the matter to the next meeting of this committee.
The inspector reported that the West Riding Education Committee
were prepared to fit the sanitary conveniences at the Haworth
central school with water closet arrangements if the Council
would provide sewer. It was decided to refer the matter to
the sewerage Subcommittee to consider the best way of doing
3 September 1912
On the motion of Dr Maggs seconded by Mr James Greenwood it
was resolved that the attention of the Superintendent of Police
be called to the damage to gas lamp lanterns in the Council's
District by stone throwing, especially in the Vale Mill Lane
district and that he be informed that the Council will follow
up with prosecution such cases as the Police may report.
1 October 1912
the Chairman of the Council reported receipt by him of a letter
from the agents of Mr Green Emmott as follows:-
28th September 1912
I have much pleasure in informing you that Mr Green Emmott
would be glad to present the township of Haworth with the
small plots of enclosed land situated in the road known as
Mytholmes Lane with a view to enabling the Council to improve
the amenities of the street, which somewhat restricted at
the present time owing to the existence of this enclosure.
I may add that it is a special pleasure to Mr Green Emmott
to be able to make this gift through you in your dual capacity
as tenant on his estate, and Chairman of the Haworth Council,
and he will be pleased if you will advise the Council of this
gift, at their next meeting.
Yours truly Mr JH Holdsworth, J Herbert Pardoe
Mill Hill, Haworth
That the application of the Keighley Corporation for permission
to erect temporary buildings (other than dwellings) in connection
with Sladen Valley water works as per their letter to the
Council of 4 September 1912 be granted.
That tenders for the supply of gas coal as followed be accepted,
Henry Ellison Ltd 500 tons Manvers Main Best Washed and Double
Screened Gas Nuts at 13/7 per ton.
1 October 1912
That the question of purchasing a second-hand gas engine for
driving the Exhauster is and Wasters be left in the hands
of the Gasworks Subcommittee, with power to purchase the same,
at an estimated cost of ?20, also the disposing of the present
steam engine, when necessary as they may decide.
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication with reference
to the Daylight Saving Bill. It was resolved that letters
be written to the Members of Parliament for the Keighley and
Otley divisions urging them to give the Bill their chance
in the ballot for Private members bills next session, and
that a communication be sent to the Prime Minister reminding
the Government of the Council's resolution in favour of the
Bill and expressing their desire that facilities may be offered
for the consideration of the Bill by the House of Commons
before next spring.
5 November 1912
That the Council offer to cleanse road at Hebden Bridge road
where the Keighley motor bus stops for the sum of two shillings
That 28 days notice be served on the executors of the late
Mr Enoch Brown requiring them to remedy the damp condition
of houses number 9 to 31 Vale mill Lane.
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Midland Railway
Company stating that the engineer regrets he cannot see his
way to recommend the company to make any special contribution
towards the proposed flagging of footpath along Station Road
beyond the share of the company as ratepayers.
7 January 1913
that Messrs Joseph Gott, CP Ross and Joseph Mitchell and the
Council Surveyor be deputed to a few other districts where
the Trackless Trolley System is in operation and obtain as
much information as possible with regard to the working of
such systems before the Keighley Corporation begin to install
their Trackless Trolley System in the Lees and Cross Roads
That a hand rail be fixed on the side of the new wall at
the top of Butt Lane, and another along the side of the wall
belonging to the Gasworks Committee in Apsley St.
4 March 1913
with reference to the letter received from Mr Arthur Toothill
claiming the fence wall which bounded the plot of land given
to the Council by Mr Green Emmott on the South side thereof,
the committee viewed the site and had also an interview with
Mr Toothill recommended that the wall be taken down and rebuilt
in a line with the property of the late Mr Sam Sutcliffe and
Mr Toothill in the event of buildings being placed on the
vacant ground owned by Mr Toothill he be allowed to place
a flag footway in a line with the existing flagging between
the two properties as per plan prepared by the Council surveyor.
20 March 1913
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Borough of
Keighley with reference to suggested joint cemetery at Whins
Top farm stating that the cemetery committee of the Corporation
after carefully considering the matter had come to the conclusion
that they cannot recommend the Town Council to accept the
terms contained in the Haworth Council's letter of 6 November
last. It was resolved that the Council take no further steps
in the matter at present.
That the plan of proposed sewer from Central Schools and
Lower Mill Hill be approved, and that tenders be invited for
carrying out the work, such work being sewage capital account
estimated cost ?87-18-1.
The Bridgehouse Mills Company Ltd having made verbal application
for permission to connect manure tank at Bridgehouse farm,
with the Council's sewer. It was resolved that such permission
be not given.
That the application of the Haworth Hippodrome Ltd for water
be granted on the usual terms.
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the charity commission
enclosing official copy of the scheme established by order
of that board dated 4 March 1913 for administration of allotments
under the enclosure awards, number of scheme B 87089.
13 April 1913
The Highways Subcommittee reported on the offer of land made
by the agent to the Rawdon estate that he would gladly agree
to the Council's proposal to widen Belle Isle Road as explained
to him by Mr Holdsworth and agreeing to allow the Council
free of cost land required for the purpose, provided a satisfactory
boundary wall is erected. It was unanimously resolved to accept
the offer and the Clerk was instructed to write a letter to
Mr Pardoe thanking him for the gift of land necessary for
the purpose, and further stating that the Council fully appreciate
his kindness in granting these concessions for public improvements
which the Council feel add to the estate as well as being
benefit to the public.
6 May 1913
that the improvement line on West side of Belle Isle Road
from the Shepherds on the Mount Lodge to the existing retaining
wall near Mr Magson's house be carried out.
3 June 1913
It was resolved to approve plan of proposed WC's and Ash places
to houses in Hebden Bridge road for the Shepherds on the Mount
The finance and general purpose committee recommended and
on the motion of Mr Joseph Mitchell seconded by Mr J H Holdsworth
it was resolved that this Council having in view the cheaper
transit facilities due to Canal development in Germany, France
and Belgium, the countries chiefly competing with our manufacturers
in our own and foreign markets, the congested conditions of
transit of heavy and bulky goods in this country and the consequent
hindrance so made, urges the Government to take immediate
action upon the report and recommendations of the Royal Commission
on Canals, appointed upon their advice, by introducing a bill
to give immediate effect to paragraph 973 subsections 1 and
2 of the report which recommends the appointment of the Waterways
Board and the acquisition by the state of the four ? or main
canal routes (referred to as "the Cross" rep par
485). That a copy of the foregoing resolution be forwarded
to the Prime Minister, and to the Members of Parliament for
the divisions of Keighley and Otley with a request to support
any proceedings which may be taken in the House to give effect
to the above resolution, and that the Secretary of the Waterways
Association be advised.
1 July 1913
It was resolved that the seal of the Council be affixed to
memorandum of agreement as proposed by Mr William Dewhirst,
with respect to the erection of Pulsometer adjoining Fallwood
brewery at a point abutting upon the Bridgehouse Beck, such
agreement not in any way to prejudice or affect any claims
of right of road through and over the site of the said Pulsometer
by the owners of Fallwood brewery.
The collector reported that Mr Edgar Charles Wilson had erected
a Portable Theatre on land in Butt Lane. It was resolved in
accordance with the power given to the Council by section
60 of the Council's Private act of 1872, to assess the said
Portable Theatre at ?40, and that the collector be instructed
to insert the assessment with the name of Mr Edgar Charles
Wilson in the current rate.
5 August 1913
That the offer of Messrs Merrall and Son Ltd to provide at
their own cost, new material for paving the portion of road
at the top of South View disturbed by the sewering be accepted,
and that the Council lay the same without charge.
That the application for water for plasterers work in connection
with the erection of Picture Theatre made by Mr Harry Metcalfe
be granted on the usual terms.
2 September 1913
That the wages of the driver of the steam road roller be increased
to 28/- per week.
That 50 lamps be changed from ordinary flat flame burners
to incandescent and that the position of the changes be left
to the discretion of the surveyor.
That the salary of the Surveyor to the Council be increased
from 45/- per week 50/- per week, the plan book showing the
sewers and drains of the district made by him during the period
he was Clerk of works for the sewering of the district, to
become the property of the Council.
The Clerk stated that he had received from the Superintendent
of Police reports and statements against Willie Adams and
20 youths for damage to Street lamps in Lord Lane. Mr F H
Holdsworth moved and Mr Joseph Gott seconded that legal proceedings
be instituted against the boys. As an amendment Mr G Riley
moved and Mr Alfred Wood seconded that the boys be asked to
appear before the Council and be warned and requested to pay
the value of the damage done. On the amendment being put to
the meeting there voted for: Messers Joseph Mitchell, Robert
Timson, J H Pickles, Ineson Taylor, James Reilly, T Binns
and Alfred Wood. Against. Messers James Ackroyd, John A Murgatroyd,
Harry Binns, Dr Maggs, James Greenwood, Charles P Ross, George
Rushworth, P H Holdsworth and Joseph Gott. The Chairman declared
the amendment to be lost. He then put the original motion
when nine members who voted against the amendment voted for
the resolution. There were none against the Chairman declared
the original motion to be carried.
It was resolved that the Clerk reply to the communication
received from the County Council with reference to application
received by them for Cinematograph licence for the Haworth
Hippodrome stating that the Council as the sanitary authority
have no objections to raise to the granting of the said licence.
On the motion of Dr Maggs seconded by Mr Ineson Taylor it
was resolved that the Council accept the offer of Mr John
Heaton to provide 7 WC's in place of four pail closets as
at present to houses at Hebden Road belonging to him on condition
that the Council pay the cost of the plumbing work of the
4 new WC's.
In accordance with notice of motion given by Mr Harry Binns
he moved and Mr Joseph Mitchell seconded that a committee
be appointed to take into consideration the question of purchasing
or leasing of land for pleasure for recreation purposes and
report to the Council. On the resolution being put to the
meeting the Chairman declared it to be unanimously carried.
