Haworth

Home Contributors Contact Links Wallpaper Search
 News
 Local Community
 Annual Events
 Out and About
 Local History
 Nature
 The Brontes
 Steam Railway
 360° Panoramas
 Tourist Information

Haworth History
Past & Present Pictures
Haworth Maps 1852
Haworth Schools History
Stanbury School History

History Pictures
Haworth
Oxenhope
Cross Rds
Stanbury


Haworth History - Haworth Urban District Council - 1921 - 1930


Haworth Local Board of Health

Haworth Urban District Council 1921 - 1930

 

1921

January 4, 1921
That the request of the County Council for the Haworth Council to do the snow ploughing (where necessary) on the Toller Lane, Haworth and Blue Bell Main Road be agreed to, the County Council agreeing to pay the cost of the work.

February 1, 1921
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Postmaster General giving notice to terminate agreement for telephone facilities with the Council on 11th May 1921, stating that a schedule of revised rates together with the new scheme would be sent in due course.

March 1, 1921
The Council's housing scheme and other scheme for land for the erection of Working Class Houses by private enterprise, Recreation Ground, Public Buildings and Baths and Washhouses, and that necessary plans be drawn showing areas for the Ministry of Health in support of the application.

A communication was read from the Haworth Ex Service Mens Small Holdings Association applying to the Council for small holdings under the Land Facilities Act 1919 and Acquisition of Land Act 1919.

March 21, 1921
That a letter be sent to Mr Greenwood Waddington owner of section of footpath along Goit side starting from Bridgehouse to Oxenhope drawing his attention to the unsatisfactory state of repair of the footpath requesting him to put the same into a proper state of repair.

The joint meeting of representatives of the three Local Authorities in the Worth Valley was held to consider matters of mutual importance relating to the Local Government of the Worth Valley and at the meeting it had been unanimously decided to recommend each of the three Councils to joint representatives to a consultative committee.

April 19, 1921
The Clerk lay before the meeting draft letter to be sent to the Housing Commissioner with special reference to the land proposed to be acquired by the Council for the erection of working class houses for private enterprise, recreation ground, public buildings, bath and wash houses. The letter was approved and the Clerk instructed to communicate to the Housing Commissioner in the terms of it.

May 3, 1921
The Clerk reported receipt of communication as follows:- letter from the Borough of Keighley giving notice that they have applied for an order to extend to 7 August 1922 the time limited by the Keighley Corporation act 1912, for the compulsory purchase of lands etc.

Letter from Housing Commissioner, Leeds, dated April 29 as follows:-

“I have during the last few days been at the Ministry of Health and have discussed there the proposals of your Council a as set out in your letter of 20th April. The Ministry instruct me to say that it is considered that in the present circumstances when economy in expenditure must be effected, the application of your Council for sanction to the proposals contained in your letter of the 20th April must be disallowed".

“I am to state that only very exceptional grounds would justify the Ministry in considering such proposals at present and the points put forward are not regarded as coming within that category".

I am Sir,

Your obedient servant
TL Man

Housing Commissioner

Letter from Messers R B Broster & Sons dated 20th April, agent for the Haworth estate of Captain Emmott, stating that subject to the Council purchasing the whole of the land lying between Bridgehouse Lane, Belle Isle and Butt Lane, confirming 7 acres, 3 roods and 28 perches at the price of ?300 per acre, they were instructed to offer to the Council the house and buildings occupied by Mr Magson at Mill Hill for the nominal sum of ?25.

It was resolved that the Council purchase wood if of suitable in the present fuel emergency, for use in the Council's District.

That a committee be appointed to consider the cutting down of trees on the Council's sewage farm in the present fuel emergency, for fuel in the district, with executive power to act as they may decide.

That the Surveyor be instructed to cut up timber lying at the sewage farm, for use as fuel in the district, and that the same be sold under the direction of the Fuel Emergency Officer.

June 7, 1921
That application be made to the Ministry of Health for permission to purchase land from Captain Emmott as per plan prepared by Messers R B Broster & Sons comprising 4 acres 1 rood 34 perches bounded by Butt Lane, Bridgehouse Lane and Belle Isle for the erection of working class houses by private enterprise, for recreation ground, public buildings and baths and wash houses and for power to borrow ?1400 to enable the purchase to be completed.

The Clerk laid before the Council the following communication from the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries with respect to allotments provided under the Cultivation of Lands Orders made under the Defence of the Realm Regulations. It was resolved that this be referred to the Council's Agricultural Committee for consideration.

July 5, 1921
That application be made to the Superintendent of Police for arrangements to be made for direction of traffic between the hours of 12:30 and 3 on Saturday and Sunday afternoons at Cross Roads Hill.

The subcommittee appointed to consider the request of Messers Hattersley and Sons and Co Ltd that the Council consider the taking over as the highway repairable by the inhabitants at large, the road from Toll Bar to the top of Ebor Lane, laid before the Council their report on the matter. On the motion of Mr Joseph Mitchell seconded by Mr James Riley it was resolved that the Council do not accede to the request of the company to take over the portion of road in question, and that the Chairman be requested to meet Mr N R Newsholme and inform him of the reasons which have led the Council to come to their decision.

That the plan of proposed Cinema Hall at Victoria road Haworth, for the Brontë Cinema Co Ltd be approved.

That 28 days notice under section 17 of the Housing, Town Planning Act 1909 be served on the occupiers of houses numbers 10, 14, 15, 16 and 17 Brow Top cottages to cease to inhabit the said houses, on the ground that they have been closed as unfit for human habitation.

On the motion of Mr Thomas Duerden seconded by Mr James Ackroyd it was resolved that a letter of thanks be sent to those industrial firms who have supplied coal to the Council for distribution for domestic purposes during the period of the coal strike.

The Housing Subcommittee reported that they had received from the Council’s Solicitors provisional agreement for purchase from George V Green Emmott of 7 acres 3 rods 28 perches of land bounded by Bridgehouse Lane, Butt Lane, Belle Isle Lane and Rawdon road, in the sum of ?2377-10-0. Dr Maggs moved and Mr H Pickles seconded that the provisional agreement be approved by the Council.

The Clerk laid before the Council a communication from the Ministry of Health dated 1 July 1921, with respect to the application of the Council for sanction to borrow ?1400 for the purchase of certain land for (inter ?) Recreation Ground, Public Buildings, Baths and Wash Houses. The Minister stated that in view of the vital necessity for curtailing material expenditure at the present time the Minister is not now entertaining application for sanction to loans unless the expenditure is urgently required and cannot safely be postponed, and on the information before the Minister it does not appear that the proposed expenditure on the purchase of land is so urgent as to satisfy him in entertaining the Council's application for sanction to loan. Advertising to the Council's resolution to apply for sanction to borrow ?1100 for the purchase of land for housing purposes the Minister states that in view of the future negotiations with the owner of the land it would be necessary for the Council to communicate with the Housing Commissioner before any definite steps are taken on the matter.

August 2, 1921
It was resolved to refer to the Highways Subcommittee for consideration the question of direction posts on highways in the Council District, with power to take such steps as they may decide.

That the Council communicate with the West Riding County Council regarding the dangerous state of Haworth road at Vale Mill Lane Top, arising out of of the narrowness of the road and urge the County Council to continue the widening of the road at the North side of the Haworth road to the County Council's Elementary schools.

That the wages of the employees in the Department paid by the hour be reduced one penny per hour.

It was reported to the meeting that Mr James Duerden, Chairman of the Council, had been appointed a West Riding Magistrate. It was unanimously resolved that the Council offer to Mr Duerden their highest congratulations on his appointment and the honour which has been done to him and to the Council by the elevation to the position of permanent Justice of the Peace for the West Riding.

At communication, Ministry of Health as follows,

“I am instructed by the Ministry of Health to inform your Council that in view of the circumstances which have been explained by the Member of Health in Parliament, it is not possible to prove of any further steps been taken in connection with your housing scheme.”

“It is communicated that your Council has not yet purchased the sale, which was the subject of the Ministry's letter of 10 December 1920, I am to inform you that the approval of it to purchase given in a letter referred to is hereby withdrawn."

The Clerk reported that he had drawn the attention of the Town Clerk of Keighley to the dangerous condition of a disused coal mine shaft at Hob Hill on Haworth Moor, that an opening had been made into the shaft, dangerous especially to children who might fall into the shaft.

September 6, 1921
The subcommittee appointed to consider erection of direction posts reported that they had decided to erect three additional direction posts, one at Cross Roads Hill, one at the junction of Haworth road, Lees and Hebden Bridge Main road and Vale Mill Lane, one at Side Bar near to Strawbridge cottage, also that the direction posts already fixed at Cross Roads Hill, junction of Hebden and Haworth Road, at Cemetery Road end and Hall Green Hill be repainted.

A letter was laid before the Council from Messers Hattersley Sons & Co Ltd dated the 31st inst stating that they would be glad to know if the Council are prepared to co-operate with them in endeavouring to get the County Council to take over the road from the top of Ebor Lane, via Mytholmes Bar to the junction of North Street with the existing County Council road at West Lane. It was resolved to refer the letter to the Highways Committee for consideration and report.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Secretary of the Electricity Commissioners with reference to the Haworth Electric Lighting Order.

That the Council reply to the communication received from the Education Department of the West Riding County Council with reference to Public Libraries Act 1919, and County Rural library stating that the Council desire to take advantage of the rural library when formed.

October 4, 1921
That public Lamplighters for the ensuing lighting season be appointed as follows, viz:- Arthur Thallis, Edward Thorpe, Fred Smith and Albert Sunderland at 28/0 per week.

That the amended plan of conveniences and balcony proposed by the Brontë Cinema Company, for the Brontë Cinema Hall, be approved.

On the recommendation of the Electricity Committee it was resolved that the clerk reply to the letter of the Electricity Commissioner suggesting that the day for the commencement of the Haworth Electric Lighting Order 1915, be 1 April 1924, on account of the extraordinary depression of trade, and also on the ground of the stringency of financial matters.

That the Council approve of two series of lectures being provided in their district of five each on Poultry Keeping and Horticulture, instead of two in each section as previously passed.

That the plan of proposed conversion of stable into garage, also petrol store at Royal Oak Inn, Haworth for Messers Daniel Fielding & Sons, be approved.

November 1, 1921
that Messers Thomas Duerden, J A Murgatroyd, and George Rushworth be appointed a committee to interview owner of property in connection with suggested improvements of highway extending from Cross Roads to the junction of the Lees and Hebden Bridge Main road, with a view to ascertaining terms upon which the owner of property in question would be prepared to negotiate a sale.

That the Bingly Urban District Council be asked to confer with the Haworth Council with a view to joint action being taken to get the road leading from junction with the Lees and Hebden Bridge Main road at Strawberry cottage to boundary with Bingly Urban District Council at Stump Cross, being recognised as a second class road.

That the Oxenhope Urban District Council be asked to confer with the Haworth Council with a view to joint action being taken to get the road leading from junction with Toller Lane, Haworth and Blue Bell Main road, Haworth, to the boundary with the Oxenhope Urban District Council at Marsh road, recognised as a second class road.

That Willie Moore be appointed Lamplighter in place of Fred Smith, resigned at 28/0 per week.

That the plan of proposed alteration to grocers shop at Belle Isle road, Haworth, for Messers J Ogden & company be approved.

That the application of the Haworth Industrial Cooperative society for supply of gas to gas engine on premises Main Street be granted on condition that they pay cost of laying on the service, also the cost of the meter.

November 25, 1921
The clerk laid before the Council a letter from the Guardian's of the Keighley Union with respect to work for unemployed relieved by the Guardians. The clerk intimated that the guardians are desirous of work being found for relieved persons and are prepared to put the men to any work provided by any Local Authority in the Union, without any charge and paying necessary railway fares, and expressing a wish that the Local Authorities will do their utmost to assist the Guardians wherever possible in putting forward any schemes they can to provide work for relieved persons.

It was suggested that the work for employment of persons mentioned in the foregoing resolution be, the skimming of the beds at the sewage farm, filling up rut holes, spreading manure and any other work found to be necessary at the sewage farm.

December 6, 1921
That the consent of the Council be given to the Keighley Corporation running a system of Motor Omnibuses from the Keighley boundary at Whins Wood to Hebden Road end, the Corporation to agree to discontinue such services when required by the Council, and that this consent shall not prejudice the rights of the Council as the Highways Authority of roads in their district. That it be a suggestion to the Corporation that they provide a waiting room at the Hebden Road terminus, also a timetable.

The Finance and General Purposes Committee recommended that as from 1 January 1922; Officers salaries be reduced as follows:-
Clerk ?20, Gasworks Manager ?20, Surveyor of Highways ?20, Inspector of Nuisances ?20, Collector & Assistant Overseer ?13 Assistant Collector ?6-10-0.
on the motion of Mr Harry Binns seconded by Mr Joseph Gott, it was moved that the recommendation of the committee be accepted and confirmed. Mr James Ackroyd voted against, Messers Joseph Mitchell and Luke Helliwell were neutral, Mr J A Murgatroyd was absent and the rest of the members of the Council voted in favour. The chairman declared the motion to be carried.