7 October 1913
The Clerk reported result of the proceedings taken against
four boys for damage to gas lamps in Lord Lane and that Willie
Adams, James Parker, Richard Metcalfe and Reggie Booth had
been fined by the magistrate 7/6 each. It was resolved that
the parents of the remaining 17 boys be each required to pay
a share of the damage done and cost incurred, as per promise
contained in their letter to the Council dated 25th August
1913, and that in consideration of the parents paying 3/6
each, no further proceedings be instructed.
4 November 1913
That the question of repair of footpath through fields to
Greenfield be referred to the Highways Committee for consideration.
2 December 1913
That a letter be written to Mr Pardoe, Mr Green Emmotts agent,
calling his attention to the unsatisfactory condition of the
public footpath leading from Mill Hill to Mytholmes, which
is very extensively travelled, and further that the Council
are given to understand that the footpath leading from Mill
Hill to South View is the property of the Keighley Corporation,
and if so, the Council would be glad to know if the Keighley
Corporation are under obligation to keep the footpath in repair,
and that the Council Surveyor will be glad to confer with
him over the matter next time he is in the district; that
the Clerk further state that the Council do not anticipate
that the necessary repairs will be very expensive.
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication dated 25th
November 1913, from the Board of Trade ? A copy of regulations
and bylaws made by the Board in regard to the use of electrical
power in connection with the trackless trolley system under
the Keighley Corporation tramways order 1903 and the Keighley
Corporation act 1913.
That the plan of Bake House proposed to be erected in Back
Alma Street for Mr John a Parker be approved.
18 December 1913
The Clerk lay before the meeting a communication which he
had received from Messers Baker & Co, Parliamentary Agents,
drawing the Council's attention to an application which will
be made to Parliament next session by the Yorkshire Electric
Power Company whereby they seek to obtain a monopoly of supply
of electricity over the Council's District without coming
under obligation to supply.
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication which he
had received from the home office with reference to storage
and use of celluloid and celluloid articles. In view of the
nearness of the Christmas shopping season, it was resolved
that the Clerk arrange to have posted in the district, a poster
dealing with the question, also that he issue a pamphlet on
the subject to Drapers, Chemists, Jewellers, Dealers in Fancy
Toys, Photographic Films etc in the Council's area.
6 January 1914
That the Council support the Public Rights of Way Bill and
forward copies of resolution as suggested in letter from the
Commons and Footpaths Preservation Society dated December
That the lamp at the bottom of Greenfield Terrace be removed
about two yards nearer the farmhouse, and that this lamp and
the next along Greenfield be converted to incandescent so
as to improve the lighting of the public footpath.
The Clerk reported that the agreement with the Haworth Hippodrome
Ltd with reference to drain under Belle Isle Road had been
completed and was now in his possession.
That the Inspector of Nuisances be instructed to sell old
excreta cart belonging to the Council to Mr GR Hall at the
best price possible, he to undertake to use it in the Council
service under his scavenging contract.
The Clerk reported that in accordance with instructions received
by him from this committee at their last meeting he had requested
the liquidator of Messers Tom Kershaw and Son Ltd to furnish
the Council with a summary of his receipt and payments as
liquidator of the said company, and that he had replied that
he would do so on payment of a fee of ?1-1-0. That the Clerk
had offered to wait upon the liquidator at his own office
to inspect either accounts or a summary thereof, and report
thereon to the Council, that the liquidator had replied that
he had nothing further to add to his letter of 2 December.
The question of provision of recreation grounds raised at
previous meetings of the Council received consideration. Mr
James Ackroyd moved and Mr C P Ross seconded that the time
is inappropriate for the establishment of recreation grounds,
that the scheme be abandoned, and the committee appointed
by the Council to consider the matter be disolved. As an amendment
Mr Harry Binns moved and Mr James Reilly seconded that Captain
Emmott be approached with the object of purchasing or leasing
certain lands abutting upon Bridgehouse Lane, and Butt Lane
for recreation ground purposes. On being put to the meeting
the Chairman declared the amendment to be lost. As a further
amendment Mr JK Holdsworth moved and Mr Harry Binns seconded
that the consideration of the question be adjourned for six
months. On being put to the meeting the Chairman declared
the amendment to be lost. On the original motion being put
to the meeting he declared it to be carried.
3 February 1914
It was decided that the Surveyor make application to spray
the whole of Halifax road, from Keighley boundary to the old
brick works at Wicken Cragg, and from St James church
to mid way between Side Bar and Hawcliffe, and the Toller
Lane main road same as last year.
The Clerk read a letter from Mr Pardoe in reply to his communication
referring to liability to repair public footpath leading from
Mill Hill to Mytholmes and public footpath leading from Mill
Hill to South View. Mr Pardoe stated there was no obligation
on the part of the Keighley Corporation to repair, that the
freehold in the footpaths belong to Mr Green Emmott, that
the footpaths exist solely for the convenience of the public
and submitted that they should be repaired by the Local Authority.
He said that he would be prepared to meet a deputation of
the Council to discuss matters arising at the next audit on
2nd March next.
On the motion of Mr Robert Timson seconded by Mr Thomas Duerden
it was resolved that the Council do take the necessary steps
for opposing in the next session of Parliament a Bill promoted
by the Yorkshire Electric Power Company to confer further
powers on the said company. On the motion of Mr Robert Timson
seconded by Mr James Reilly it was resolved that the seal
of the Council be fixed to the Council's petition against
the Bill for presentation to the Honourable the Lords Spiritual
and Temporal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland
in Parliament assembled.
March 24, 1914
That a committee be appointed to meet Keighley Corporation
with respect to their proposal to apply for an order under
section 11 of the Electric Lighting Act 1882, empowering the
Corporation to supply electricity for all purposes in certain
surrounding districts including the District of the Haworth
Council, and report to the Council, the Clerk and Solicitor
to be added to the committee.
April 7, 1914
That the lighting of the public lamps cease on Wednesday,
April 29, 1914.
That slaughterhouse licences for the insulin year as follows,
be granted, viz
Mr John Green, Haworth road, Mr Feather Hartley, building
off Haworth road, Mr JK Holdsworth, Prince Street, Mr John
Murgatroyd, Ivy bank Lane, Mr George Stoney, Bridgehouse Lane
top, Mr John Snowdon, Barcroft.
April 21, 1914
It was resolved that the Clerk to the Council take the chair
Mr George Rushworth moved and Dr Maggs seconded that Mr James
Ackroyd be appointed Chairman of the Council for the ensuing
year. As an amendment Mr James Greenwood moved and Mr Harry
Binns seconded the Mr J A Holdsworth be appointed Chairman
for the ensuing year. On the amendment being put to the meeting
there voted for Messers Ezekill Uttley, Ineson Taylor, John
A Murgatroyd, Harry Binns, James Greenwood, Charles P Ross,
Joseph Mitchell, J A Pickles, J A Holdsworth and Thomas Duerden.
Against, Messers Dr Maggs, George Rushworth, William Bannister,
James Riley, Thomas Binns and Alfred Wood. The Chairman declared
the original motion to be lost, the amendment therefore became
the substantive motion. As a further amendment Mr John a Murgatroyd
moved and Mr James Riley seconded that Mr Thomas Duerden be
Chairman for the ensuing year. There voted for Messers James
Ackroyd, Ezekill Uttley, John A Murgatroyd, Dr A Maggs, George
Rushworth, William Bannister, James Riley, Thomas Binns, Thomas
Duerden and Alfred Wood. Against Messers C P Ross, Harry Binns,
Joseph Mitchell, J A Pickles and J A Holdsworth. The Chairman
declared this further amendment to be carried and became the
substantive motion. As a further amendment Mr C P Ross moved
and Mr James Greenwood seconded that Mr Harry Binns be appointed
Chairman for the ensuing year. There voted for Messers Ineson
Taylor, James Greenwood, Charles P Ross, J A Pickles and J
A Holdsworth. Against Messers James Ackroyd, Ezekill Uttley,
O H A Maggs, William Bannister, James Riley, Thomas Binns
and Alfred Wood. The Chairman declared the amendment to be
lost. On the motion for the appointment of Mr Thomas Duerden
being put to the meeting the Chairman declared it to be unanimously
Mr Thomas Duerden moved Mr Thomas Binns seconded that Mr
James Ackroyd be appointed Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.
As an amendment Mr Charles P Ross moved and Mr Ineson Taylor
seconded that Mr J A Holdsworth be appointed Vice-Chairman.
On the motion being put to the meeting the Chairman declared
Mr James Ackroyd to be appointed Vice-Chairman for the ensuing
June 9, 1914
That a petition be forwarded to the West Riding Highways Committee
incorporating suitable particulars and asking for the section
of highway known as Lees Hill extending between the junction
of Haworth and Lees and Hebden main road for a distance of
308 yards to the crossing at Messers Merrall's offices, Lees
Mill to be declared a main road.
That a public seat be erected on the West side of the cemetery
at an estimated cost of 30/-.
The Highways Committee reported that they had taken into
consideration the documents received from the Road Board with
regard to the classification of roads and special reference
to the taking of traffic census return. Mr Redmond reported
that he had received a telephone message from the County Surveyor
stating that his department would take the traffic census
returns on Main roads.
The Electricity Committee recommended that the Council make
application on or before the 21st day of December next to
the Board of Trade for a provisional order under the Electric
Lighting Acts 1882 to 1909 to enable the Council to supply
electrical energy for all public and private purposes throughout
July 7, 1914
that Messers James Ackroyd, Thomas Duerden, Charles P Ross
and James Riley be appointed a committee to recommend a suitable
place for erection of a urinal in Belle Isle Road.
That the letter dated 2nd July 1914 received from the contractors
for the construction of the Lower Laithe reservoir be referred
to the Council Solicitor with instructions to find out clearly
what purpose the erection of the bridge and the laying of
pipes named in the said letter are required and further that
the letter be referred to the Highways Committee with executive
powers to act as they may decide and that the Councils
Solicitor be requested to look into the application, attend
the committee, and advise the committee thereon.