1922

January 3, 1922
The clerk reported receipt of a letter from the General Manager of the Keighley Corporation Tramways asking the Council to grant licences permitting the Corporation to run a service of motor buses between the Borough boundary at Whins Wood to Hebden Road End and on to Oxenhope. It was resolved that the Council grant licences for 12 months.

February 7, 1922
That the wages of the men employed in this Department, paid by the hour, be reduced twopence per hour, and that the wages of the Sewage Farm Manager, Cemetery Caretaker and Steam Roller Driver be reduced 8/0 each per week, the reduction to take effect and be operative from and including February 9, 1922.

That the plan of Malt House proposed to be erected at Fallood brewery, by Messers J Ogden & Company Ltd be approved.

That 21 days notice under section 17 of the Housing, Town Planning act 1909 be served on the occupiers of houses number 10, 14, 16, and 17 Brow Top cottages to cease to inhabit the said houses on the ground that they have been closed as unfit for human habitation.

It was decided that the Council support the Government's action in introducing the Summer Time Act in March next and that a communication be sent to the Home Secretary intimating the resolution of the Council and stating that they were gratified to learn that the Government intend to introduce the Act in March, also that the Member of Parliament for the Division be asked to support the Act.

It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the Manager of the Keighley Corporation Tramways stating that the Council have received complaints about the irregular time kept by the omnibuses plying between Ingrow and Cross Roads and that a request be made that he would look into the matter with a view to the omnibuses running to time.

It was resolved to communicate with the Midland Railway Company and the great Northern Railway Company requesting them to restore as quickly as possible of pre war cheap, fast, comfortable travelling facilities and at fares not proportionally higher than the increase in operation or ordinary fares.

The chairman reported that the arrangements made for house to house collection on behalf of the Russian Famine Fund, immediately before Christmas, had not taken place owing to the necessary literature not being received from headquarters in time for this to be done, but that arrangements had been made for the collection to be made in the district on the 17th and 18th inst.

March 7, 1922
that the following plans be approved, viz:-
Detached house, Rawdon road, Haworth for Mr Fred Holmes. Weaving shed, Belle Isle road, Haworth for Messers W J Hewitt. Extension to joiners shop at Croft Place, Cross Roads for Mr W V Gott.

That the offer of Mr G H Hall for removing excreta by barrel from the whole of the Council's Urban District for the year ending March 31, 1923 in the sum of ?108, no excrement to be deposited in the Council's District, unless with the consent in writing of the Council, be accepted.

That the application of Mr Jonas Brearley for supply of water for plasterers work required in connection with the erection of Cinema Hall, Victoria road, Haworth, be granted.

The clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Haworth Ex - service Men's Smallholders Association, requesting the Council to take compulsory steps to acquire land for allotments for the Association viz:- fields marked on the Ordnance map No 389 and 397 situate in Sun Street, Haworth. The letter was signed by six Ex Service Men. It was resolved that subject to the Ex Service Men and the Association named guaranteeing that the Council would be put to no financial loss in so doing, that steps be taken forthwith to acquire the said fields for allotment purposes by voluntary arrangement, failing which that a compulsory order be made.

March 24, 1922
That 28 days notice under section 94 of the Public Health Act 1875 on the occupier of house No 19 at Back Mill Hey, Haworth, to abate nuisance caused by overcrowding at the said house.

May 2, 1922
That the wages of the men employed in this Department paid by the hour be reduced one penny per hour, and that the wages of the Sewage Farm Manager, Cemetery Caretaker and Steam Road Roller driver be reduced 4/0 per week, the reduction to take effect and be operative from and including May 4th 1922.

That the Clerk communicate with the Post Office Engineering Department pointing out that the terms on which men are being employed in laying underground cables in the Council's District and ask that unemployed men in the Council's Urban area may be given work in connection with the carrying out of works in connection with the laying of the said cables.

That a letter be written to the Midland Railway Company agreeing to the termination of agreement dated May 29th 1908, with reference to maintenance of road at bridge number 26, Bridgehouse, as from 29th May 1921.

It was resolved that 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1878 be served on the owners of property number 2, 4, and 6 Pink Street; 1, 3 and 5 Rose Street, 14 and 16 Cold Street, 14 Green Street; 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24 and 26 Dean Street, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 Clarendon Street, 9 and 11 Hall Fold, to provide sufficient water closet and ashpit furnished with proper doors and coverings for each of the before named houses.

That it be an instruction to the heads of departments only to employ additional labour from persons residing within the Council's Urban District, and as far as possible from ex-service men, and other deserving cases.

June 13, 1922
It was resolved that a letter be sent to the agents of Mr Green Emmott drawing his attention to the unsatisfactory state of footpath, Mill Hill to Mytholmes and asking him to put the same into a proper state of repair.

With respect to police reports of trespass by boys on the Council's sewage farm, Damems, a letter was read from the Council’s Solicitor, stating that he thinks it advisable not to take proceedings in the these cases but to wait until the Council have report of offence of a more serious nature before taking legal proceedings. It was resolved (if satisfactory to the Police Superintendent) that letters be forwarded to the parents of the boys, drawing their attention to the trespass committed by the boys.

That the following applications for licences to store petrol be granted, viz:-

Haworth Industrial Cooperative Society premises Ivy Bank Lane.

Greenwood Waddington Bridgehouse Lane

That the following plans be approved viz:-

Refreshment room, Middle Intake Farm for Mr John Metcalfe subject to agreement as to wooden erections being entered into and the payment of 1/0 per year acknowledgement.

That the plan of proposed wooden bungalow at Lees Moor Road Cross Roads for Mr Frank Mitchell be approved, subject to the sanitary arrangements being satisfactory to the Council's sanitary inspector, that the usual agreement is entered into and the payment of 1/0 per year acknowledgement and subject to the removal of the building within 25 days from the date of service of notice to remove the building, the agreement to state that sleeping is allowed on the premises.

The subcommittee approved re purchase and sale of horse reported that they had decided (subject to satisfactory report of Dr Holland) to purchase horse in the sum of ?52 from Mr Sam Holmes, Oxenhope, and that they had decided to sell to Mr Holmes, Black Mare for the sum of ?12.

July 4, 1922
The Clerk reported that the Superintendent of Police had promised to arrange for a Constable to be placed at the meeting of the roads from Bingley, Keighley, Halifax and Haworth at such times as he may decide. The Clerk was instructed to communicate this information to the Automobile Association and Motor Union.

That a reduction of 3/0 per week in the wages of the Carters as from June 15, 1922, inclusive, be confirmed.

That the Surveyor be instructed in future, if possible, not to engage Team Labour at a price exceeding ?1 per day per horse and man, and the committee be empowered to arrange other means of haulage as they may decide.

It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the secretary of the Keighley Horse Owners Association and ask what the present charge is for horse and man, per day in view of the reduction of 3/0 in wages of Carters as agreed on the 13th.

Mr Joseph Mitchell gave notice of motion that at the next ordinary meeting of the Council he would move that the Council withdraw their membership of the Keighley and District Horse Owners Association.

That the application of Mr John Green for permission to obtain loose stones from Lees quarry be referred to Messers Murgatroyd, Gott and Mitchell to act as they may decide.

It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the Postmaster at Keighley stating that it would be a great convenience to the Haworth people to have reinstated postal dispatch on Sundays the same as before the war, and that the Council joins with the other parties in the Worth Valley to bring about this desirable arrangement.

August 8, 1922
that the following plans be approved, viz:-

Proposed extension to Growing Floor to proposed Malting House for Messers J Ogden and Co Fallwood.

In accordance with notice of motion given at the last meeting of the Council, Mr Joseph Mitchell moved that the Council withdraw their membership of the Keighley and District Horse Owners Association. The motion was seconded by Mr James Ackroyd and on being put to the meeting the Chairman declared it to be carried.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Postmaster of Keighley in reply to the Council's request for a Sunday collection and dispatch of letters from the Council's District. On the motion of Mr Thomas Duerden seconded by Mr Joseph Mitchell, it was resolved that the Clerk communicate with Sir Robert Clough, MP stating that the Council feel that the whole of the Worth Valley is entitled to a Sunday collection and dispatch of letters as is given in similar areas; that the Council consider this arrangement would be a great boon to the inhabitants and ask Sir Robert to use his influence with the Postmaster General in bringing about such a collection and dispatch of letters in the Council's District and Worth Valley generally.

September 5, 1922
That the portion of road from cross channel to cross channel at the top of Butt Lane, a distance of about 30 yards be paved with small pavers and pitched, 4ft or thereabouts wide (this to include edging 10" by 6" end way up, left in the rough) level with the road.

The Board reported correspondence with Sir Robert Clough, MP with regard to the question of the Sunday collection and dispatch of letters from Haworth and the Worth Valley generally. It was resolved that a communication be sent direct to the Postmaster General, stating that considerable dissatisfaction exists in view of the fact that he still does not see his way to meet the wishes of the Council. The Council do not see why their District should not be dealt with on this matter as early as other districts; and that the necessity of the Sunday collection and dispatch of letters cannot altogether be determined by the number of letters passing. That the Oxenhope and Oakworth Urban District Councils be asked to support the Council's request to the Postmaster General, for a collection and dispatch of letters as mentioned. That Sir Robert Clough be heartily thanked for the interest which he is taking in the matter, and stating the Council note that he will endeavour to see the Post Master general again on the subject when Parliament reassembles, also that a letter be sent to the Postmaster at Keighley explaining what steps Council are taking; and asking for his support to the application.

That the Clerk communicate with Mr WB Naylor, Manager, Bank of Liverpool and Martins Ltd, Keighley, stating that the Council note that the rate of interest allowed on the Council's account will be reduced from 3% to 2 1/2%, and that the Council are agreeable to this on condition that when the accounts of the Council are in debit, the rate of interest to be changed shall be 1% below bank rate with a minimum of 4%.

October 3, 1922
Certificate dated September 22, 1922, from the Minister of Labour to the effect that the Council have renewed the undertaking given by them under the National Scheme to employ a number of disabled men.

November 7, 1922
That the wages of the men employed in this department paid by the hour be reduced one half penny per hour, and that the wages of the Sewage Farm Manager, Cemetery Caretaker and Steam Road Roller Driver be reduced two shillings per week, the reduction to take effect and be operative from and including November 2, 1922.

December 5, 1922
That the Clerk communicate with the tenants of Middle and Far Intake farm and Far Intake farm, Spring Wells farm, Hollings farm, Intake farm, and Middle Intake farm, drawing their attention to the various repairs necessary to be done to the farms as per report of the Sanitary Inspector, and request that the repairs be carried out.

The Chairman reported having received a communication from the Lord Mayor of London with reference to effort be made to give relief to the victims of the Turko-Greek war. It was resolved that a fund be opened in the Council's District, the Clerk of the Council to act as treasurer, and that intimation be given to Clergymen in the district and to the Head Masters and Mistresses of the schools in the district, of the opening of the fund, and that a copy of the Lord Mayor's letter be sent to each.

A letter was read from the Postmaster at Keighley stating that the question of a later dispatch of local letters by the 7:29 pm train had received consideration and report of that the suggested extra mail was not warranted. It was resolved that this question be referred to the joint committee of Urban District Councils for consideration and to take such action as they may decide. It was suggested that Lees and Cross Roads should be included in the suggestion for further collection of letters.

The Clerk reported result of "Poppy Day" in the Council's District on behalf of Field Marshal Earl Haig's appeal for ex-service men. The amount collected was in the Haworth District ?8-3-0 and in the Lees and Cross Roads District ?6-11-10, which amounts have been remitted to the general treasurer. It was resolved that the best thanks of the Council be given to Misses Jackson and Redman of the Central schools, Haworth, and to Mr J Dickinson of School House, Lees, and all the children who had assisted in making the appeal in the district.

It was resolved to recommend to the Gasworks Subcommittee that they take into consideration the availability of reducing price of Coke whether inside the Council's District or outside the district for one month only.

The Clerk reported receipt of a communication from the Guardian's of the Keighley Union that they were prepared to consider application for work by men receiving relief from the Guardians. It was resolved that applications be made for 12 for the sewage farm and 2 for Cemetery, stating that local men would be preferred.

That the Council have no objection to the proprietors of the Hippodrome allowing the exhibition of the Film "Damaged Goods".

1923

January 2, 1923
That the application of the Postmaster General for consent to the laying of underground telegraphs from points opposite Cross and Roads Hill, and Cross Roads, along North West side of Halifax road in a North easterly direction to Council boundary, be granted, subject to footpath being left in a state of repair satisfactory to the Council surveyor, subject to the provisions of section 10, 17, 18 and 19 of the Telegraph act of 1863.