August 4, 1914
Dr Maggs was called way from the meeting soon after its commencement,
by telegram, requiring his attendance forthwith to assist
in examination of Territorials called together by proclamation
of his Majesty the King.
That permission be granted to Messers Morrison and Mason
Ltd contractors, to make a subway under the highway leading
from Haworth to Enfield Side, subject to an agreement being
drawn up by W Dewhirst, solicitors, safeguarding the Council
from liability in case of accident. That Messers Morrison
and Mason Ltd, contractors, be also allowed to make a small
subway under road at a point150 yards off Hill Top Farm on
Enfield Side Road for the purpose of a rope race.
That the draft agreement between the Council and Messers
Morrison and Mason Ltd and prepared by the Council Solicitor
with reference to making of a subway and other works at Haworth
Moor Road, be approved.
That 1750 handbills with respect to "how to get rid
of flies" be purchased at an estimated cost of 30/-,
and that the Inspector of Nuisances be requested to see that
they are distributed from house to house in the Council's
That the plan of proposed public urinal in Belle Isle be
approved, subject to the site being 30 feet away from the
present boundary wall of the Council yard, the urinal to be
a four stand one, estimated cost be ?34-0-0.
That the Council accept the offer of WJH Haggas to allow
the Council to tip in a Clough leading from Lees to the sewage
farm, and that the Council Solicitor be instructed to draft
agreement and submit the same to this committee.
That five fire alarm bells be fixed in fireman's houses and
in connection with the central station at an estimated cost
September 1, 1914
that Mr George Stoney, be offered, without prejudice, ?3-0-0
in settlement of his claim against the Council for stoppage
alleged to have been made by the Council in drain to his property
at Bridgehouse Lane top.
That the lighting season commence August 27, 1914 and that
the Lamplighters be paid from 24 August 1914, and that they
clean the lamps ready for lighting.
Mr JH Holdsworth moved and Mr James Riley seconded that the
question of reported encroachment upon highway in Main Street,
by the erection of a hoarding be referred to the Highways
Subcommittee for consideration.
That the Council Surveyor wait upon the owners of the footpath
from Hebden road to Lower Brow farm and request them to put
the same into a proper state of repair.
The Electricity Committee reported that they had appointed
Mr Walter Emmott, Consulting Engineer of Halifax, to give
all necessary assistance as electrical engineer up to a point
of the Council obtaining from the Board of Trade a provisional
order authorising the Council to supply electricity for public
and private purposes within their Urban District area.
September 4, 1914
With reference to the minute No 203 passed at the last meeting
of the Council making arrangements for local facilities for
subscriptions being received to the Prince of Wales National
Relief Fund, it was resolved that the whole of the members
of the Council be appointed a committee to make and carry
out the arrangements.
October 6, 1914
that the Council allow the use of the Council room or other
available room, free of charge, as required by the Local Secretaries
of Soldiers and Sailors Families Association and Territorials
and Reservists at the war.
November 3, 1914
That the morning lighting of public lamps in the Council's
District be commenced on 18 November 1914.
That the plan of proposed engineering works at Cross Roads
for the Standard Electrical Company be approved.
The War Relief Distress Committee appointed by the Council
reported that up to date ?366-18-3 had been received. It was
resolved that ?350 of this amount be remitted to the general
fund in London.
The Clerk read a communication from the Urban District Council
of Royton with reference to the European War and Provision
for Soldiers and Sailors Dependents, when it was resolved
that whilst fully appreciating the great pressure of work
which the Government has been called upon to undertake arising
out of the sudden outbreak of war, this Council respectfully
desires to bring to their notice the overwhelming consensus
of opinion in this District in favour of the Government making
adequate provision out of the State Funds for
(a) all dependents of men who have joined the Colours.
(a) all men permanently injured and
(a) all dependents of those killed or lost through the war.
That a copy of this resolution a forwarded to the Prime Minister
the Chancellor of the Exchequer, the First Lord of the Admiralty,
the Secretary of State for War and the local members of Parliament.
On the recommendation of the electricity committee and on
the motion of Mr James Ackroyd seconded by Mr Thomas Duerden
it was unanimously resolved that the compulsory area in which
electric lines shall be laid down under the proposed order,
be from Ebor Lane Top, Mill Hey and Station Road, terminating
at the end of Station Road adjoining Bridgehouse railway bridge.
December 1, 1914
It was resolved that the consent of the Council be given to
the Post Office Telegraphs, to the execution of works of the
erection and maintenance of one pole in curb North side of
West Lane, one pole near wall South side of West Lane, one
pole near the wall North East side of Main Street, and one
pole near wall South West side of Main Street, as per plan
agreed between the Superintending Engineer of Post Office
Telegraphs and the Council surveyor.
The Electricity Committee reported that they had instructed
Parliamentary Agents to incorporate in the Council's electricity
provisional order, a list of private streets in the Council's
District, which the Council may want to break into for the
purpose of giving a supply of electricity.
The Clerk reported further receipts on account of H. R. H.
Prince of Wales War Relief Fund since the last meeting of
the Council amounting to ?22-12-0.
January 12, 1915
Mr James Ackroyd moved and Mr James Riley seconded that application
be made to the Board of Trade for a provisional order to empower
the Urban District Council of Haworth to supply electricity
for lighting and other purposes within the area of the Urban
District of Haworth, and that the Clerk to the Council and
the solicitor to the Council take the necessary steps in connection
Dr Maggs moved and Mr John A Murgatroyd seconded that the
Council do oppose the application of the Keighley Corporation
to the board of trade for a provisional order for the supply
of electricity in the Urban District Of Haworth and for power
to break up streets and roads in Haworth for the purpose of
supply of Oxenhope and that the solicitor be instructed to
take all necessary steps.
January 29, 1915
Mr Joseph Mitchell moved and Dr Maggs seconded that the Council
to take the necessary steps for opposing in the next session
of Parliament a Bill provided by the Yorkshire Electric Power
Company to confer further powers on the said company by the
said Bill, the short like of which is thereon cited as the
Yorkshire Electric Power Act 1915.
February 2, 1915
That the position of any workman joining His Majesty's Forces
be kept open for him, and that any workman who is engaged
in place of a workman so joining His Majesty Forces, that
he be informed that he is only temporarily engaged.
Mr George Rushworth moved and Mr John A Murgatroyd seconded
that the best thanks of the Council be given to the Rev T
W Storey for his kindness in giving lecture on behalf of the
Prince of Wales Fund, also to the Lanternist Trustees of the
Mill Hey School and to the soloist for the part they took
in the lectures. The Chairman declared the motion to be unanimously
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from Mr Barnett, engineer
of the Sladen Valley Water Works enclosing ordnance maps showing
in distinctive colouring the portions of lands which the Corporation
have recently bought from the several landowners in the neighbourhood,
also enclosing a schedule of particulars of occupiers of the
lands and acreage etc. It was resolved that the thanks of
the Council be given to Mr Barnett for the information.
March 2, 1915
That the lighting of public lamps be discontinued as from
24th of February 1915.
That the Council make a claim for extraordinary traffic over
Cemetery Road caused by the construction of the Sladen Valley
Reservoir, and that the Clerk communicate with the Keighley
Corporation or the contractors as the case may be.
That all Lamp Columns, Trolley Standards and Telephone Poles
be painted a light colour, about 6 6" from the
ground when next painted; and that the Post Office Authorities
and the Keighley Corporation
March 23, 1915
That Dr Maggs and Mr James Ackroyd be appointed to negotiate
with the agent or solicitor of Sir Francis Sharp Powell, with
a view to securing site for tip at Cragg road and report to
May 4, 1915
The Clerk laid before the meeting communication from the West
Riding County Council Education Department with reference
to Army Separation Allowances for children over 16 years of
May 18th 1915
On the recommendation of the Electricity Committee and on
the motion of Mr James Ackroyd seconded by Dr Maggs it was
resolved that the Council do not proceed with the opposition
to the Keighley Electricity Extension Order, unless in the
opinion of the committee some further grounds for opposition
June 15, 1915
Mr James Ackroyd moved and Mr James Riley seconded that the
Council's Electricity Committee be instructed to proceed with
the Council's opposition in Parliament to the Keighley Electric
Lighting (Extension) Order.
September 7, 1915
The Clerk stated that he had received from the Superintendent
of Police for the Keighley Division and report that certain
boys had wilfully damaged a fence wall in Belle Isle the property
of the Council, he further reported that the Highways Committee
had requested the boys to attend before the Council. Eight
boys appeared before the Council and the Chairman severely
reprimanded them, the Council preferred in this case to have
the boys before them, rather than bring them before the Magistrates
That the application of Mr Anderson Midgley of 57 Cross Roads
for Petroleum Licence to keep petroleum for own use and sale
by retail, in premises next to Mr Walker Midgleys stables
at Cross Roads be granted for 12 months, in a quantity not
exceeding 50 gallons.
That the application of Messers Sam Bolton and Frank Brown
for petroleum licence, to keep petroleum in a stone closet,
Haworth road, be not granted on the ground that the premises
in the opinion of the Council are not suitable for the purpose
The Clerk reported that the work required to be done under
the National Registration Act 1915, so far as the Council's
District was concerned had been completed, and returns dealing
with the classification of occupations of males and females,
living in the Council's District between the ages of 15 and
65 had been furnished to the Registrar General and that certificate
of registration had been issued to all persons whose returns
had been received, numbering in the total male 1890, females
November 2, 1915
The Clerk reported having received a communication dated the
30th October 1915, from the West Riding County Council with
reference to scheme for the appointment of the War Agricultural
Committee. The communication stated that where there is a
considerable amount of agricultural land there should be a
District Subcommittee appointed consisting of some members
of the District Council and also persons representative of
the agricultural interests and that at least one woman should
be included on the District Committee.