That the Clerk ascertain the reductions to take place in the wages of Carters as from January 1, 1923, and that the Council carry out such alterations as are found to be recommended. That the Carters be allowed holiday on Boxing Day, that their wages be paid, this not to be a precedent for future years.

That the Treasury in the Council's District for the Turko- Greek refugees fund be requested to write to Minister of Religion in the district asking what steps, if any, are being taken to obtain support to the said fund.

The Clerk laid before the Council a communication dated 7th December 1922 from the Unemployment Grants Committee, with reference to work for the relief of Unemployment, Winter 1922-23. It was resolved that the communication stand over for the present and that in the meantime the agricultural rate of wages in the district be ascertained.

February 6, 1923
Mr James Ackroyd moved, and Mr Harry Binns seconded that a subcommittee be appointed consisting of four members of the Council with the addition of the Chairman to investigate and report on the question of the salaries of the Council's officers. On the motion being put to the meeting, Messers Ackroyd and Harry Binns voted in favour and Messers Smith, Mitchell, Pickles, J A Murgatroyd and FJ Whitaker against. The Chairman declared the motion to be lost.

March 6, 1923
that the following plans be approved, viz:-

WC and Ashes place, for Halifax road, for Mr JT Snowden. Wooden shop; Rough Nook, Haworth for Mr Riley subject to agreement as to wooden erection being entered into and the payment of 1/0 per year in acknowledgement.

That the offer of Mr G H Hall for removing excreta by barrel from the whole of the Councils Urban District for the year ending March 31, 1924, in the sum of ?108, no excrement to be deposited in the Council's District, unless with the consent in writing of the Council be accepted.

That the Sanitary Inspector be given discretionary power to pay charges made for destroying diseased meat condemned by him.

The Sub Committee appointed to consider the question of proposed Circulating Library in the Council's area, under the Education Department of the County Council of the West Riding, gave their report, when it was resolved that application be made for two supplies of books, one to be kept at the Council's Offices, Mill Hey, and the other lot at Mytholmes Mission Room. That Mr Rupert Sunderland be appointed honorary Librarian, who will be responsible for the issue and safe custody of the books. That the day on which the library will be open for the distribution of books in the Council's Offices be, Mondays from 7:30pm to 8 pm and Mytholmes Mission Room, Fridays from 7 to 8:00 o'clock pm.

Communications were read from the Organising Secretary of the Yorkshire, Lincolnshire and Derbyshire areas for an All British Appeal for Russia and the Near East, asking the Council to co-operate in the appeal. On the motion of Dr Maggs seconded by Mr George Rushworth, it was resolved that an appeal be made in the Council's District similar to that made last year.

The clerk reported receipt of a communication from the Board of Education that a scheme for the administration of the Drake and Tonson’s school was established on 23rd of February 1923, under which the Haworth Urban District Council was entitled to appoint a representative Governor on the Governing Body of the Foundation. It was resolved that Mr J A Murgatroyd be appointed the Council's representative on such Governing Body for three years to February 23, 1926.

A letter was laid before the meeting from Mr E P Inglis stating that he wished to obtain permission from the Council to carry a supply of electricity from the Keighley mains near Messers Rouse Bros Mill to "Longlands" at Lees. It was resolved that the Council agree to grant permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation for supply of electricity for light and power to "Longlands" and that in case the Corporation apply to the Council for permission to give such supply, the application will be granted on condition that the usual Order of the Board of Trade is obtained.

March 23, 1923
That the lighting of the public lamps cease from Saturday, March 24, 1923.

That public notices warning persons against damaging Street lamps be posted on the lamps.

That the Clerk reply to letter from the Bridgehouse Mills Co Ltd stating that the Council regret that they have been unable to see their way to make any contribution towards cost of laying of proposed extension to sewer in River Bed to Bridgehouse Mills also stating that the Council do not see their way to carry out the extension desired.

An application for supply of electricity from the Keighley Corporation by Messers Rushworth, Hall & Lund for light and power to weaving shed proposed to be built at Town End, was received. It was resolved that in the case the Keighley Corporation apply to the Council for permission to give such supply the application will be granted on condition that the usual Order of the Board of Trade be obtained.

It was resolved that petrol licences as follows be granted,

W Ratcliffe & Co Ltd 100 Main Street 250 gallons
John Snowden 7 Minnie Street 100 gallons
Smith Robertshaw Cross Roads 60 gallons
Merrall and Son Ltd Lees Mill 1000 gallons
Ellis Driver & Son Ltd Cross Roads 500 gallons
Hattersley and Sons & Co Ltd Mytholmes 250 gallons
Joseph Henry Frobisher 16 Halifax road 60 gallons
Greenwood Waddington Bridgehouse Farm 100 gallons
Haworth Cooperative Society Ltd Main Street 200 gallons
Rouse Bros Ltd Vale Mill 500 gallons
E Parker & Co Clarendon Brewery 200 gallons

April 10, 1923
That a letter be written to the Superintendent of Police drawing his attention to the nuisance caused
from time to time on the Council's District, especially in the Lees & Cross Roads portion, by reason of tradesman from surrounding districts, especially Bradford, dropping refuse from their carts as they pass through the district, leaving fish and vegetable garbage, sometimes on the road, and sometimes by throwing the same into adjoining fields, and say that the Council would be glad if the Superintendent would assist them in putting a stop to the nuisance.

April 17, 1923
The Clerk laid before the Council communication received from the Keighley Corporation with reference to housing, enclosing a copy of resolution passed by the Keighley Corporation relative to the shortage of houses throughout the country. It was resolved that in the opinion of this Council the shortage of houses is largely due to their high cost of building material arising from the monopoly and that this Council urge the Government at once to take action to prevent such monopolies being carried on to the detriment of building trades; that a copy of this resolution be sent to the Prime Minister, Minister of Health, and the local member of Parliament.

It was resolved to appoint a committee to deal with the question of letting of Whins Delph Top farm, including what they think to be a fair rent and report generally to the Council. No public advertisement to be issued for letting the rent.

May 1, 1923
That on the representation of the Sanitary Inspector, 28 days notice be served on the owners of property number 29, 31 and 33 Main Street to provide sufficient Water Closet and Ash pit accommodation furnished with proper doors and coverings for each of the before named houses.

June 5, 1923
That the following plans be appalled approved, viz
2 WC's and 2 Ashes places, Town End farm, Haworth for WED Green Emmott.
2 WC's and 2 Ashes places, West Lane, Haworth for Mr Percy Shackleton.

That the Council reply to letters received from postman performing the Keighley to Cross Roads delivery and from postman performing deliveries in the Haworth District desiring that half holiday be granted on Saturday; that whilst the Council approved of a half day holiday being granted, they do not agree that Saturday afternoon is an opportune time on account of non-delivery and non-collection on the Sunday and suggest Tuesday afternoon in preference.

That the Council draw the attention of the public to the practice of throwing on to the roads and footpaths waste paper, orange peel, banana skins, and various descriptions of rubbish to the detriment and danger of the public, and to the general sanitary condition of the Council's District. The Council ask the help of the public in carrying out their duties as the Sanitary Authority of the District, and so assist in keeping the public thoroughfare clean and tidy.

The Clerk reported receipt of a communication from the secretary of the Electricity Commission informing the Council that an order had been made by the commissioners under section 6 of the Electric Lighting Act 1909, to permit the Corporation of Keighley to supply electricity to the premises known as "Longlands" situate in the Council's District and outside the area of supply under the Keighley and Electric Lighting Orders 1899 and 1915, and enclosing a copy of Order.

The subcommittee appointed by the Council to consider holidays of work men recommend the Council not to alter the present method of payment of wages in case of sickness. To allow holidays with wages as follows to employers of the Council (other than officials) viz:-
Detail Men. One day Easter; one day at Whitsuntide, two days at Keighley Parish Feast. Two days at Christmas, and in addition one week.
Gasworks Stokers seven days per year.
Other Employees six days per year.

The holidays in the above cases to be taken at the convenience of the Department concerned. The period of employment to be 12 months before any employee qualifies for holidays.

July 3, 1923
That the Chairman of the committee and Messers Wood and Whitaker look into question of repairs to doors at fire station, North Street, obtain tenders for the work and report to the next meeting of this committee.

That the application of the Lees and Cross Roads Cooperative Society for permission to use electricity supplies from the Keighley Corporation to their places of business at Lees and Cross Roads, and a letter from the town Clerk of Bradford dated June 15, 1923 be referred to the Council's Electricity Committee for consideration and report.

The Clerk laid before the meeting letter from the Yorkshire Union of Young Men's Christian Association asking the Council to make an appeal in their district on behalf of the Young Men's Christian Association. It was resolved that the consideration of their letter be deferred sine die.

August 7, 1923
It was resolved that a committee of three be appointed to consider the question of widening of Hebden road immediately past the junction with the Lees road towards Oxenhope.

That the following plans be approved viz:-
Additions, Masonic Hall, for Trustees, Freemasons Lodge.
Wooden cycle shed, Ouse Street, for Mr A L Moore, subject to agreement as to wooden erections being entered into and the payment of 1/-per year acknowledgement.

That on the representation of the Sanitary Inspector, 28 days notice be served on the owner of property numbers 4, 6, 8 and 10 Cecil Street, 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9 Gordon Street, to provide sufficient Water Closet and Ash pit accommodation furnished with proper doors and coverings for each of the before named houses.

That the Council enter into an agreement with Messers William Mitchell & Sons for use of disused quarry at Lees Moor for Tip, for the sum of ?12 a year, subject to 12 months notice from either side.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the West Riding of Yorkshire Rivers Board dated 30 July, with reference to effluent from the sewage works, urging the Council to put in hand the construction of new settling tanks or additions to the old tanks without delay.

A letter was laid before the Council from Mr Charles Gilson dated August 7, making application for a well to be removed in field above Old Hall farm. It was resolved to refer the matter to the Chairman of the Council; the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Water Works committee to look into.

That it be an instruction to each committee of the Council to enquire what can be done to provide for unemployment in the Council's District during the ensuing winter.

It was suggested that steps be taken to find out the opinion of the Haworth, Oakworth and Oxenhope Urban District Councils on the subject of supply of Electricity to the three Districts.

That Mr Thomas Duerden be appointed the Council's representative on the Midgley and Pollard charities for four years as from September 6, 1923.

September 4, 1923
That the Chairman of the Highways Committee be empowered to interview the West Riding Surveyor at Wakefield with respect to proposed purchase and pulling down of building which projects on the Lees and Hebden Bridge Main road (near to Eldridge’s shop) and that his out of pocket expenses be paid by the Council, and at the same time discuss the possibility of making a new road from Bridgehouse Lane Top to top of North Street to junction with Toller Lane, Haworth and Blue Bell Main Road, on the ground of the dangerous and unsatisfactory condition of the Main Street.

The Clerk read a communication from the Urban District Council of Stretford inviting the Council to adopt a resolution to the Government in favour of making vaccination compulsory in the interests of the health of the community. It was resolved that the communication lie on the table.

That the application of Mr James W Farnell of 3 Fold, Haworth for water for Hen run Bull Field, be not granted.

The electricity committee reported that a subcommittee of the electricity committee had an interview with members of the Keighley Electricity Committee. It was resolved that representatives from the Oakworth and Oxenhope Urban District Council be invited to meet the Council's Electricity Committee to talk over generally the question of supply of electricity to the Worth Valley.

It was resolved that permission be given to the Lees & Cross Roads Cooperative Industrial Society Ltd to make application to the Corporation of Keighley to take and use electricity supplies from the Keighley Corporation at the societies places of business at Lees & Cross Roads, but subject to conditions to be agreed between the Council and the Corporation.

That the formal application of the Yorkshire (Woollen District) Electric Tramways Co Ltd for licence for four Motor Vehicles and six Drivers Licenses, be granted conditional on the vehicles being satisfactory to the Council's inspector of Hackney Carriages.

That the grant of the County Council in the sum of ?992, for carrying out the proposed widening of Main Road near to Vale Lane Top accepted.

It was resolved that the Council support "Poppy Day" on Saturday, November 10, proposed to be held by the British Legion in relief of distress amongst ex-service men of all ranks and the dependents, wives and orphans of those who died, and that Messers J Barrett and W Wall of the Central schools be asked to undertake the duties of carrying out the effort in the Haworth portion of the district and Mr Joshua Dickinson in the Lees and Cross Roads District.

October 2, 1923
That the application of the London, Midland and Scottish Railway for supply of gas to station master's house, Oxenhope, be granted on the usual terms.

That the applications of Mr Martin, Yate Lane, Oxenhope, for supply of gas to new bungalow, Yate Lane; and Thomas Bradley Moorside, Oxenhope, for supply of gas to 3 cottages and farm buildings, Moorside, Oxenhope, be granted on condition that the applicants pay the whole cost of laying service.