The Clerk laid before the Council a letter from the Local
Government board dated 26 October 1915, with reference to
recruiting and local committees, stating that it would be
the duty of the committee to be appointed by the Council to
do all in their power to assist local Recruiting Authorities
to secure men for the Army, and to consider questions which
may arise of individual cases with regard to the enlistment
December 7, 1915
That the accounts for gas supplied two houses occupied by
Belgium refugees in the Council's Urban District be remitted.
On the recommendation of the Finance and General Purposes
Committee and on the motion of Mr Thomas Duerden seconded
by Mr James Ackroyd it was unanimously resolved that the thanks
of the Council be given to Miss Ratcliffe and all who have
assisted her in organising and carrying out collection in
the Haworth District, other than Lees and Cross Roads, on
behalf of "Russia's Day" on November 20 which realised
February 1, 1916
That the Council cannot see their way to assent to the fixing
of electric standards by the Keighley Corporation on the West
side of highway as shown on plans submitted by them to the
Council, and suggest that the Corporation submit a new plan
showing the standards on the East side of the highway.
That a reply be given to the War Agricultural Sub committee
with reference to relaxation of regulations for keeping pigs,
stating that as the Council's bylaws are already 40 feet below
the suggestions of the Local Government Board, the Council
cannot see their way in interests of public health, to still
further reduce the distance.
Mr Ineson Taylor, as representative of the Council on the
Keighley and Bingley Joint Hospital Board, reported on the
suggestions which have been made to the board on the question
of the hospital being used as a Base Hospital for wounded
soldiers. On the motion of Mr Ineson Taylor seconded by Dr
Maggs it was resolved that for the guidance of the Council
of representatives on the Keighley and Bingley joint Hospital
Board that the Council give sympathetic expression of opinion
is as to the suggestions that have been made that the hospital
be used as a Base Hospital for receiving and healing wounded
That the application of Mr William Burgoyne (on behalf of
the Navvy Mission Society) for supply of water to Navvy Mission
rooms, West Lane, be granted at a yearly charge of 10/-.
That in case the Council receive new instructions either
from the Police or Military Authorities with respect to the
lighting that the matter be referred to the Gasworks Subcommittee
to issue such notices to gas consumers or otherwise act as
they may decide best.
The Clerk reported that he had received from the Local Government
Board urging communications under the Military Service Act
1916 requiring the Council, as the Local Registration Authority
under the National Registration act 1915, within seven days
from the date of the order made by the Kings Most Excellent
Majesty in Council, to appoint a tribunal for the Council's
District consisting of not less than five nor more than 25
members, 6 act for the local registration district of Haworth.
March 21, 1916
Mr Thornton handed to the Council, to be forwarded to the
treasurer of the Belgium Famine Fund, the sum of ?45 amount
collected from house to house in the Council's District for
the months of January and February. It was resolved that the
best thanks of the Council be given to the committee and officers
for the splendid and successful efforts which have been put
forth in the Council's District, resulting up to the present
in the sum of ?100 being contributed.
April 6, 1916
That the question of appeals for men of military age employed
at the Gasworks, be left to the Chairman of the Gasworks committee,
the vice-Chairman of the Gasworks Committee and the Gasworks
Manager, to make appeals and attend before the tribunal for
any men whom they consider essential, until the formation
of the new committee.
That an allowance of 5/- per week be allowed to the Gasworks
Manager for duties entailed in the carrying into effect the
Police and Military requirements in respect to telephone attendance
and taking air raid action, such allowance to continue whilst
the order is in force.
June 7, 1916
that owing to serious damage done to the sewage farm by trespassers,
it was resolved that the police be asked to give special attention
to the sewage farm belonging to the Council at Damems and
to report any person found trespassing thereon, and that persons
so trespassing be prosecuted by the Council.
It was resolved that the sewerage and drainage committee
be instructed to continue the main sewer up the river bed
and within 100 feet of Bridgehouse Mills at an estimated cost
to the Council of ?15.
Mr W Taylor a representative from the National War Savings
Committee attended before the Council in order to urge the
importance of the War Savings Committee being appointed for
the Urban District of Haworth. He explained in considerable
detail the methods of working the scheme. He was thanked for
his attendance and a resolution passed that a committee be
appointed of members of the Council for the purpose of carrying
into effect the wishes of the National War Savings Committee
so far as the Council's District is concerned, and it was
resolved that the following be appointed on the committee
viz:- Dr Maggs and Messers Rushworth, Lilley, Murgatroyd,
Riley, Duerden and Harry Binns.
July 4, 1916
That the plan of proposed wooden Motor Garage at Changegate
for Mr William Ratcliffe be disapproved on the ground that
it is shown to be erected on the street line.
That the Council agree to support the committee on War Damage
in their Memorial to be presented to the Prime Minister that
the nation should be responsible for damage caused in war
by the nations enemies.
That Miss Ratcliffe be asked to undertake for the Haworth
portion of the district and Mr Joshua Dickinson for the Lees
and Cross Roads portion a "Frances Day" on July
14 and 15th 1916.
August 1, 1916
the Clerk reported having received a communication from the
town Clerk of Keighley that an inspection of the Trackless
Trolley route from Lees to Oxenhope had been made by an inspector
appointed at the board of trade on Thursday the 27th and that
it was proposed to run on Saturday afternoon and Sunday afternoon
the 29th and 30th July further dates have not yet been decided
That the Sewage Disposal Subcommittee be appointed to meet
the Midland Railway Company's representative if they desire
an appointment with reference to laying sewer under the railway
bridge at Bridgehouse and that they be empowered to carry
out the necessary work.
That the Council support the Bingly Urban District Council
and the Bingly Overseers in their application to the Home
Office to be heard on the question of damage to property in
the Borough of Keighley in consequence of an Anti German Riot
in the month of August 1914, with a view to the damages being
done by the Keighley Corporation and not by the authorities
in the Keighley Petty Sessional Division as suggested by the
That the 50 copies of the letter signed by the Home Secretary,
the Acting President of the Board of Trade and the President
of the Local Government Board with reference to the desirability
of the public continuing to support shops and businesses of
men who have themselves or whose assistants have joined the
Kings Forces and by avoiding during the war the transfer of
their support to other establishments. That 30 of the copies
be posted on posting boards in the district, and that copies
for display in the windows of shops be supplied to any person
applying the same at the Council's offices.
The Clerk reported that the receipt of the collection for
"Frances Day" on July 15 was ?15 for the District
of Haworth, and ?7-16-7 the Lees and Cross Roads District,
a total of ?22-16-7, which amount had been forwarded to the
Lord Mayor of London. The French Red Cross Society extend
their very hearty thanks for the Council's kind cooperation
in endeavours to raise the where-with all to alleviate the
suffering of the wounded sons of France.
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication which he
had received from the Local Government Board dated 13 July
with reference to the prevention and treatment of venereal
A letter was read from the Committee for Comforts for Wounded
Soldiers at the Keighley Military Hospital asking the Council
to undertake a house to house collection during the week ending
August 26. The Chairmen responded that Mrs Maggs had already
arranged for and carried out a house to house collection which
had resulted in the sum of ?32-15-8 being collected. It was
resolved that the very best thanks of the Council be given
to Mrs Maggs for the great service she has rendered.
It was resolved that a Flag Day be arranged on Saturday,
August 26, and that Miss Ratcliffe be asked to undertake the
same for the Haworth District and Mr G Dickinson for the Lees
and Cross Roads District.
September 5, 1916
It was resolved that the seal of the Council be affixed to
agreement between the Midland Railway Company and the Council
with reference to 6 " sewer under railway bridge at Bridgehouse.
October 3, 1916
That the Surveyor be instructed to paint the lamp columns
in the Council's District with white paint for a distance
of 3 feet on each column, the painting to start about 5 feet
from the bottom of the column, also that he whitewash the
telephone poles the same distance as the lamp columns.
It was reported that the Keighley Corporation had put a white
band on all the electric standards in the Council's District
as requested by resolution of the last meeting. It was resolved
that the Clerk ask the Keighley Corporation to increase the
depth of it for about 18 inches.
That the application of Mr Anderson Midgley of 57 Cross Roads
for renewal of petroleum licence to keep petroleum for his
own use and sale by retail in premises at Cross Roads be granted
for 12 months from September 7, 1916 in a quantity not exceeding
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Oxenhope
Urban District Council dated 11th of September 1916, stating
that the Oxenhope District Council do not desire the option
of calling the Haworth brigade in case of fire.
The Chairman laid before the Council a communication which
he had received from the Army Christmas Pudding Fund Committee
asking the assistance of the Council so far as their district
is concerned for the purpose of raising funds for providing
the Christmas Puddings of the Army. It was resolved that the
Council give their support as requested, and appointed as
a committee for carrying out the arrangements, the members
of the War Charities Committee.
Mr Murgatroyd and Mr Squire Thornton attended the meeting
and reported the results of the house to house collection
on behalf of the Belgium Refugee Fund amounting to ?196-8-0,
with a possible further income of ?15. They stated that the
time had come to close the fund owing to the many other calls
upon the district. It was resolved that the best thanks of
the Council be given to the committee and collectors for the
efficient work done and the handsome amount raised.
November 7, 1916
The Highways and Cemetery Committee recommended that this
committee recommended the Team Labour Committee to purchase
a horse for the highways department subject to veterinary
examination, and that the present horse be sold.
It was resolved on the motion of Mr James Ackroyd seconded
by Mr James Riley that the War Bonus to work men employed
in the highways department be increased in the case of men
paid by the hour, from a half penny per hour to 1 penny per
That this committee recommend the Team Labour Committee to
purchase a horse for the scavenging department, subject to
a veterinary examination, and that the present horse he sold.
On the motion of Dr Maggs seconded by Mr John A Murgatroyd,
it was resolved that the Team Labour Committee be empowered
to exchange cart used in the scavenging department, or purchase
a more suitable one if they so desire.
That the Gas Manager be instructed to turn on gas at 5-30
o'clock in the morning, after an air raid, provided that he
has received a message to resume normal conditions.