That Messers J A Murgatroyd William Thackray and Alfred Wood be appointed to meet representative from Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries with respect to the Council's responsibility for replacing fencing on land used for allotments under the cultivation of lands order.

The Clerk laid before the Council, circular No 426 dated 14th of August 1923 on the subject of Cancer along with memorandum of the Ministry of Health thereon.

It was resolved that a letter be forwarded to the Education Architect of the West Riding County Council referring to the proposed laying of a drain from the Central Schools, Haworth to connect with the Council's sewer, stating that the Council are prepared to undertake the construction of 100 feet in Butt Lane, to the Caretaker's house adjoining the Central Schools, on condition that the West Riding County Council pay to the Haworth Urban District Council the cost of laying such 100 feet of sewer.

November 6, 1923
That a letter be written to Messers Rouse Bros Ltd drawing their attention to the dangerous condition of the road leading from Mytholmes Bar to their Mill, and respectfully asking them to put the said road into a satisfactory state of repair.

That the inhabitants in the Mytholmes District be circularised with respect to serious stoppages in the main sewer caused by refuse being thrown into the drains, also to the heavy cost to the rates of removing the stoppage.

That the application of Messers Ellis Driver and Son Ltd for licence to store 500 gallons of petrol in underground tank, Lees Garage, Vale mill Lane, be granted.

That the subcommittee appointed be requested to wait upon the owner of building projecting into Hebden Road with a view to re-opening negotiations for purchase of the said building and report.

December 4, 1923
That the public lamps be lit all night during the nights of December 24 and 25th.

That the owners of the land adjoining footpaths Sowdens to Church be communicated with requesting them to put the said footpaths into a satisfactory state of repair.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Oakworth Urban District Council drawing attention to alleged bad supply of gas in Stanbury area. That numerous complaints from consumers received weekly and that the Council considers the complaints are justifiable.

That the Council's Electrical Engineer be instructed to report fully on the Council's electricity scheme, including the question of taking electricity in bulk and the laying of the cables in the Council's compulsory area under their order and a transforming station.

That Mr John Green be granted permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation to take and use electricity supplies from the Corporation to his slaughterhouse at Cross Roads, also to his new house now in course of erection, subject to conditions to be agreed between the Corporation and the Council.

The Clerk laid before the meeting a letter received from the Town Clerk of Keighley dated 9 October 1923 enclosing two plans showing the proposed routes of the cable to give electricity supply to Townend Mills, and to the Lees and Cross Roads Cooperative Society Ltd, Central Stores and No 1 Branch Store, Lees.

That the attention of Mr EP Inglis and the Keighley Corporation be drawn to the erection by them of a Transformer House at Lees Syke Lane without first receiving the sanction of the Council, and ask for their reason for so doing.

The Clerk reported result of "Poppy Day" held on behalf of the British Legion in the Council's District on Saturday, November 10 ?12-16-1 was collected from the Haworth portion of the district and ?7-9-0 in the Lees and Cross Roads portion.

1924

January 1, 1924
That Messers R A Murgatroyd, and Johnny Murgatroyd be requested to interview Mr Watson Ellison with a view to the existing footpath on Belle Isle Road being extended to junction with Bridgehouse Lane, and report to the Council.

The Clerk laid before the Council a letter from the West Riding of Yorkshire Rivers Board dated 21 December 1923, stating that the Board do not consider that the Council are tackling the matter of additions to sewage farm with any real energy, and giving two months notice of their intention to take proceedings against the Council.

The Clerk laid before the Council plans of proposed semi-detached houses, five pairs, at Cross Roads for Messers A Midgley and Co along with an application for grants under the Housing Act 1923.

The Council consider that the need of houses in the Council's District cannot be met without financial assistance, as during the last 10 years there has been an acute house shortage in the district, and there has only been built four houses and these are not considered to be of the type to meet the needs of the working class community.

It was unanimously resolved that a further letter be sent to the London Midland and Scottish Railway Co. drawing their attention to the unsatisfactory state of repair of the railway bridge at Bridgehouse, the approaches thereto and the footpaths thereon.

February 5, 1924
It was resolved that the plan of proposed Institution at Haworth for the Haworth Institute committee be approved.

The subcommittee appointed under minute No 1295 reported their recommendations with regard to question of subsidy or grant to private builders of houses in the Council's District under the Housing Act 1923. It was resolved that the Council approve applications for subsidy grant up to 20 houses, and fixed the amount of subsidy at a sum which added to the maximum grant by the Ministry of Health will make the grant into ?82-10-0 per house.

That the Council takes steps to acquire land at Mytholmes Lane from Messers Merrall & Son and adjoining owners for the purpose of a tip.

March 4, 1924
That the attention of the Police Authority be called to the damage caused to lamp situate in Lord Lane, and that they be asked to give special watch over the lamp, and that proceedings be instituted against offender, if discovered.

That the plan of detached house at Bridgehouse Lane for Mr Stephen Greenwood be approved.

That in view of the probable strike of Miners the Gasworks Subcommittee be empowered to purchase coal as may be necessary during the ensuing two months as they may decide.

The Clerk reported that School Closing Orders had been made, in connection with the Lees Infants School from February 26 to March 7, inclusive, and to the Haworth Central Council Infants School from March 3 to March 7, inclusive on account of influenza.

March 24, 1924
That the subcommittee appointed to consider improvements of highway, including purchase of property, Vale Lane Top, be given full power to obtain possession of the property, and that they use such reasonable means as they think fit, to get the tenant to vacate the house.

That the following plans be approved viz:-
Catholic Church, Ebor Lane, Haworth, for Rev J Tivomey.

Wooden garage for Rev G Armitage, Southlands Haworth. Wooden garage, Greenfields, Haworth, for Mr Horace Feather.

That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875, be served upon Mr Herbert Petty, secretary of the Wesleyan Chapel, West Lane, to provide Dust Bin to house number 56 West. Lane.

That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served upon Mr Greenwood Waddington to provide separate waste flushing cisterns for WC's at numbers 10, 11, 12 and 14 Surgery Street.

That it be an instruction to the Water Works Superintendent to cut off the water to automatic flushing cistern supplying property at 10, 11, 12 and 14 Surgery Street, Haworth.

April 1, 1924
The Clerk reported receipt of an order dated 25th of March 1924, authorising the Mayor, Alderman and Burgesses of the Borough of Keighley, to supply electricity to the premises known as Townend Mills, and the Central Store and No1 Branch Store of the Lees & Cross Roads Cooperative society Ltd as from 25 March 1924.

The Chairman referred to the death of Mr James Ackroyd who was for so long a member of this Council and took so active and wide interest in the affairs of this district. It was a great regret to the Council when he severed his long connection therewith, but now a deeper separation has come in his decease. It was unanimously resolved that the Clerk send a letter of condolence and sympathy to the members of his family in the bereavement which they have sustained.

May 6, 1924
That the letter dated April 11, 1924, from the Lees & Cross Roads Co-operative Society Ltd offering to the Council the sale to them of a Mann’s 3 ton Steam Wagon be reported to the Team Labour Committee for consideration and report to the Council.

That the Clerk communicate with the Post Office Authorities asking that they make provision for the erection of Public Telephone Boxes, say, one near to the Railway Station, one at the top of Haworth and one at Lees.

May 20, 1924
That the Clerk communicate with Mr Emmott, the Council's electricity engineer stating that they will be glad to receive his report on the Council scheme as to bulk supply, the laying of compulsory area cables and the provision of a transformer station in accordance with the previous resolutions.

That the Clerk communicate with the Postmaster at Keighley drawing his attention to the closing of letter box in Sun Street and to the inconvenience caused to the public thereby, and to the fact that letters are often cleared from the Bridgehouse Lane letter box a quarter of an hour before the stated time and sometimes half an hour before.

June 3, 1924
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from Dr Maggs resigning his position as a member of the Council owing to ill health. It was resolved that the same be accepted with great regret, and that the fine be remitted.

That 28 days notice under section 94 of the Public Health Act 1875, be served on the owner of property No 7 Rose Street, Haworth to remedy defective smoky chimney.

The team Labour Committee reported that they had considered the question of purchase of steam waggon from the Lees and Cross Roads Cooperative Society, after considering the question of the Council's haulage and bearing in mind the roads over which the waggon will travel, the committee is unable to recommend the Council to purchase the waggon offered.

That the plan submitted by the Haworth Industrial Cooperative Society Ltd of plan of painters wooden shop intended to be erected in Main Street be disapproved on the ground of it being a wooden erection and not in accordance with the Council's building bylaws.

That the Council agree to give their official support to proposed publication by Messers Vickery Kyle & Co Ltd of hardback on guide to the town of Haworth, the handbook to be produced and circulated free, the Council not to be responsible financially or otherwise, the sole authority to produce the handbook to be given for a period of two years.

That Mr Albert Ellison be granted permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation to take and use electricity for lighting purposes to his house No 11 Ruth St, Lees, also his paint shop No 2 Albion Street, Lees, subject to conditions being agreed upon between the Corporation and the Council.

That formal notice to quit be served on tenants of property purchased from the surviving trustee of the will of John Murgatroyd deceased and others at Vale Mill Lane Top.

July 1, 1924
That the Highways Committee be empowered to divert a portion of Butt Lane and rebuild a portion of wall on the South side without obligation on the part of the Council to repair or maintain any fences abutting on or situated in Butt Lane.

That the plan of Sub Station, Lees, for the Keighley Electricity Department, be approved, in view of the Keighley Corporation having given their undertaking to set back the building, at their own cost to a line shown on the plan, when called upon to do so.

That the following plans be approved, viz:-
Wooden cycle shed, Ashmount place, Haworth for Mr H Hollingdrake.

That the sanitary inspector be instructed to lay sewer from manhole in Cold Street to end of Stone Street, subject to owners of property in Stone Street laying a sewer on the back of Stone Street to the manhole referred to, and connecting WC's and sink waste for property in Stone Street to the sewer at their own expense.

That a charge of 5/0 per year ended May 31, 1924, be made on the Salvation Army, Belle Isle, Haworth for water for cleaning premises etc.

That Mr Alan Pedley be charged 1/0 per year acknowledgement for right of attaching wireless aerial to the Council's property he to enter into an agreement to remove the same when called upon.

That the application for supply of gas by the Haworth Public Institute be granted on the usual terms.

That permission be given to the Postmaster General to erect a "Kiosk" on land in front of the Council offices at Haworth for public telephone call office at a nominal rental of 1/0 per year.

August 5, 1924
That the following plans be approved, viz:-
5 Ashplaces, Barcroft, Cross Roads for Mr A Ellison and others. Coal house, 55 North Street, Haworth for Mr H Gill. Cellar, Corn Mill, Station Road, for WH Fowler. Dwellinghouse and warehouse, Main Street for Mr Fred Holmes. 3 WC's, Haworth Central Schools. Wooden greenhouse, 18 Back River Street, Haworth for Mr Harry Rodwell.

That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on owner of property No 10 and 12 North Street to provide cylindrical galvanised iron dust bins for each house. No 2 and 4 Main Street and 5 and 7 Thomas St to provide one additional cylindrical galvanised iron dust bin for the four houses mentioned.

September 2, 1924
That the Council enter into an agreement with the Imperial War Graves commission to maintain the three War Graves in the Haworth cemetery, clear of all weeds, stones, loose soil and rubbish, to mow the turf from time to time as occasion shall require, also to fill up and level and re-turf all holes and their places, free of charge, this arrangement to be terminated at any time by one months previous notice in writing from either side.

October 7, 1924
That the Clerk write to the London Midland and Scottish railway drawing their attention to the dangerous condition of the surface of the bridge near Tunnel, Mytholmes Lane, and its approaches, and asked them to put the same into a proper state of repair.

That the following plans be approved, viz:-
2 houses, Mytholmes Lane, Haworth for Mr W J Barraclough. Extension, Cross Roads Mill for Messers E H Gates & Co.

That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on owner of property number 22 North Street to provide cylindrical galvanised iron dust bin with close fitting cover for the said houses.

That the Council give their support to proposed Remembrance Day under the British Legion to be held later in the year.

That the application of the Yorkshire (Woollen District) Electric Tramways Ltd for renewal of licences in respect of four motor omnibuses and six drivers be granted.

That the Highways Subcommittee be instructed to approach the Bridgehouse Mills Company with a view to ascertaining their price for plot of land at Bridgehouse.

In accordance with notice of motion given at the last ordinary meeting of the Council, Mr Thomas Duerden moved and Mr George Rushworth, seconded that the Council take steps to provide land on the Haworth side of the district for the purpose of Recreation Ground and Park without delay and that a committee be appointed to consider the matter and report to the Council thereon.

November 4, 1924
The Chairman made special reference to the death of Dr O H A Maggs and a vote of sympathy was passed with his widow and family in their great bereavement. Reference was made to his long service as a member of the Council, to his conscientious and diligence work, especially in the Sanitary Department, and to the general public Health of the district, also to the great interest which he took in the social welfare of the district, and to his conscientious and fair dealings with his fellows. His loss was deeply deplored.

A letter was laid before the meeting from Messers Hattersley Sons & Co Ltd with respect to a private road belonging to them suggesting that Haworth and Oakworth Council's should consider the taking over of the road.

That the Council do not accede to the request of Mr Edgar Bush to give their sanction to the use as a dwellinghouse of Tram Car proposed by him to be converted into a dwellinghouse.

Under the milk and dairies (amended) act 1922 that the Sanitary Officer be instructed to inspect Cows in the Council's district periodically, that samples of milk be obtained from cows inspected to be suffering from tuberculosis of the udder, such samples to be submitted to the County Bacteriologist for examination, that when the examination confirms the diagnosis of the Council's Sanitary Officer he is empowered to call in a Veterinary surgeon to give the necessary certificate.

That the plan of Messers J Ogden & Co for proposed alteration to grocers shop at Belle Isle Road which was approved by the Council on November 1, 1921, be extended for three years to November 1, 1927.

That the Council give their permission to Mr J Snowdon Halifax road, Cross Roads, for him to make application to the Keighley Corporation to take and use electricity supplies from the Corporation, subject to conditions to be agreed between the Council and the Corporation.

The Clerk reported that Messers E J Burrow & Co Ltd of Cheltenham were seeking the official support of the Council to the issue of proposed Handbook which they wished to bring out covering the Council's District. It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with Messers Vickery & Co to whom the Council have already promised their support in the production of an official guide for Haworth, and that he ask if it is their intention to proceed with the proposed official guide as the Council ought to withdraw their official support if such is not their early intention.

December 2, 1924
That on the representation of the sanitary inspector, 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on the owners of property No 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 Hill Street; 2, 10, 12 Cold Street; 1 Green Street, and 8 Cold Street to provide a separate WC and Ashpit accommodation furnished with proper doors and coverings for each of the before named houses.

That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on the owners of property No 3 Sun Street, 1 and 3 Sun Street, 18 West Lane, 26 and 28 West Lane and 68 Lord Lane to provide cylindrical galvanised iron dust bin with close fitting cover for each house.

That the Council give their permission to the Bocking Working Mens Club for them to make application to the Keighley Corporation to take and use electricity supplies from the Corporation, subject to conditions to be agreed between the Council and the Corporation.

That the public lamps in the Council's District be lit all night on Christmas Eve and Christmas Night.

That the Surveyor be given discretionary power with respect to the lighting of lamps during dark evenings in the period of the full moon.

That the Council give their support to proposed film show to be held at the Mill Hey School, Haworth, on Tuesday 9th December 1924, with respect to Venereal Diseases and Tuberculosis.

1925

January 6, 1925
The Clerk reported having received a letter from the Clerk to the County Council making arrangements for deputation to visit Haworth on Friday the 9th inst. at three o'clock with respect to Main Street and alternative road through Haworth.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the County Council making arrangements for deputation to visit Haworth on Friday next the 9th inst. with to the request of Messers Hattersley Sons & Co Ltd for the joint Council of Haworth and Oakworth to take over Providence Lane.

That the Clerk be instructed to write Mr Joshua Middleton tenant of house belonging to the Council at Vale Lane Top giving him notice to vacate house occupied by him by 1 February 1925, otherwise legal proceedings be instituted to obtain possession.

That the following plans be approved, viz:
Underground petrol storage tank, Mytholmes for Hattersley Sons & Co Ltd.
New building line to property intended to be erected off Main Street, Haworth for Mr Fred Holmes.

That the plan of proposed shops Station Road for Messers J Ogden & Co Ltd be approved.

That the application of Mr Frank Widdup to fix wireless aerial to property belonging to the Council, North Street, Haworth, be granted subject to him entering into agreement, at his own cost, and paying an annual acknowledgement of 1/0 per year.

That a letter be sent to the Keighley Corporation asking them to consider the question of running Motor Buses into the Haworth Urban District and stating that the Council are prepared to have the timetable with them, but suggest a suitable service between the hours of 1-30 p.m. and the remainder of the day, and that the Council suggest that the Corporation consider the question of running early-morning buses for workmen.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the secretary of the Haworth Public Institute requesting the Council to hand over amount standing to the credit of the old Free Library in the year 1899. It was resolved that the Clerk look into the question and report to the next meeting of the Finance Committee.

February 3, 1925
The Chairman made special reference to the death of Mr Thomas Binns and to his long service as a member of the Council. It was unanimously resolved that a letter of sympathy be sent to his widow expressing the sympathy of the Council in her bereavement.

That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on the owners of property No 151, 153, 155, 157 and 159 Hebden road to provide 3 cylindrical galvanised iron dust bins with close fitting covers for the said houses. That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on the owner of property Canaby House, West Lane Haworth to provide cylindrical galvanised iron dust bin with close fitting cover for the house.

It was resolved that the Chairman of the Council and the Chairman of the sanitary committee be empowered to take what steps they think for obtaining information with respect to plans of shops, Station Road submitted by W H Fowler.

That the sum of ?22-6-4 standing to the credit of the Haworth Library Account in the name of the Council, be transferred to the Haworth Public Institute.

That the Council give their permission to the Lees Wesleyan Sunday School Trustees, Messers Smith & Robertshaw, Mr WG Gaunt to apply to the Keighley Corporation for a supply of electricity from the Corporation to Sunday School premises, works at Wicken Cragg and Cross Roads Mill respectively.

That the Clerk communicate with the Keighley Corporation Tramways Manager asking if the Corporation arrange for a motor bus to leave Haworth at three o'clock in the afternoon of each day, also that a supply of timetables be exhibited in the various shops in the district, and request to the Manager to arrange that the nose of the bus which leaves Haworth be not brought beyond the gas lamp adjoining the Chapel gates at Bridgehouse Wesleyan Chapel.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Postmaster asking if the collection of letters in the Lees & Cross Roads District might be made later in view of the fact that the Keighley Corporation now run a service of motor buses, and that it be made possible for a delivery of these letters at the Keighley post offices by means of the buses.

March 3, 1925
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the British Legion Haworth branch, asking for the Council’s view in the event of them purchasing wooden hut and erecting same in Belle Isle Road and using same as a club. It was resolved that the Clerk reply stating that the Council strongly oppose the erection of wooden buildings adjoining and abutting on the highway and do not see their way to grant the application.

That the Keighley Corporation Tramways Department be asked to remove electric standard at Vale Mill Lane Top, opposite property belonging to the Council and which it is proposed should be removed, to a line with the wall nearby.

March 23, 1925
The Clerk laid before the Council a letter from the County Council dated the 20th inst. with respect to proposed alternative road through Haworth, stating that the County Committee consider the proposal to construct alternative road as submitted by the District Council, might be improved, and that they have directed the Riding Surveyor to consider the matter with a view to submitting a scheme for their consideration.

That the following plans be approved, viz:-
New Angle Windows, Bay window and wash kitchen and WC for Mr Cecil Ackroyd, Bridgehouse Lane.
Wooden Toll Hut, Mytholmes, Haworth for Messers Hattersley sons & Cohen Ltd.

That 28 days notice under section 30 of the public Health amendment act 1907 be served on the owners of property to protect and enclose certain portions of property so as to prevent danger is thereon, as follows:-
22, 32, 81, 83, 74 and 68; 113 and 115 Main Street Haworth.
14 West Lane Haworth.

That the ventilating column situate opposite Bankfield House be removed and substituted by a gas column placed in wall.

That the Council offer ?1500 to the owners of land bounded by Belle Isle, Bridgehouse Lane and Butt Lane for the purpose of a Public Park, Recreation Ground re- subject to the sanction of the Ministry of Health, and that the Clerk obtain from Messers R B Broster & Sons, tracing showing land referred to and that the subcommittee of the Council appointed for the purpose, have a further interview with Messers Broster.

The Clerk laid before the Council proof of matter to be inserted in the official guide to Haworth as prepared by Messers Vickery Kyle & Co Ltd. It was resolved that Messers Duerden, Rushworth and the Clerk meet Mr Jonas Bradley and Revise the proof.

The Clerk laid before the Council a letter from the York (Woollen District) Electric Tramways Ltd dated March 20 asking for permission to run Motor Omnibuses beyond Cross Roads to terminus in Haworth, and would suggest a place adjacent to that now used by the Keighley Corporation. It was resolved that the consideration of the request stand over for further consideration and in the meantime that the Keighley Corporation Omnibus Department be asked if they have any observations to make to the Council on the request.

April 7, 1925
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter dated 24th of March 1925 from the Electricity Commission enclosing sanction to loan of ?4000, ?3000 for the purpose of mains to be repaid in 25 years and ?1000 for Transformers and switchgear to be repaid in 20 years.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter dated 19 March 1925 from the County Council giving approval of the proposed widening of Lees and Hebden Bridge road by demolition of old shop and construction of a new footpath in the sum of ?157, being ?115 for acquisition of property and ?42 for the work, the lands of the purchase of frontage being 10 yards it was resolved that the Council takes steps to obtain possession of this property as early as possible.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Corporation Tramways Department asking that instructions be given to the motor bus drivers for the buses to start 20 or 30 yards away from Bridgehouse Chapel near to the station.

April 23, 1925
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from Messers R B Broster & Sons dated April 10, 1925, stating that the Trustees of the Haworth estate were prepared to sell to the Council land bounded by Belle Isle, Bridgehouse Lane and Butt Lane, for the purpose of a Public Park, Recreation Ground etc. in the sum of ?1452-10-0. Resolved that the offer be accepted subject to the approval of the Ministry of Health.

It was resolved that Hackney Carriage Licences be granted to the Keighley Corporation in respect of three further motor omnibuses.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Corporation Tramways Department asking the Corporation to run buses between the hours of 9: 5 am and 11:25 am from Haworth to Keighley, also asking the Corporation and the Yorkshire (Woollen District) Electric Tramways Ltd if they can revise the fare between Bridgehouse and Cross Roads with a view to reduction.

On the recommendation of the electricity committee it was unanimously resolved that the price to be charged for electricity supplied in the Council's electricity area be 8d per unit with a minimum charge of 7/6 a quarter exclusive of meter rent.

That advertisements be inserted in the Electrical Review and Electrical Times inviting tenders, from actual manufacturers only, for Cable, Switchgear and Transformers.

That a letter be forwarded to Messers Rushworth, Lund & Co Ltd of Townend Mills, Haworth, asking if they are agreeable to the transference of the agreement which they have with the Keighley Corporation for supply of electricity to the premises at Townend in the Haworth Urban District Council.

May 5, 1925
That the gun and shell at present stored at Belle Isle depot be offered to the War Memorial Committee.

That 28 days notice under section 7 subsections 1 and 2 of the Council's regulations for dairies, cowsheds and milk shops be served on owners of Upper Oldfield farm and Oldfield farm to remove drain openings inside cowsheds, and to lay such drains with proper tapped gullies outside the cowsheds in such position that all liquids matter shall fall thereto.

That the application of the Keighley Corporation for Hackney Carriage Licences in respect of five motor omnibuses and drivers licenses in respect of 29 drivers be granted.

June 9, 1925
That the offer of Messers J Hopkinson & Son to supply 4000 bricks at 91/0 per 1000 be agreed.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Keighley Corporation Electricity Department dated 5th June 1925 stating that the Corporation will be prepared to charge for lighting of public lamps at Cross Roads, as follows:- For an ordinary lamp within easy reach of the existing mains ?3-5-0 per annum, fitted with time switch, but if more than 20 yards of main required ?3-15-0 per annum per lamp. The lamps the Corporation intend to provide would give approximately 300 candlepower, the Council to provide the standards.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter dated 8 June 1925 from the Education Department, Wakefield, asking the Council if they are prepared to take over footpath leading from Haworth Council School to the New Institute as soon as the County Council have carried out repairs to the road.

On the motion of Mr Joseph Mitchell seconded by Mr Greenwood Waddington it was resolved that the Council adopt motor haulage for scavenging in the Council's District and that the special committee appointed for scavenging purposes be empowered to carry out this resolution.

That the tender of the Western Electrical Company Ltd for L.T. Cables amounting to ?4694. 15. 10 be accepted subject to the company reducing this price by 5% and also to agree to free maintenance for a period of five years and to delivery within 12 weeks.

That the tender of the Metropolitan-Vickers Electrical Company Ltd amounting to ?938 - 16 - 8 for supply of E.H.T and L.T. Switchgear be accepted, subject to delivery in 12 weeks.

That the tenders of the Yorkshire Electric Transformers Company Ltd for two Transformers in the sum of ?280 be accepted.

That the Clerk forward three copies of the Guide Book to Haworth, to each member of the Council, and that he be instructed to hand two copies, but not more, to each person who may ask for copies.