December 5, 1916
Mr John A Murgatroyd Chairman of the Highways Committee, reported
the results of an interview which he and the Clerk had had
with the Superintendent of Police with respect to proposed
restricted system of public lighting. He could not permit
a general system of lighting of the public highways, but he
was quite agreeable to one suitably shaded lamp at Cross Roads
and one at Lees, near to the Trackless Trolley terminus, and
for a few lamps to be lighted commencing at Ebor Lane top
and on towards Station bridge. Under the circumstances Mr
Murgatroyd moved and Mr James Ackroyd seconded that no further
action be taken.
The Clerk reported receipt of a communication from the Board
of Trade enclosing a copy of new regulations made on the 25th
stating that Trolley Vehicles driven or propelled along the
routes shall not exceed the rate of 12 miles an hour in Hebden
road, except on the curves through Royd House Wood where the
speed shall not exceed the rate of 8 mph.
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication which he
had received from the West Riding County Council with reference
to Scotch and Irish seed potatoes. It was resolved that particulars
be distributed amongst members of the Council and a few posters
which had been received exhibited in shop windows advertising
the details of the particulars supplied viz: that seed potatoes
may be obtained by Small Cultivators, Allotment Holders and
Gardeners at 14/6 per plot in bags at nearest railway station.
Mr John A Murgatroyd, in accordance with a request made at
the last meeting of the Council, reported on the question
raised by the Decimal Association drawing the attention of
the Council to the efforts they are making to decimalise to
coinage and weights and measures of the country. On the motion
of Mr John A Murgatroyd seconded by Mr Duerden, it was resolved
that in the opinion of this Council it is of supreme national
importance that prompt steps be taken to secure the maximum
of trade with foreign countries when the war is over. To this
end the Council considers it is not only desirable but absolutely
essential to adopt the decimal system of coinage, weights
and measures throughout the British Isles and thus enable
our manufacturers and merchants to compete more easily and
successfully with rival nations having that system, and that
copies of the resolution be forwarded to the Decimal Association,
the Board of Trade, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, the Prime
Minister, and the Members of Parliament for the Council's
The Clerk reported that the results of the canvass for subscriptions
in the Council's District for the Army Christmas Pudding Fund,
had resulted in the sum of ?5-8-9 been collected.
A communication was laid before the Council from the Central
committee for National Patriotic Organisations with special
reference to the organisation of a Roumanian Flag Day. It
was resolved that a flag day in the Council's District be
January 2, 1917
That a letter of sympathy be sent to the family relations
of Garnett Walton, a member of the Council's Fire Brigade
who has been killed in battle in France.
That the County Council be asked to delegate to the Council
the powers of the County Council with reference to piece of
ground adjoining infants school at Lees with a view to the
land being put under cultivation.
That the communication received from the Board of Agriculture
dated December 12, 1916 in closing order under the Defence
of the Realm Consolidation Act 1914, with the object of increasing
the food supplies of the country by extending the existing
powers of providing land for cultivation be referred to the
War Agricultural Committee for consideration.
That the War Agricultural Committee be requested to look
into the question of the field behind part of Barcroft farm,
behind the Bar House at Cross Roads being brought into cultivation
and report to the Council thereon.
Mr George Rushworth moved and Mr Ineson Taylor seconded that
in the opinion of this Council it is desirable in the national
interest that the traffic in alcohol should be suspended during
the war and demobilisation after the war. The Chairman explained
that unless the consent of the Chairman and majority of the
members present be first obtained, the resolution in accordance
with the standing orders could not be put to the meeting.
The Chairman gave his consent, when Mr James Riley moved and
Mr Ineson Taylor seconded that the resolution be considered
at this meeting. On being put to the meeting, 4 voted for
and 6 against. The Chairman consequently declared that the
original motion could not be considered at this meeting. Mr
Rushworth thereupon gave notice in accordance with the standing
orders that he would bring his motion forward for consideration
at the next monthly meeting of the Council.
February 6, 1917
That one half of the pasture land at the Council's sewage
farm be ploughed and prepared for growing oats by the Council,
during the ensuing year.
That the piece of land behind the Gasworks premises be let
to the Gasworks Manager, on behalf of the employees at the
Gasworks, for the purpose of potato and vegetable growing,
at a nominal charge of 1/-per annum.
That notices be placed on the undermentioned plots of ground
asking for applications from persons willing to cultivate
the whole or portions of the plot viz:- the Council's land
on each side of the road at Crag Bottom near Cross Roads,
the piece of land at Lees belonging to the County Council
opposite Lees Council school. The piece of land at Moor End
and also the vacant plot of land at lower part of Cemetery.
Applicants to communicate with the Clerk, names and addresses.
In accordance with notice of motion given at the last meeting,
Mr George Rushworth moved and Mr Harry Binns seconded that
in the opinion of this Council it is desirable in the national
interest that the traffic in alcohol should be suspended during
the war and demobilisation after the war, and that copies
of the resolution be sent to the Prime Minister, and the Local
Members of Parliament. On being put to the vote Messers Ineson
Taylor, Enekiel Littley, John A Murgatroyd, Harry Binns, Charles
P Ross and George Rushworth voted for, Messers Joseph Gott,
Alfred Wood, William Bannister, Thomas Binns, James Ackroyd
and Dr Maggs voted against. Neutral. Messers Joseph Mitchell,
James Riley, Thomas Duerden, and Luke Helliwell. The Chairman
gave his casting vote against the resolution and declared
it not carried.
March 6, 1917
The Clerk reported having received from the Board of Agriculture
a communication dated 24th of February 1917 enclosing copy
of Cultivation of Lands Order 1917 (No2). It was resolved
on the motion of Dr Maggs seconded by Mr Mitchell that the
form of application for allotments under the Cultivation of
Lands Order 1917 (No2) as submitted by the Clerk be approved
March 27, 1917
That tenders for work required in connection with the erection
of 20 WC's in Lorne and Albert streets as follows, be accepted.
That the tender of Mr G H Hall for removing of excreta by
land for the whole of the Council's District for the year
ending March 31, 1918, in the sum of ?60 be accepted, no excrement
to be deposited in the Council's District, unless with the
consent in writing of the Council.
That the action of Mr Mitchell in purchasing 3 cwts of King
Edward seed potatoes at ?1 per cwt, be confirmed.
That an appeal be lodged to the West Riding of Yorkshire
Appeal Tribunal against the decision of the Local Tribunal
in withdrawing Exemption Certificate in the case of Osman
White. That the Council Solicitor be instructed to conduct
the case before the appeal Tribunal.
That the circular received from the Local Government Board
with reference to collection of waste food, waste paper etc
be referred to the War Savings Association.
April 3, 1917
on the motion of the Chairman, Mr Thomas Duerden, seconded
by Dr Maggs it was unanimously resolved that a vote of congratulations
be sent to Sir Arthur Newsholme K.C.B on the recent honour
conferred upon him by the King. The Chairman remarked that
some of the older members of the Council would remember Sir
Arthur as a boy and the young man in Haworth. He had done
great credit to his native place, and they were happy to find
that one of their own young men had risen to such heights
in various fields of activity in the country. Dr Maggs in
seconding said it was a well merited honour and reflected
credit upon the place of Sir Arthur Newsholmes birth.
He was to be congratulated on the splendid work throughout
the country and especially at Brighton.
The Clerk reported that the War Savings Committee had recommended
the Council to undertake through their scavengers the collection
and sale of refuse of a marketable value. It was resolved
that the matter be referred to the sanitary committee for
consideration and report.
Arising out of the notice signed by two Councillors drawing
attention to the fact that there are two vacancies in the
number of Councillors now holding office. It was resolved
that Mr Herbert Oliver Pickles of 3 Baden Street, Haworth,
Designer, be appointed a Councillor for the North Ward in
place of the late Mr Stephen Hey Holdsworth. That Mr James
Smith of Prince Street, Brow, Haworth, Insurance Agent, be
appointed a Councillor for the West Ward in place of the late
Mr John Heaton Pickles.
April 17, 1917
The Chairman reported that Mr Joseph Gott, a member of the
Council, had lost a son on the battlefield in France. It was
unanimously resolved that a resolution of sympathy be passed
with him in the great loss which he had sustained.
Arising out of the minutes of last meeting the Clerk reported
that he had received a letter from Sir Arthur Newsholme K.C.B
in the following terms "I appreciate very highly the
kindness of the Urban District Council of Haworth in sending
me their congratulations. It is a great pleasure to me that
they should have thought of doing this, and I am more than
proud to be thus remembered by them".
May 1, 1917
That the application of Mr Fred Shuttleworth for a supply
of water to photographic studio, West Lane be granted on the
usual terms and charges.
That the Council appoint a committee to raise funds in aid
of the Keighley and District Military Hospital Extension Scheme
for the further increase of accommodation for wounded soldiers.
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication which he
had received from Lord Rhondda and Mr Neville Chamberlain
with reference to national service and the formation of local
committee for obtaining Substitution Volunteers dated 25th
of April 1917. It was resolved that Mr Duerden, Dr Maggs and
Mr R M Bailey be appointed provisional committee to act as
they may decide.
A communication was laid before the Council from the National
Anti Vaccination League with reference to regulation permitting
Medical Officers of Health to vaccinate such cases as are
willing to be vaccinated. It was resolved that the communication
lie on the table.
That the letting of the land immediately below the cemetery
be left in the hands of the War Agricultural Committee, the
terms for letting as already fixed by the Council.
June 5, 1917
It was reported that a difficulty had arisen in connections
with obtaining supply of lead pipe etc for WC's at Cross Roads
owing to the war.
That a claim be made on the Railway Company (Midland) for
loss of coal caused through a wagon being returned before
it was properly emptied.
It was unanimously resolved, that the horse "Gipsy"
be sold to Mr Sam Holmes for ?62. That the Council hire a
horse from Mr Sam Holmes for one month at 15/0 per week, or
until such time as the Council purchase another horse.