That the Council give their permission to Mr JS Rhodes 9 Gott Street, Cross Roads, for him to make application to the Keighley Corporation to take and use electricity for lighting and heating at his residence.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter dated May 22, 1925 from the Premier Transport (Keighley) Ltd making application for licences to apply for hire in respect of two 20 Seater Saloon Buses, with which they proposed to run a service between Keighley and Haworth. It was resolved that the Council do not grant the licences as desired by the Premier Transport Company (Keighley) Ltd.

It was resolved that the Council agree to amended motor bus and trackless fares for the Haworth Urban District as arranged with the Keighley Corporation, and which the Council consider reasonable and satisfactory viz weekly ticket 2/6; ordinary fare Bridgehouse to Keighley and return 8d, single fare 5d
Trackless, Hebden road, Ingrow and return 4d Workmen ordinary trackless fare, Hebden road to Ingrow and return 5d. Single fares as at present 3 1/2d.

July 7, 1925
It was resolved that the Council purchase from Mr Pickles Brown 583 sq yds or thereabouts of land in Lord Lane at 2/0 per yard for the purpose of transformer house and a cheque for ?5 deposit on purchase be drawn.

It was resolved that the Clerk write to the Superintendent of Police drawing his attention to the excessive speed at which motors pass through the Council's District especially in connection with organised motor trials.

That the Council give their permission to the Lees and Cross Roads Institute making application to the Keighley Corporation to take and use electricity for lighting at the Institute.

That the Clerk communicate with the electricity contractors asking them to consider the question of employing local Labour as far as possible, in connection with installation of electricity cables in the Council's District.

August 4, 1925
That it be a recommendation that 10 public seats be provided in various parts of the Council's District.

That the wages of the workmen employed in this Department be reduced one half penny per hour, this resolution to apply to datal men, to date from August 6, 1925, inclusive.

That the application of Messers Snaith & Taylor for licence to store 500 gallons petrol at Lees garage, Lees, be granted.

It was resolved that the application of Mr JS Rhodes on behalf of Mr Albert Midgley, Woodbyrne house, Gott Street, Cross Roads and Mr JW Wood Woodville Terrace, Cross Roads for them to make application to the Keighley Corporation to take and use electricity for lighting and heating at their houses be granted.

August 14, 1925
Messers R B Broster & Company attended the meeting and laid before the Council plan and scheme of proposed Recreation Ground. It was resolved on the motion of Mr George Rushworth seconded by Mr J Hindley that the plan and scheme as laid before the meeting be provisionally approved, and that Messers R B Broster & Company be instructed to get out estimate of cost of carrying out the scheme.

preparatory to the Council applying to the Ministry of Health for permission to borrow money for carrying out the scheme.

September 1, 1925
On the recommendation of the electricity committee and on the motion of Mr Thomas Duerden seconded by Mr George Rushworth it was unanimously resolved that the Council at their own cost lay connection from consumers meter to cable for a distance of not exceeding 60 feet.

That agreements be entered into with trustees of Parish Church, Haworth Cooperative society and Messers Fielding (Royal Oak Hotel) for fixing Feeder Pillars on their property subject to payment of yearly acknowledgement.

That the route of the cable be altered from the top of Clarendon Street off Sun Street, down Clarendon Street along Ashfield Street, Prospect Street into Bridgehouse Lane, instead of proceeding forward from top of Clarendon Street to the top of Ivy Bank Lane.

That the application of Cross Roads Primitive Methodist Chapel (per Mr W V Gott) for permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation for a supply of electricity to the said Chapel be granted.

It was resolved that documents be sealed as follows viz:- Agreement between the Council and the London Midland and Scottish Railway Company with respect to electric cable over bridge at Bridgehouse, the Council to bear cost of 10/0 stamp thereon.

October 6, 1925
That the plan of electricity substation, Lord Lane for the Haworth Urban District Council be approved.

That the Council offer to purchase, subject to approval of the Minister of Health, a plot of ground containing 4900 square yards or thereabouts from G V Green Emmott Esq for recreation ground purposes in the sum of ?250.

That the plan of proposed extension of weaving shed for the Hall Croft Manufacturing Company in Sun Street, be approved.

That the request received from the Haworth War Memorial committee that the Council take over the War Memorial and maintain the same in future be acceded to and that the Clerk be instructed to communicate with the Ministry of Health asking for his permission and the War Memorials (Local Authority) act 1923 involving reasonable expenditure in the maintenance.

That it be an instruction to the lighting committee that the public lamps be lit every night during the lighting season whether it is moonlight or not.

That a letter be forwarded to the Keighley Tramways Manager drawing his attention to the excessive speed at which the Corporation buses travel in the Council's area, the overcrowding of the buses; and the practice of passengers entering into conversation with the drivers whilst the buses are in motion and ask that these matters receive the attention of the Department.

That the application of the Yorkshire Woollen District Electric Tramways Ltd for licences in respect of 35 motor omnibuses and 42 drivers in their employ be granted.

That the Council ask Messers Pilgrim & Hayman, solicitors to the Rawdon Trustees to prepare and forward to the Council’s Solicitors, agreement for sale and purchase of land 7 acres 1 rood 2 perches or thereabouts in Butt Lane Haworth for recreation ground purposes.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the County Council Education Department enclosing copy of letter received by the Department from the Haworth Public Institute asking the Council’s support in an application made by them to the West Riding Library Committee for loan of books to the Haworth Institute. A report on the Circulating Library so far as the Council's District is concerned from Mr Rupert Sunderland, the Hon Librarian was laid before the Council. It was resolved that a copy of a report be forwarded to the Education Department, also that the Clerk intimate to the Department that the Council approve of the application by the Haworth Public Institute and would be glad if the County Education Committee could see their way to send on a further supply of books to the Public Institute as a third centre.

November 3, 1925
That the public lamps be lighted the usual lighting hours each night during the remainder of the ensuing lighting season and that the wages of the Lamplighters be ?1-9-9 per week to date from 28th of October 1925.

That the Council accept the offer of the Keighley Corporation to light by electricity public lamps in the sum of ?3-5-0 per annum per lamp; at Cross Roads and that two lamps be installed one at Hebden Road End and one at Cross Roads.

That the following plans be approved, viz:-
Powerhouse, Bridgehouse Mills for Bridgehouse Mills Company Ltd.

That handbills be issued in the Council's Urban District warning persons against throwing of refuse into streets and that it be an instruction that persons offending be proceeded against under the Town Police Clauses Act 1847.

That the Council ask the West Riding County Council Education Department to establish two subsidiary Library Centres, one at the Haworth Public Institute and one at the Lees and Cross Roads Institute.

That the Council support the Civilian War Claimants Association in a Memorial to the Prime Minister asking the Government to set up a Committee of the House of Commons to report on the question that compensation for civilian damages should be a prior charge on repatriations received from Germany.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter dated the 3rd inst. from the secretary of the War Memorial Committee inviting the Council to be present at the Cenotaph on Sunday, November 15, 1925, and to appoint some member to accept the War Memorial on behalf of the public. It was resolved that the Chairman of the Council be appointed to attend the service and to receive the War Memorial as desired.

That the application of Mr William Binns for permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation for supply of electricity to his house and shop, Cross Roads be granted.

That the draft agreement between the Council and Major L. J. Cowper and another for sale and purchase of plot of land for recreation ground purposes be referred to the Recreation Ground Subcommittee for consideration.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter of apology from Mr Fred Holmes with respect to having commenced to erect temporary buildings on land abutting on Ivy Street, Gaugers Croft, Haworth, without first having received consideration of the Council. It was resolved that the Council accept the apology.

November 17, 1925
It was resolved that the Council accept proposed new terms for the supply by the Keighley Corporation to the Council of water on bulk under the agreement between the two authorities dated June 24, 1891, based on the half yearly minimum as follows viz:-
The first 2,500,000 gallons at 9d per 1000 gallons, the excess over this quantity to be charged at the rate of 1s/3d per 1000 gallons, this new arrangement to date from 31st of March 1926.

It was resolved that the plan of temporary wood barn and mistal to be erected in field near to Ivy Street, Gaugers Croft, Haworth for Mr Fred Holmes be disapproved.

That the Council purchase a Ford Motor Tip Wagon for scavenging purposes, and that the Council advertise for scavenging motor driver.

That the draft agreement between the Council and Major Cowper and another, for sale and purchase of land at Haworth be approved, subject to clauses being inserted that the purchase is conditional on the Ministry of Health giving consent to borrowing powers, and that the Council are under no obligation to carry out, make or maintain any streets or road within the portion coloured pink on the plan and next to the agreement, and that a cheque for ?170 deposited on purchase price be drawn.

December 1, 1925
That the Highways Subcommittee with Chairman of gas committee added have full power to provide garage for Motor Waggon ordered for use in the scavenging Department.

That two, 300 candle power gas lamps be provided, one at Bridgehouse, and one opposite Royal Oak Hotel, Mill Hey.

That the following plans be approved subject to agreement is being entered into and the payment of 1/0 per year acknowledgement.
Temporary wood mistal and barn near to Ivy Street, Haworth for Mr Fred Holmes.
Garage, Norman Street, Brow, Haworth for Mr Charles Garside.

That the Council adopted a Standard Cistern to discharge not more than 3 gallons per flush.

That application for gas as follows be granted on the usual terms, viz:-
Four shops, Station Road for Mrs Ellen Winterbottom.
That the Council offer to supply gas to Messers Joseph Ogden Ltd at 2/11 per 1000 cubic feet; less usual discount, the firm to guarantee a minimum consumption of one million cubic feet, each half-year, these terms to be for 12 months, subject to adjustment at the end of the 12 months, if the Council so require, to any ensuing year.

That the electricity cable be laid from Clarendon Street along Sun Street, to Woodlands, a distance of approximately 440 yards.

That the Chairman and Clerk of the Council be authorised to sign on behalf of the Council the agreement between the Haworth War Memorial committee and the Council's vesting the War Memorial in the Council.

It was resolved that Messers Duerden, Hindley, Waddington and Rushworth be appointed a committee in conjunction with four members of the War Memorial Committee to open a subscription list for the purpose of raising funds to pay cost of inscribing on the War Memorial names of the men from the district who fell in the war.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Education Department Wakefield, with respect to County Circulating Library dated 20 November 1925, stating that the Education Department did not propose to open a centre at the Haworth Institute to the prejudice of the centre already in existence at the Council's Offices, but they propose to establish a centre at the Lees & Cross Roads Institute, on the understanding that the County books will be freely available to the general public without charge, and in no sense confined to the members of the Institute.

That the public lamps are lighted all night of Christmas Eve, Christmas Day evening and Boxing Day evening.

That Messers Thomas Duerden, J A Murgatroyd and the Clerk be appointed a committee to confer with the Council Solicitor on letter received from Messers Hattersley Sons & Co Ltd with respect to surface water into drains at Mytholmes.

Mr Thomas Duerden gave notice of motion that at the next Ordinary Meeting of the Council he would move that the Council takes steps to build at least 18 houses in the Council's District under the Housing Acts in the year 1926.

1926

January 5, 1926
That at the request of the Institution of Municipal and County Engineers the Council communicate with the local Member of Parliament with respect to the proposal of the Chancellor of the Exchequer to use the Road Fund for other purposes than road works pointing out that the money available for road improvements and widening scheme is already insufficient, also that mechanically driven traffic has increased during the last two years and having regard to the probable further increase of this character of this traffic during the next few years, serious accidents may ensue if road improvements and widening are delayed and urge him to use his influence for the use of the money for the purpose of road improvements and widening schemes.

That the action of Mr Greenwood Waddington in selling horse "Captain" to Mr Ratcliffe Feather in the sum of ?6 be confirmed and that cart and set of gears be also sold to Mr Feather for ?6.

It was resolved that the agreement between the Council and Major Cowper for purchase of plot of land for recreation ground purposes be sealed with the Council's seal.

The Chairman in accordance with notice of motion given at the last ordinary meeting of the Council moved that the Council takes steps to build at least 18 houses with power to add thereto as occasion and necessity arises in the future in the Council's District under the Housing Act in the year 1926.

February 2, 1926
That the letter and plans received from the Leeds and Bradford Region joint Town Planning Committee with respect to road through Haworth and Oakworth be referred to the subcommittee appointed to consider the scheme and that the subcommittee seeking interview with the representatives of the Oakworth Urban District Council to further consider the proposals.

The Clerk laid before the Council a communication from the Ministry of Health dated 29th of January 1926 with reference to White Lines on highways.

It was resolved to instruct the Clerk to call upon Messers WJ Bradley to repair damage to railings caused by their motor on the road leading from Oakworth station across the allotments to the sewage farm.

That the plan and estimates of proposed Park and Recreation Ground as submitted by Messers R B Broster & Sons be approved and that the application be made to the Ministry of Health for the necessary borrowing powers in the sum of ?9500 made up as follows: land ?1700, cost of laying out ?7577-6-2 Conveyancing costs, Solicitors charges and Contingencies ?222-13-10.

That the Council forward to the West Riding County Council the approval of the Lees and Cross Roads Institute to the formation of Subsidiary Library Centre under the Council Circulating Library scheme.

March 2, 1926
That the consulting engineer negotiate with Messers Jagger Bros for the hiring to them of our 20 hp motor at a rental of say 20% or 25% on the capital expended.

That the Council advertise by poster for persons who desire to occupy houses proposed to be erected by the Council, the poster to state the rent to be approximately 7/0 to 7/6 per week for scullery houses or 8/6 to 9/0 per week for parlour houses, in addition to rates and water rents applications to be received by the Council within 14 days from poster been issued.

That the plan of rebuilding fat refiners works for Mr Rhodes Robertshaw at Cross Roads be approved.

The subcommittee appointed to consider a letter from the Leeds and Bradford Region Joint Town Planning Committee reported that they had had a joint meeting with the representatives of the Oakworth Urban District Council and recommend to the Council, if the proposed road between Haworth and Oakworth goes forward, to adopt route 2, i.e. from Belle Isle Road to Cravenroyd to join with route route No1 at the Oakworth boundary. It was resolved that the Council approved of this route.

It was resolved on the motion of Mr Thomas Duerden seconded by Mr J A Murgatroyd that a subscription be opened for the purpose of receiving funds to inscribe on the War Memorial the names of the men who fell in the war from the Haworth Urban District, that Mr Robertshaw act as treasurer to the fund. That the relatives or parents of the men who fell in the war be circularised with the view of giving them an opportunity to subscribe a name or names to be placed on the War Memorial. The estimated cost of an average name will be about 10/0.

March 23, 1926
The Clerk laid before the Council, circular from the Ministry of Transport dated 22nd of March, with respect to locomotives on highways, drawing attention to studs on wheels of traction engines hauling threshing tackle.

That the plan of proposed temporary garage No 10 Mytholmes Lane for Mr Jubal Scarborough be approved.

That the offer of Mr GH Hall for removing excreta by barrel from the whole of the Council's Urban District for the year ending 31 March 1927 in the sum of ?140 no excrement to be deposited in the Council's District unless with the consent in writing of the Council, be accepted.

That the sanitary committee allow the use of motor wagon for the Fire Brigade in case of fire and that the inspector convey this resolution to the Scavenger Motor Driver, also that permission be given to use Motor for Fire Brigade practice twice a year.

It was resolved on the recommendation of the team Labour committee that the Council takes steps to sell one horse and one cart forthwith, and that Dr Holland be asked to examine horses belonging to the Council, and his opinion taken as to which horse the Council should dispose of.

That the application of Mr Herbert Bailey of 57 Cross Roads and Mr Albert Mitchell, 59 Cross Roads, for permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation for supply of electricity to their premises subject to terms of supply being agreeable to the Haworth Council, be granted.

That a letter be sent to the Keighley Corporation Tramways Department asking the Manager to meet a deputation from the Council with respect to alteration and change of turning place for buses at Bridgehouse.

April 1, 1926
It was unanimously resolved that the Chairman of the Council be invited to open new Electricity Sub Station on Saturday the 10th inst at 3pm.

April 20, 1926
The Clerk laid before the Council letter dated 19th inst from Rev JC Hirst inviting the members of the Council to attend the Haworth church on Sunday morning May 2nd. it was resolved that the Council accept the invitation.

It was resolved that the Clerk write to the Yorkshire (Woollen District) Electric Tramways Ltd drawing attention to the fact that their buses are running on to the Causeway at Bridgehouse and asking the company to meet a deputation of the Council to consider a better position for turning round of their buses.

May 4, 1926
That the wages of workmen employed in this and the Scavenging Department be reduced one half penny per hour this reduction to apply to datal men.

That the existing 4” water main from Ducking, Sun Street to Hough reservoir be relaid with 6” water main forthwith and that the work be carried out as far as possible with unemployed Labour.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Mines Department dated 1st inst enclosing statutory rules and orders and coal emergency directions 1926.

The Council after making full enquiries into the position of the war charities, have not been able to trace any available funds excepting in the case of the Belgium Refugee fund which amounts to approximately ?20. It was resolved that the Clerk ask the permission of the charity committee for appropriation of these funds to the purpose of inscribing the names of soldiers from this district who fell in the last war on the local war Memorial.

June 1, 1926
That the offer of the Keighley Corporation Tramways Committee to provide and erect a pole and lamp bracket at Bridgehouse, the Council to lay necessary cable to same and supply current be accepted.

That 28 days notice under section 36 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on the owners of property No 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 41 Carlton Street, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42 and 44 Dean Street to provide a separate WC and Ashpit accommodation furnished with proper doors and coverings for each of the before named houses.

That the plan of the Anglo American Oil Co for proposed new petrol tank and pumps at Mr Greenwood Waddingtons, Garage, Station Road, be approved.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Postmaster Keighley, with reference to the question of later posting facilities at Haworth, stating it was now proposed to institute such service by placing a letter posting box on the Corporation bus due to leave Haworth at 7pm on weekdays, and asking the Council to confirm their previous offer of one half of the cost of providing a letter posting box. It was resolved that the Clerk reply stating that the Council are still prepared to bear their half share.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the County Council, Public Health Department, stating that arrangements had been made with the St John's Hospital, Fell Lane, Keighley for admission of women for confinement whose home conditions are unsuitable or whose confinement necessitate such treatment.

June 17, 1926
It was resolved that the following resolution be unanimously approved and adopted within the Council's Urban District, viz
"That there being an emergency due to the outbreak of Small Pox within the Council's District and the danger of that disease being taken for Chicken Pox, the Council do hereby order that the Infectious Disease (Notification) Act 1889 shall apply in the Council's District to Chicken Pox during such period as Small Pox continues prevalence therein”.

It was resolved that the following plans be approved viz. Term of proposed bungalow at Butt Lane, Haworth for Mr J Pedley, Lees, and that he be granted subsidy in the sum of ?82-10-0 subject to the building been completed by 31st December 1926, and that no material alteration being made to the house within 10 years of completion, also subject to the selling price of the house not to exceed ?600 exclusive of subsidy.

July 6, 1926
The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Ministry of Transport dated 29th of June with reference to the Council's application for Bingley Road to be scheduled for grant from the road fund intimating that the Council's District cannot be regarded as rural in character for the purpose of grounds referred to in the application.

That the sewer be extended from manhole in brow road to proposed manhole opposite Heather View at an estimated cost of ?25.

That the Council ask the Government Valuer and Housing Commissioner for their report on proposed housing site viz Land number 2273 on Ordnance plan 1.677 acres north side of Mytholmes Lane and land number 2248 on Ordnance plan 1.187 acres at end of Prince Street.

It was resolved that the Clerk write to the Local Member of Parliament with respect to coal purchased by the Council from Messers James Wilby Ltd for which the Mines Department refuse permit, and ask him to use his influence to obtain the necessary permission for the coal to be released.

That a letter of thanks be forwarded to Messers Merrall & Son Ltd and the Bridgehouse Mill Co Ltd for the generous manner in which the two firms have released coal for an equal quantity of coke, for use within the Council's District.

That the Clerk write to the Superintendent of Police asking for a Constable to be put on point duty at Cross Roads Hill on Saturday and Sunday afternoons and evenings.

August 3, 1926
That Messers Duerden and Smith be given discretionary power to lay 4"sewer and 4’ top water drained, estimated 50 yards at Butt Hill at an estimated cost of ?30.

It was resolved that seeing the Council's District is now free from Small Pox the order declaring Chicken Pox to be an infectious disease notifiable under the Infectious Disease (Notification) Act 1889 be terminated forthwith.

That the application of the Halifax Corporation for permission to run motor omnibuses through the Council's District in connection with their proposal to establish motor bus service between Keighley and Halifax be granted.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Ministry of Health dated 26 July with respect to loan for Recreation Ground and Park stating that the Minister approved of the proposal to provide a pleasure Ground, he considers the layout of the ground to be on somewhat expensive lines and asks the Council to consider this matter, also inquiring what revenue will be forthcoming from the Tennis Courts and Band Performances. It was resolved that the Clerk reply stating that the Council gave careful consideration to the scheme before submitting the same to the Ministry also that they took into consideration the question of cost, that they have again considered the matter and unanimously have come to the conclusion that they desire the scheme to go forward as submitted, also that the Council are unable to give an estimate of income from the Tennis Courts and Band Performances.

It was resolved that the Council make application to the Unemployed Grants Committee for grants in aid of laying out ground for Recreation Ground and Park, and that the Parks Committee be empowered if necessary to send deputation to London to interview the Committee and that their out pocket expenses be paid by the Council.

The Clerk laid before the Council account from Messers Sugden & Company Solicitors with respect to purchase of land Hebden Road from Murgatroyd Sugden's Exors.

September 7, 1926
That the application of Mr Richard Ratcliffe for water to new house, Butt Hill, Haworth be granted.

That the Chairman of the Gasworks Committee and the Chairman of the Council be empowered to consult with Mr N R Barnett and obtain his advice with respect to boring out of 6"water main under Hough reservoir.

It was resolved that the application of Mr Fred Brayshaw for permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation to take electricity to his premises at Cross Roads be not granted. Messers Gott, Smith, Helliwell, Dickinson and Murgatroyd voted against this resolution, the rest of the members present in favour.

That the plan of proposed Parlour House at Saltaire Hill, Cross Roads for Mr Edgar Smith be approved.

It was resolved that the application of the Simmath Press Co for permission to prepare Guide Book of the Council's District be granted.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Keighley Postmaster intimating that a posting box has been attached to the Keighley Corporation Bus leaving Haworth at 7 pm. The box will not be carried on Sundays, Christmas Day, Good Friday, Bank holidays or other similar public holidays.

It was resolved that the recommendation of the housing Subcommittee that the Mytholmes Lane site be adopted for purpose of housing scheme be approved and the District Valuer asked to give his official report on the site.

The Clerk reported receipt of sanction to loan from the Ministry of Health with respect to Recreation Ground viz, ?1700 for land repayable in 60 years and ?7800 for lay out scheme repayable in 20 years.

October 5, 1926
That the offer made by Bentleys Yorkshire Breweries Ltd, in the sum of ?10 towards cost of paving in front of New Inn Sun Street, Haworth, be accepted.

It was resolved that the Surveyor be instructed to meet the Police Authorities with respect to lighting of public lamps and ascertain which they consider the most dangerous places, that such lamps be lit, and the lighting of the remainder discontinued forthwith.

That application be made to the Ministry of Health for sanction to loan of ?400 for purchase of land, Mytholmes Lane, for purpose of housing site.

That the War Memorial Committee be instructed to proceed forthwith with the inscription on the local War Memorial of the names of men who fell in the War.

That Messers Fowler & Crabtree be instructed to lay sewer in Butt Hill at an estimated cost of ?55 and that only labour employed from ratepayers in the Haworth Urban District.

It was resolved that the Clerk be authorised to have cheque signed by balance of purchase money in connection with purchase of Recreation Ground.

It was resolved that the Council lay electricity cable from Green Fields to Mytholmes Bar, with a view to connecting the Catholic Church with electricity supply at an estimated cost of ? .

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the County Council enclosing plan of proposed route which the Halifax Corporation propose to run service of motor omnibuses between Keighley and Halifax, asking the Council to withhold consent to run in the Haworth District, if such had not already been given, until the matter had been further considered by the County Council. It was resolved that the Council will officially approved of the Halifax Corporation route.

The War Memorial Committee reported that the list of names handed to the Clerk by the British Legion, was the official list of those who fell in the war. It was resolved that the Clerk obtain tenders for inscribing the names on the local War Memorial of the men from the Haworth District who fell in the war.

It was resolved that the tender of Mr G A Rix for the conversion of 5 Street lamp standards into electric lamp standards, the approximate height of the standards to be 15 feet, he to provide all material and fittings for the sum of ?85 be accepted.

November 2, 1926
That a supply of current be granted for the purpose of lighting eight Street lamps at a charge of ?2-2-0 per week.

That the Clerk write to the Education Department Wakefield stating that the Council are prepared to contribute a substantial sum towards the cost of laying cable to the Haworth Central Schools and that a subcommittee consisting of Messers Duerden, Murgatroyd, Bannister and Pickles be appointed to deal with the matter.

That the tentative offer of ?60 for electric motor supplied by the Council to Messers Jagger Bros Ltd be accepted and that Messers Jagger Bros Ltd be called upon to pay the difference of loss.

That the extension of electric cable in Victoria road be carried out as per the letter to the Council from the Council's electrical engineer dated 25th inst at an estimated cost of ?25.

That supply of electricity to numbers 35 and 87 Cross Roads and number 8 Cross Roads, respectively, be granted on conditions to be agreed between the Council and the Corporation.

That the application of the Red Chara Motor Bus Company Ltd to run a service of buses through the Council's District be granted on condition that they give a service by Cullingworth gate, Flappit and Cross Roads and that the Council suggest that the company start a morning service of buses.