July 3, 1917
That a letter be sent to the Midland Railway Company asking
them to make the workmen's ticket and weekly ticket available
for return on Friday forenoon, commencing with the 11-20 train
from Keighley, in view of the alteration in the time of ceasing
work on that day, and further to draw the attention of the
company to the insufficient accommodation provided for train
which leaves Keighley for Oxenhope at 5-42 p.m.
August 7, 1917
The Clerk reported that the proceeds of effort made in the
Council's District on 14 July last for France's Day had produced
?18-6-2, which had been forwarded to the Central Committee
The Chairman reported having received from the secretary
of the Local Government Board a circular enclosing a copy
of a letter from the Ministry of Food with reference to a
more systemic control of some of the food stuffs in the country
and the establishment of local machinery with the object of
cooperating with the Food Controller, the letter also enclosed
particulars for the establishing of Local Food Control Committees
and particulars of a scheme for sugar distribution, and a
form for giving names and addresses of persons appointed as
members of the local food committee.
August 12, 1917
The Clerk laid before the meeting communications which had
been received from the Local Government Board with reference
to a more systemic control of some of the food stuffs in the
Country, and the establishment of Local Food Control Committees,
they also enclosed sugar distribution scheme.
October 2, 1917
That the Superintendent of Police be asked to take an oversight
of the allotments in the Council's District, in view of potatoes
in stolen from the allotments, and that he be asked to prosecute
the first offender.
The Clerk read a letter from the Borough of Rawtenstall with
respect to the housing of the Working Classes, asking the
Council to support them in the following resolution viz:-
That this Council is of the opinion that in order to secure
adequate housing accommodation for the Working Classes, the
Government should be prepared to lend money free of interest
to Local Authorities who are prepared to proceed with housing
schemes, the repayment of the money to be spread over a period
of 200 years, and that a copy of this resolution be forwarded
to the Prime Minister, to the President of the Local Government
Board, and to Local Members of Parliament.
November 7, 1917
The Chairman reported interview which he and the Clerk to
the Council had had with the representative of the Midland
Railway Company with respect to overcrowding of the 5-42 train
from Keighley. The company stated that they had done all in
their power to meet the difficulty, and were unable at present
to make any improvement. It was resolved that the Clerk communicate
with the company expressing considerable dissatisfaction that
the company had declined to make adequate accommodation for
passengers by the said train, and draw the attention of the
company to the fact that first class compartments had been
kept locked, that the compartments were comparatively empty
when the train left Keighley, that under the circumstances
this should not be done, also pointing out that there are
two luggage vans in the middle of the train, that something
might be done to dispense with these, and substitute them
with accommodation suitable to passengers.
The Clerk reported that in reply to the Council's application
to the Local Government Board for their approval to the purchase
of 100 tons of house coal for sale to the poor during the
ensuing winter, he had received a communication from the controller
of coal mines, stating that the Council's letter had been
forwarded by the Local Government Board to him. The controller
pointed out that throughout the county organisation is being
set up by means of local distributing committees and it is
his wish that such a committee be established at Haworth.
November 14, 1917
The subcommittee appointed to consider a scheme of restricted
lighting presented their report. It was resolved that the
plan of 37 positions of lamps as arranged by this meeting
be approved, for recommendation to the Superintendent of Police
for his approval, and that Messers James Ackroyd and Thomas
Duerden be appointed to lay the scheme before him. It was
further decided to appoint 6 Lamplighters, to be in attendance
three each alternate weeks, at the Sub Fire Stations in readiness
to put out lights in case of notice of Air Raid being received.
That the Highways Subcommittee, with the addition of Mr Harry
Binns, be appointed with full power to put the foregoing scheme
into operation, including appointments of 6 men as mentioned.
December 4, 1917
That the Special Lighting Committee have full powers to carry
out modified lighting scheme as approved by the Superintendent
January 1, 1918
That the request received from the Sailors Orphan Homes
asking for permission to hold a flag day on any Saturday between
February and October be granted.
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication which he
had received from the Superintendent of Police with reference
to Air Raid Warning, Day Time, giving notice to all householders
and others. It was resolved that the same be adopted as from
today as follows.
1. The Council has been requested by the authorities to notify
residents what steps to take in the case of a Raid over the
District by Hostile Aircraft during the Day Time.
2. If a raid is anticipated public notification will be made
by sounding the buzzer at the Haworth Gasworks.
3. The warning will consist of blasts of 15 seconds duration
with 10 seconds intervals for a period of three minutes.
4. On hearing such warning, you are requested to take the
best available cover as experience shows that the risk of
serious casualties is greatly diminished thereby. Gas should
be turned off at the meter, and outside doors and windows
closed to prevent the admission of noxious gases.
5. The "All Clear" will be notified by the buzzer
sounding a blast of one minutes duration.
It was resolved that the foregoing particulars be circulated
by handbill from house-to-house in the Council's District.
The Chairman reported that arrangements had been made for
an operetta to be given by the Oakworth District Society in
the Church Schools, Haworth, for the benefit of the Yorkshire
Union of Young Men's Christian Association. It was unanimously
resolved that the Council extend its patronage to the effort.
February 5, 1918
The Clerk reported having received duplicate notice served
by the West Riding War Agricultural Executive Committee under
the Defence of the Realm Act, upon JR Bancroft, Sowdens farm,
requiring him to cultivate land No 453 on ordnance map, being
a Meadow Field (1.310 acres) dated January 14, 1918.
The Chairman reported that the net result of the effort for
Y MCA by the Oakworth Operatic Society was ?89, including
subscriptions. It was resolved that the best thanks of the
Council be given to the Rev JW Storey for use of room and
personal assistants, and the Operatic Society and Mr Herbert
Heaton for the performances given by them.
It was resolved that a communication be sent to Mr Barnett,
of the 6th Battalion, Volunteer Regiment, Haworth Detachment,
drawing attention to the fact that on the evenings on which
a series of gardening lectures are appointed to be held, there
are a number of men with Tribunal Exemptions who are compelled
to drill with the Volunteers, although they desire to attend
the lectures. It was resolved to ask the authorities to make
such arrangements with the men concerned as will allow them
to attend the lectures, these arrangements to concern men
only who are engaged in gardening and allotments.
February 14, 1918
Mr John A Murgatroyd moved and Mr James Riley seconded that
the Council to take the necessary steps for opposing in the
present session of Parliament a Bill promoted by the Yorkshire
Electric Power Company to confer further powers on the company,
and to make further provision with respect to supply of electrical
energy in the area of the company, and that the expenses of
such opposition be charged upon the General District Rate.
On the motion being put to the meeting Mr Rushworth voted
against, the rest were in favour. Mr Gott had left the meeting
when the voting took place.
April 9, 1918
Arising out of the resolution of the Council of 5 March last
approving of supplementary scheme under the Naval and Military
War Pensions act 1917, it was resolved that Mr George Herbert
Wildman of Ashfield Terrace, Haworth, and Robert Holmes of
Lorne Street, Cross Roads be added to the local committee
appointed by the Council under the aforesaid act, as two disabled
men who have been discharged from military service of his
Majesty during the present war and also of Sarah Kilminster,
Tulip Street, as the widow of a man in the said Naval and
Military Service who has died from causes arising out of his
service during the present war.
July 2, 1918
The Clerk laid before the Council a communication from the
domestic saving committee dated June 22 with reference to
the collection of bones and fats for the purpose of extraction
August 6, 1918
The Clerk lay before the meeting a letter from the Early Closing
Association asking the Council to co-operate with them in
passing a resolution in favour of compulsory 7 o'clock closing
of shops. It was resolved that the Council expresses its deep
sense of satisfaction in the improved conditions of shop life
since 1915, and its appreciation of the public's marked Corporation
in shopping earlier. The Council is convinced that the time
is ripe for a compulsory 7 o'clock closing order (with one
late night and the usual half holiday) and urges the Government
to see to this national desire from September 30 next.
The Clerk laid before the meeting a communication from the
Local Government Board stating that fruit stones, including
date stones and hard shells which are immediately required
for urgent war purposes, and suggesting that with the consent
of Education Authorities, schoolchildren might be urged to
bring fruit stones and hard nut shells to some depot from
which they could be dispatched.
September 3, 1918
That notices be posted on the fire station, Lees, warning
persons against damaging the Council's fire station, Lees.
October 1, 1918
It was resolved, under the War Charities Act 1916, to register
the following charities, viz:- Haworth Ambulance and Nursing
Divisions Charity and St James Sailors and Soldiers Funds
November 5, 1918
That Jonas Wadsworth and John J Bland be appointed Lamplighters
at 12/- per week and Frank Suggitt at ?1-1-0 per week, the
latter to be in attendance at the Gasworks during the period
the lamps are lighted and be responsible in case of Air Raid
Warning to summons the other Lamplighters, to extinguish all
lights within 30 minutes of the time of receiving the warning.
The Clerk reported that acting under the advice of the Medical
Officer of Health, orders have been made authorising the closing
of the Elementary Schools in the district up to 11 November
1918 in consequence of the prevalence of influenza among the
Resolved that a letter be sent to the executors of the late
Mr J H Holdsworth drawing their attention to the unsatisfactory
state of repair of two footpaths through fields in their occupation,
in one case from Mill Hill to South View, and the other from
Mill Hill to Mytholmes, and request that they will put the
said footpaths into a satisfactory state of repair, and that
a letter be sent to Mr Greenwood Waddington with respect to
the unsatisfactory state of repair of footpath along Goit
through land in his occupation, and request that he put the
same into a satisfactory state of repair.
That the Chairman of the Council and the Council's Sanitary
Officer be requested to interview the management of the local
Hippodrome with a view to young people under 14 years of age
being excluded from admission to the Hippodrome so long as
the Elementary Schools are closed because of the prevalence
That the following applications under the War Charities Act
1916 be registered: West Lane Wesleyan Church and Schools
Soldiers and Sailors Parcels Fund. Lees and Cross Roads Prisoners
of War Fund. West Lane Baptist Soldiers Christmas Parcels
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Early Closing
Association pointing out that the Home Secretary had refused
to make the present closing order 7 o'clock instead of 8 o'clock,
and asking the Council to pass a resolution expressing disappointment
at the Home Secretaries decision and still press for the 7
o'clock compulsory closing order. It was decided that the
communication lie on the table.
December 3, 1918
That a letter be sent to Messers J Ogden and Company Ltd drawing
their attention to the emission of black smoke from chimney,
Fallwood Brewery, asking that they at once abate the nuisance.
That the Council open a fund for the provision of a public
memorial to men who have fought and to those who have fallen
in the war.
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Haworth Nonconformist
Sewing Guild, stating that it was proposed to retain out of
the funds of the charity the sum of ?20, with the idea of
giving it towards a proposed monument or memorial to the Haworth
men have fallen in the war. It was resolved that the Clerk
intimate that the Council will be pleased to receive the amount
on behalf of the Memorial Fund which they have resolved to
The Clerk reported receipt of communication as follows from
the Keighley and District Local Advisory Committee Employment
Department with reference to arrangements which have been
made for effecting the early release from the forces of men
for whom employment is waiting, inviting the Council to forward
to the committee the names of men and women now serving with
HM forces to whom they are prepared to offer employment immediately
upon discharge from the forces.
January 7, 1919
That the Clerk draw the attention of Mr W Brown to the unprotected
state of land adjoining the Salvation Army barracks, Sun Street,
opposite Ducking Stool, and request that they will see that
the land is suitably protected.
That the application of the Springhead Mills War Charity
for registration under the War Charities Act 1916 be granted.
The Clerk laid before the Council application dated 6 January
1919 from they Standard Electrical Company for permission
to take a supply of electricity for their works within the
Council District from the Keighley Corporation supply. It
was resolved that the application be granted subject to a
satisfactory agreement being entered into safe guarding the
A communication was reported under the War Charities Act
1916 from the Charity Commission with reference to demobilisation
of War Charities. It was resolved that the Clerk communicate
to the churches registered in the Council's District such
paragraphs of the communication as are of interest to them.
January 10, 1919
The Council considered the question of the provision of some
suitable War Memorial to the men who have fallen in the war,
and also to those who have participated in the war. It was
resolved that the whole of the members of the Council form
a committee to deal with the question of initiating a scheme
of a suitable memorial, and that they have power to act in
January 24, 1919
That 14 days notice be given to Mr Hartley Holmes 59 Hebden
road to abate nuisance arising from the improper keeping of
pigs at gable end of house, 21 Hebden road.
February 4, 1919
That closing orders under section 17 of the Housing, Town
Planning act 1909, be served upon Mrs Hannah Thompson owner
of house number 5 Halifax road, Cross Roads and upon Mr JD
Sunderland's executors owner of house number 14 River Street,
Haworth, on the ground that the said houses are unfit for
That 20 copies of the Parasitic Mange in Horses Order 1911
and 1918 be obtained and distributed to horse owners in the
March 4, 1919
That 2000 copies of the leaflet on Prevention of Influenza
be printed and distributed from house to house in the Council's
On the motion of Dr Maggs seconded by Mr John A Murgatroyd
it was resolved that in the event of the war hospital at Morton
Banks being set apart for the purpose of treatment of influenza
patients, the Council consider that the facilities provided
should apply to the whole of the Keighley and Bingley hospital
That in the event of elementary schools in the Council's
District being closed because of influenza the Council request
the proprietors of the Picture House to exclude from attendance
children under 14 years of age.
Special reference was made to the inadequacy of the postal
arrangements in the Council's District. It was resolved that
the Clerk communicate with the Postmaster at Keighley drawing
his attention to the matter stating that there is general
complaint throughout the district that there is only one postman
for the whole district, that letters are delivered so late
in the day, that replies cannot be given before the mail leaves
for Keighley and suggest a dispatch of letters later in the
evening, and that at least two deliveries be given per day.
It was resolved that the Council approach the Midland Railway
Company with a view to obtaining better train service, and
that the correspondence which took place with the company
in July of 1917 be reopened. That the Clerk point out that
there is great discomfort amongst passengers, and serious
complaints of the inadequacy of the passenger train service
between Keighley and Haworth, and that he ask for an interview
with the company.
That the Clerk communicate with the executors of the late
Hopson Bland, stating that a report has been made to the Council
that the stones from the fallen portion of the wall in Sun
Street, to which their attention has seriously been drawn,
have been piled on each side of the gap, that children climb
up these piles and the adjoining, and that these are in danger
of falling at any moment possibly causing serious results
to children, the responsibility for which would fall upon
the owners of the wall in question, and request that the repair
of the breach in the wall be attended to without further delay.
May 6, 1919
The Clerk laid before the Council a letter from the Clerk
of the Peace with reference to the treatment of Briggs Fletcher
of 1 Acton Street, Haworth, for tuberculosis in a sanatorium.
The Clerk was instructed to reply, stating that when Fletcher
joined the Army in 1917, he held a medical board certificate,
class A; that the military authorities sent him for sanatorium
treatments, that the Council have made close enquiries with
the circumstances of the case and clearly satisfied that they
are not liable for any payments Fletcher may have received
for treatment in the sanatorium.
That the application of the Haworth Working Men's Cycling
Club for water for the club premises and one urinal, 3 Fallwood
Street be granted on the usual conditions.
That the question of calling a special meeting of the Council
to consider Peace Celebrations in the District, be left to
the Chairman and the Clerk.
Reference was made to the new railway timetable issued by
the Midland Railway Company for the Worth Valley line. Considerable
dissatisfaction was expressed with regard to great inconvenience
to persons using the system from Bradford and Keighley. It
was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the Railway Company
on the matter, and with the member of Parliament for the division,
asking him, if necessary, to interview the board of trade.
June 3, 1919
That the application of Messers E Parker and Company for supply
of water by meter to Brewery, Prince Street, be granted on
usual terms and rent of meter at cost spread over five years
with the continuance of yearly charge after five years.
That a public meeting be held in the Mill Hey School room
on Wednesday evening June 4, 1919 at 8 o'clock, chair to be
taken by the Chairman of the Council who will lay the Council
scheme before the meeting. It was resolved to advertise the
meeting by means of posters and handbills. That 50 posters
be ordered from Mr John Moore, printer and 200 handbills from
Mr A E Hall, both these to be distributed throughout the whole
of the Council's District.
It was resolved that a communication be made to the Chief
Goods Manager, Midland Railway Company, Derby, pointing out
that all live cattle coming by train for Haworth are not allowed
to be unloaded at Haworth station but must be taken to Oxenhope,
and unloaded and then walked back to Haworth. The Council
understand there are no pens at Haworth, but that the Butchers
argument is that the cattle would not be put into pens at
Haworth station, but taken straight away to slaughter. Nearly
all the cattle come from long distances such as Driffield,
and being in the waggons all night, they are not in a fit
condition to be walked a long way, in fact cases have occurred
where animals have dropped in the road between Oxenhope and
Haworth in a quite helpless condition. That the walking of
cattle in hot weather is detrimental to the meat and in the
opinion of the Council it would be a public benefit if the
loading was arranged for at Haworth.
The Clerk reported receipt of a communication from the Board
of Trade Electric Power Supply Department, enclosing an order
the Board had made, permitting the Corporation of Keighley
to supply energy to the premises known as the Vale Mills,
situate partly in the Urban District of Haworth, and outside
the area of supply under the Keighley order. It was resolved
that the solicitor to the Council be instructed to communicate
with the Board of Trade and inquire on what grounds the Board
have granted the order in question, saying that the Council
have not given their consent and have not yet concluded an
agreement with the Keighley Corporation on the matter.
June 30, 1919
That the application of Messers Smith and Robertshaw for licence
to store 60 gallons of petrol at Dripping works, Cross Roads,
That the Gasworks Committee be empowered to purchase 1000
tons of coal at the best price possible.
That a committee be appointed to arrange Peace Celebrations
in the Council's District, with power to add to their number.
July 5, 1919
The subcommittee appointed to arrange a meeting of the Council
and representatives from outside bodies to discuss the carrying
out of suitable arrangements for Peace Celebrations brought
forward various recommendations, and the following resolutions
That the Peace Celebrations take place in the Haworth District
on July 19, 1919.
It was decided to arrange a procession and to invite the
Public Bodies, Sunday schools etc to take part. That the Choirs
of the District be invited to be present and have massed singing
at a suitable centre.
That the Haworth Brass Band be engaged and also the Salvation
Army Band be asked to join the procession.
In order to provide greater attraction it was decided to
ask each Sunday School along with the 4 day schools in the
district to arrange suitable tableaux and that the sum of
?2 to be granted to each school for the purpose, also that
character representations be asked for.
It was resolved to hold a Gala, and it was decided that one
site should serve for the whole of the district, and that
a committee be appointed to recommend a place.
It was resolved to provide tea for all soldiers and sailors
on? from this district, also demobilised and discharged soldiers
and sailors, and old people who have attained the age of 70
on July 19, all children in the district of 14 years of age
or under on July 19 that the sum of 2/-per head for the soldiers
and sailors and old people be recommended, and 1/-per head
for the children. The provisions of teas for children to be
undertaken by the Sunday schools.
That our commemorative medal be given to each child or scholar
eligible for a tea.
It was recommended to provide a bonfire in a suitable position.
That the church bells should be rung at intervals during
That suitable short addresses be given during the intervals
between the singing.
That nucleus committees be appointed to be completed from
representatives of the public bodies to carry out the various
requirements, and that the Bridgehouse Sunday school be obtained
for said meeting on Tuesday, July 8, 1919 at 8:00 pm.
That the bonfire committee be the Gasworks Subcommittee.
That the people be asked to decorate the town with flags,
bunting, streamers etc.
It was resolved that the Chairman and members of the Council
along with the various officials attend the Peace Thanksgiving
service at Haworth Parish Church on Sunday morning July 6,
1919, and also that they attend the Limited Thanksgiving Service
at Cross Roads in the afternoon, and that they proceed in
a body from the Council Offices.
August 5, 1919
That the application of Messers Merrall and Son Ltd for petrol
licence for premises at Lees Mill, be granted.
It was resolved that the thanks of the Council be given to
the following persons for loan of fields for Gala in connection
with Peace Celebration on July 19 viz:
Mr Charles Gilson, for use of Bar Field, Mr Tom Hey for use
of field in Butt Lane.
That the Clerk reply to the letter dated July 25 received
from the Deputy Acting Returning Officer for Keighley Parliamentary
Division stating that the Council are not prepared to fall
in with the suggestion of the Local Government Board with
reference to the loan of polling compartments and ballot boxes,
free of charge, and that the Council do not see their way
to withdraw from the charge of ?2-11-0 for use of voting compartments
and ballot boxes at the last Parliamentary Election.
It was resolved that instructions be given to the Council's
officials not to admit on to the Council's premises any representative
of Trade Unions, without the sanction of the Council.
September 2, 1919
that Messers Ackroyd, Bannister, Maggs and Pickles be appointed
to confer with the Mechanics Institute Committee on the question
of provision of an institute in connection with the War Memorial
Scheme proposed by the Council, and report to the Council
the result of the conference with the Institute committee.
October 7, 1919
That the Clerk communicate with the Gasworks Manager of the
Keighley Corporation calling attention to the unsatisfactory
supply of gas to the Lees and Cross Roads District and ask
if they will look into the matter with a view to remedying
November 4, 1919
the Clerk laid before the Council a communication from the
West Riding County Council giving notice that as from 31st
of March the existing arrangements with the Council for the
maintenance and repair of Toller Lane, Haworth and Blue Bell
Main Road will be discontinued.
December 2, 1919
That the plans submitted by the Village War Memorial Committee
of War Memorial Building for Lees, Cross Roads and Bocking
That what are known as the Barfield and the field immediately
to the North West thereof be approved as a suitable site for
the Council's Housing Scheme.
January 6, 1920
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Councils
Solicitor, dated 6 January 1920, with reference to:
(a) Footpaths through land occupied by Mr Holdsworth to Green
Field and South View.
(B) Vale Mill Lane. Want of repair opposite four houses.
(c) Road across railway, land near station.
(D) Small plot of land near the Sun Inn.
It was resolved that the Council accept the advice of their
solicitor on each of the matters referred to and set out in
the said letter.
That as soon as the Clerk receives a reply from Somerset
House with respect to the value of land at Bar Field, that
a meeting of the housing committee be called forthwith and
that they be requested to bring up a full report to the Council
That the offer of the Haworth Lees & Cross Roads Gardeners
and Allotment Holders Association of ?3 for sprayer and implements
attached thereto be accepted.
That a railway waggon of lying be purchased for sale to allotment
holders, and that the allotment committee be allowed the use
of room for meetings at the Council's offices during the ensuring
March 2, 1920
That plans and estimates for sewering Prince Street from Apsley
Street to Carlton Street, also Lord Street, Duke Street, Dean
Street and Carlton Street, be prepared and submitted to the
sewage disposal committee for consideration and report.
That the application of Messers Merrall and Son Ltd for supply
of water for drinking purposes for their Ebor Mills and cottages
at Ebor Lane, be granted.
That the application of Mr James Rushworth for supply of
gas to gas engine at Ashmount Place be granted on condition
that he pays the cost of laying on the service and that he
pays the cost of the meter.
That Messers George Rushworth, William Bannister and Thomas
Duerden be appointed to consider a suitable place in the district
for the 3 field gun and carriage allocated to the Council
by his Majestys Lord Lieutenant of the W. R of Yorkshire.
4 May 1920
That the Clerk reply to letter received from Messers Hattersley
Sons and Co Ltd in which they asked if the Council are prepared
to take over some portion of roads and suggesting that the
first length for discussion should be the road from the Toll
Bar to the top of Ebor Lane.
That the following plans be approved viz:
Buildings for gas engine at Ashmount, Haworth for Mr J Rushworth.
The Clerk laid before the Council a letter from the solicitor's
of the Lees, Cross Roads and Bocking Recreation Ground Committee
dated 28th of April 1920, with reference to drain which the
committee had discovered across the ground and which interferes
with the laying out the Tennis Lawn and Bowling Green, stating
that the drain appears to serve certain cottages and other
property adjoining the public highway at Lees and carries
forward the drainage to the River.
July 13, 1920
The Clerk laid before the Council communication received from
the Housing Commissioner. On the motion of Dr Maggs seconded
by Mr James Ackroyd it was resolved that the Council having
considered the Housing Commissioners letter of 15 June, adhere
to their present scheme of erecting 20 new houses. The Chairman
declared the motion to be carried.
It was resolved to consider other sites for the Council's
July 21, 1920
The Chairman explained that this was an adjourned meeting
of the Council for the purpose of taking into consideration
matters arising in connection with the Housing Scheme. He
reported interviews which the Housing Subcommittee had had
with the District Valuer who gave his report of negotiations
with Mr R A B?, agent for Captain Emmott, owner of the Barfield
Estate. The District Valuer stated that it was useless for
him to continue negotiations for the estate, as he stated
they were likely to prove abortive. It was resolved in view
of the District Valuer's report with regard to Barfield estate
that the Council seek alternative sites.
The Chairman reported that the subcommittee had viewed the
site of Cold Street and Sun Street along with Mr Bates, housing
inspector on the 20th inst. It was resolved that the site
of Cold Street and Sun Street, and the site consisting of
the field at the end of Prince Street and Merralls field down
to the Police Station, be considered by the committee and
report thereon to the Council.
October 5, 1920
The Housing Subcommittee appointed by the Council to negotiate
purchase of land situated between Butt Lane, Bridgehouse Lane,
and Belle Isle Road; 7.624 acres from Captain Emmott as per
plan submitted by the Council, reported that the land in question
had been offered to the Council for housing scheme re at ?300
per acre. It was resolved that the Council accept Captain
Emmotts offer, subject to the consent of the Housing Commissioner.
That a communication be sent to the County Surveyor drawing
his attention to the dangerous condition of Main Street by
reason of its slippery state.
In accordance with notice of motion, Mr James Ackroyd stated
that he would call the attention of the Council in committee
to the necessity of an alteration in the highways department,
of the inefficiency of control, lack of supervision, overstaffing
in comparison with neighbouring Councils and extravagance
in administration. It was resolved that the statement made
by Mr Ackroyd be reported to the Highways Committee for consideration
and reported to the Council.
October 22, 1920
A special meeting of the above Council was held this day at
the Council chamber, Haworth.
The Clerk reported receipt of orders as follows:
Coal (Emergency) Order 1920
Coal and Gas (Emergency) Order 1920
Lighting, Heating and Power (Emergency) Order 1920
The Local Authorities (Gas and Coal) order 1920
Communication from the Controller of Coal Mines dated October
From the Coal Emergency Officer appointed for this District
Coal and Fuel Emergency Order 1920
Communication from the Under Secretary for Mines dated October
That the Executive Officer be requested to get out a poster
in the Council's gas supply district with regard to lighting,
pressure and quantity of gas allowed to be used with other
directions and information under the new emergency control.
That the public lighting of lamps be discontinued with the
exception of the lighting of such lamps as may be ordered
by the Superintendent of Police for the district during the
period of emergency.
November 5, 1920
That no wages be paid to the Lamplighters during the time
the lighting is discontinued, owing to causes arising through
the coal strike.
That the plan of proposed garage, Old Hall, Haworth, submitted
by Mr Charles Gillson, be approved.
That Mrs Eva Scott, of Railway Street, Nelson, be granted
right of light overlooking the Council's property in John
Street, subject to her paying a yearly acknowledgement of
6d per year.
That a lay out scheme for 20 houses under the Council's housing
scheme be prepared.
That the Council become members of the Keighley and District
Horse and Motor Vehicle Owners Association.
December 7, 1920
It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the Gasworks
engineer of the Keighley Corporation stating that very serious
complaint has been made by several members of the Council,
who spoke on behalf of a considerable number of gas consumers
in the Lees and Cross Roads District, for lack of supply of
gas and the poor illuminating power supply in that district
between 5 and 10 o'clock at night. In some cases the light
given being insufficient to enable tradesman to wait upon
customers and that the Council would be glad if they would
look into the matter with a view to the ground of complaint
That the Clerk reply to letter received from the Town Clerk
of Keighley dated 8th November 1920 with regard to their Fire
Brigade not attending in the case of fire in the Council's
District, excepting firms in the area of the Council who contribute
towards the Keighley Brigade in respect of their property,
and further stating that the Brigade does not attend fires
occurring in the area of the Council except in the cases mentioned,
that a certain amount of discretionary power has in the past
been left to the Chief Officer of the Brigade to attend in
the case of an extensive fire upon certain guarantees for
payment be given, that definite instructions have been given
to the Chief Officer of the Corporation's Fire Brigade in
future only to respond to calls for assistance from non-contributing
authorities in the neighbourhood, in the event of an extensive
fire occurring where such authority maintain a fully equipped
Brigade and are unable to cope with the conflagration. It
was resolved that the Clerk reply stating that the Council
quite concur in the last clause but one of the Corporation's
letters referring to instructions which have been given to
their Chief Officer.
That a communication be forwarded to the Midland Railway
Company drawing their attention to the very great inconvenience
caused by their being only one exit from platform by passengers
arriving at the Haworth station by train due from Keighley
at 5. 5 pm. That the cause of complaint would be considerably
remedied if both exits from the platform were used, and ask
in the interests of the public that such an arrangement be
December 23, 1920
The Clerk laid before the meeting a communication received
from the Ministry of Health dated 10 December 1920, approving
the purchase of 3. 24 acres of land at Bridgehouse Lane for
a site for the erection of working class houses. It was resolved
that the Housing Subcommittee be empowered to continue negotiation
with Captain Emmott for the acquisition of the farm and cottages
in the occupation of Mr Magson at Mill Hill before proceeding
with the acquisition of the 3.24 acres of land above mentioned.