The Clerk reported receipt of sanction to loan from the Ministry of Health in the sum of ?400 for purchase of site for housing. It was resolved that the Council take steps forthwith to purchase the land offered by the Trustees of the Rawdon Estate at Mytholmes Lane at 1/0 per yard.

It was resolved that the lighting committee of the Council be requested to consider the provision of electric light at Townend, at the junction of Change gate, North Street and Mytholmes Lane.

That the lighting of public lamps be recommenced as from Thursday next, with the exception that they be not lighted three days before full moon and until three days after.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter dated 26 inst from the Unemployment Grants Committee with reference to the Council's application for assistance in respect of Park and Recreation Ground scheme at Butt Lane. The committee state that having regard to the representations made at the interview on the 9th September and to the extent of unemployment prevailing locally they have agreed to meet this application exceptionally and to approve the scheme for the purpose of grants of
(a) 75% of the interest and sinking fund changes for a period of 10 years namely, half the full authorised term of the loan in respect of the loan raised to meet expenditure on the non revenue producing works, and
(b) 50% of the interest for 15 years on the loan raised to meet expenditure on the revenue producing works viz tennis courts. The grant will not of course apply to the cost of the land which is understood to amount to ?1700.

The grant is approved on the condition that the work under the scheme is actively commenced by 15th November 1926 and completed within a period of 12 months from the date of commencement.
It was resolved on the motion of Mr Ackroyd seconded by Mr Bannister that in view of the letter the Council accept the grants and that the Council purchase forthwith to carry out the Park and Recreation Ground Scheme.

November 26, 1926
It was resolved that the Council on the advice of Messers R B Broster & Sons proceed with the work on the unskilled part of the Park and Recreation Ground scheme by District Labour. That the deputation that went to Wakefield with regard to Rawdon road interview the Vendors of the land bought for the Park scheme and continue arrangements with a view to the construction of Road being abandoned.

That an additional six men be employed during next week on the Park scheme.

That Messers R B Broster & Sons be appointed architects to the housing scheme.

December 7, 1926
It was unanimously resolved that the question of reducing time work by men who are drawing the Old Age Pension and employed by the highways Department be referred to the Highways Subcommittee.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from Mr T H Haggas with respect to maintenance of road and gates leading from highway (Lees & Hebden , Main Road) to Pease Lease farm and the Council's sewage works.

It was unanimously resolved that the plan of proposed garage at Ash Mount Haworth, for Dr W McCracken be approved.

It was resolved that the application of Messers Snaith and Taylor for licence for Hackney Carriage to carry 14 persons to ply for hire between Haworth and Stanbury be granted for the term of one month; they to use Ivy Bank Lane as a stand, and to use road to Stanbury via Sladen Bridge.

That the Council proceed with the laying of a main electric cable from Greenfields to Cravenroyd and sub cables to the Catholic Church and Mytholmes Cooperative society, the work to be carried out by direct labour under the supervision of the Council's Consulting Engineer at an estimated cost of ?337.

On the recommendation of the Park and Recreation Ground Committee it was unanimously resolved. That an effort be made to obtain possession of the road on the West side of the Central Schools, and that Messers Duerden, Murgatroyd and Ackroyd be appointed to interview the County Authorities at Wakefield with respect to this matter.
That the work be commenced on the proposed Park on Monday morning the 15th November, and that five men and one ganger be employed under the direction of Messers RB Broster & Sons.

That J Auld be appointed ganger foreman of the scheme at 1/3 per hour; a minimum weekly wage of 30/-, and in case he is unable to work on any particular day owing to bad weather that he be paid up to noon, he to work along with the men.

That the work be continued on Saturdays until 12 noon when the ganger be requested to bring Time Sheets for the morning to the Councils Collector, who will make up wages for the week and pay same.

That the rate of wage of men employed on the Park scheme be fixed at 11d per hour for the time being.

It was resolved that Messers Smith & Boothman be paid the sum of ?50 on account of inscribing names on War Memorial.

That the Clerk write to the Brontë Cinema Co thanking them for the invitation to the Council to witness exhibition of film, "The Love Story of David Livingstone" at a matinee performance on Christmas Day.

That Messers Vickery Kyle & Company be granted permission to revise guidebook of the Council's District.

That Mr Arthur Hey be paid the sum of ?30 for services rendered by him as Coal Emergency Officer during the recent Coal Emergency Regulations.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Civilian War Claimants Association dated 29th inst. asking the Council to use its influence with the Local Member of Parliament to obtain their support if the Association is successful in getting an opportunity for setting out their case for the redress of the injustice under which the Association is suffering with reference to compensation for air raids. No action was taken.

That the Clerk write to the Red Chara Co Ltd and Halifax Corporation asking when they intend to inaugurate bus services in respect of which the Council have given their permission.

December 16, 1926
The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Ministry of Health dated 11th inst. approving the proposal of the Council to proceed with the erection of 18 houses in the Council's District. It was resolved that an application for a further five houses be made under the Housing (Financial Provision) Act 1924.
On the motion of Mr Holmes Ackroyd seconded by Mr J Hindley it was resolved that the Council adopt plan No2 for the style of house to be erected. That the houses be built in blocks of 4.

1927

January 4, 1927
That the electric street lamps be lit in the mornings at 5:30 am and extinguished at 7:30 am until further notice. That the lighting of public lamps all night on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day night and the Sunday and Monday nights following, be confirmed.

It was resolved that steps be taken to ascertain to whom piece of land, West Lane known as "Pinfold" belongs to, with a view to the Council acquiring same for public purposes.

That Hackney Carriage Drivers Licenses as follows, be renewed for one year to December 31, 1927, viz:-John Bailey Snaith, 5 Vale Mill Lane; Maurice Taylor, Haworth Road, Seth Snowden, 7 Minnie Street; John Snowden, 7 Minnie Street, George Binns, Main Street.

It was resolved that the Hackney Carriage Licences of Messers Snaith & Taylor be extended for a further three months.

That the Haworth Urban District Council by resolution dated the 4th day of January 1927 undertake that the conditions set out in subsection 1 of section 3 of the Housing (Financial Provisions) Act 1924 will be complied with in relation to the 20 houses to be erected by them at Mytholmes Lane, Haworth.

That a deputation consisting of Messers Duerden, Pickles and Ackroyd be appointed to meet the trustees of the Lees and Cross Roads & Bocking War Memorial in Recreation Ground with respect to their letter of December 19, 1926, asking the Council to take over the Memorial & Recreation Ground at Cross Roads.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Corporation asking them to take down and remove Trackless Trolley Standards erected in the Council's District on the grounds of being unnecessary.

The Clerk laid before the Council copy of a Bill proposed to be introduced in Parliament by the Yorkshire Electric Power Company. It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the West Riding District Councils Association asking for their observations thereon.

That the Parks Committee be given full power to accept tenders for the various works on behalf of the Council, if they so desire.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the County Council dated 3rd inst. with respect to electric lighting of the Haworth Council School intimating that the Education Committee have decided to contribute ?60 towards cost of laying cable to the school, subject to the approval of the Board of Education. It was resolved that the offer be accepted.

?346-7-0 be drawn in payment of purchase of land for Housing Scheme and that the deed of conveyance of the land in Mytholmes Lane for housing purposes be sealed by the Council.

January 11, 1927
Resolved that the following tenders in respect of the various works required in the construction of the Park and Recreation Ground be accepted.
Masons Work, Messers Towler & Crabtree ?3390, joiners work Mr Robert Ratcliffe, ?215-9-11; plumbers work, Mr A Jowett ?213-9-0; Slaters work, Messers WH & E Walton ?176-16-0.

January 18, 1927
An amended tender of Messers Towler & Crabtree in the sum of ?3504 for work on the Park Scheme was considered and it was resolved that a subcommittee be appointed to interview the firm with power to accept the tender if thought desirable.

It was resolved that the Council decline Mr Greenwoods offer for sale to them in the sum of ?30, stone building adjoining Eldridge's shop, Hebden Road, also that the Clerk give notice to Mr Greenwood that the Council intend proceeding with the demolition of their building and ask him to make arrangements to prop up the beam which supports the roof of the building. This beam has one end resting in the wall of the Council's property.

That the Clerk be instructed to write Messers Hattersley Sons & Co Ltd, Haworth with a view to permission being granted to the Council to lay electricity cable over private roads belonging to Messers Hattersley's. In consideration of this the Council to be responsible for the repair of the track for a period of six months and give a written guarantee that the surface will be left at the end of this period in as good condition as it is now, also to make a payment of ?1 a year wayleave.

February 1, 1927
That the Clerk write to the LM & S Rl Co pointing out the unsatisfactory condition of the main road at the bottom of Bridgehouse Lane and the approaches to their bridge and suggest that they make similar arrangements with the County Council as the Railway Company had with the Haworth Council before the Council Authorities took over the maintenance of the said main road in order that there may be uniformity of repairs on the road in question.

That a letter be sent to Mr Thomas Ratcliffe, Lee Farm, Oxenhope: Mr H Shackleton, North Birks Farm, Oxenhope and Mr H Asquith, Upper Marsh Farm, Oxenhope, drawing attention to the unclean state of milk delivered in Haworth and pointing out that actual samples taken can be seen at the Council's offices or new samples can be taken free of charge.

That the Clerk apply to the Cooperative Insurance Society and the Motor Union Insurance Company Ltd for payment of Fire Brigade of ?3-3-6 in respect of fire which occurred at number 15 Keighley road, Cross Roads.

It was resolved that contracts between the Council and Messers Towler & Crabtree; WH & E Walton, Arthur Jowett, and WE & H Ratcliffe with respect to work in connection with Parks & Recreation Ground Scheme be sealed with the Council's seal.

It was resolved that Messers Pickles, Ackroyd, Duerden and the Council's Engineers confer with the local Labour Exchange with respect to men to be engaged on the Parks & Recreation Ground Scheme and that as far as possible local labour only be employed on the scheme.

That the application of Messers Keighley Bros, to run a service of motor buses from Haworth to Keighley be not granted.

A report with respect to Deputation appointed to meet the trustees of the Lees & Cross Roads & Bocking War Memorial Recreation Ground was laid before the Council. It was resolved that the Council consider the question of taking over the Lees & Cross Roads Memorial on suitable terms to be arrived at later.

That the Clerk make application to the Ministry of Health for subsidy in respect of two houses completed, Mill Hill.

February 10, 1927
It was resolved that the tenders of Messers R Lonsdale & Sons for painters work in the sum of ?59 and Messers W & E Harris for plasterers work in the sum of ?224-10-3 required in connection with the Park and Recreation Ground Scheme be accepted.

February 15, 1927
The Clerk reported that two contractors for Housing Scheme whose contracts were accepted at the special meeting of the Council held on the 10th instant had refused to sign contracts and intimated that a mistake had been made in their respective tenders. It was resolved that the amended tenders of Albert Scaup Ltd for Mason's work ?5075: and Messers Scrooten & Kay for plumbers and electricians work ?1229-9-0 be accepted.

It was unanimously resolved that application be made to the Ministry of Health for sanction to loan in the sum of ?10500 in connection with the proposal to build 20 houses in the Council's Urban District made up as follows viz: Mason's work ?5075; Joiners work ?1875, Plumbers work ?1227, Slaters, Plasterers and Painters work ?1393, Architects charges ?600 Contingencies ?330 = ?10,500.

March 1, 1927
That an electric light be placed on the urinal at the bottom of Prince Street.

The Clerk reported they are prepared to advise the trustees of the Rawdon Estate to agree to the proposed alteration in the width of Street between the proposed tennis court and the Council's schools in connection with the Park scheme.

That the electricity committee be instructed to schedule list of private streets with a view to the necessary steps being taken for application to be made to the Board of Trade for the Council to enter such private streets for the purpose of laying down electric cables.

That the seal of the Council be affixed to 4 contracts for housing purposes, viz:-Messers Albert Scaup Ltd Mason's work: William Wright, joiners work: Scrooten and Kay, plumbers work: and Tidswell & sons plasterers work. Also two contracts in connection with Recreation Ground and Park scheme, namely, W & E Harris, plasterers work and R Lonsdale & sons, painters work.

March 22, 1927
That the plans of 20 houses proposed to be erected by the Haworth Urban District Council, Mytholmes Lane, Haworth, be approved.

That a subcommittee be appointed to visit the Council's tip at Lees Moor with a view to investigating a complaint received as to waste paper flowing over fields near the tip.

That police notices be posted on each electric standard warning the public that proceedings will be taken against persons damaging the standards and lamps.

That the Council proceed with the laying of an electric cable from Main Street to the Haworth Central schools and thence forward and along Belle Isle Road to the bottom of Bridgehouse Lane at an estimated cost of ?500.

That applications for electricity by tenants at Brow Top farm and Burnheys farm be granted through the Council, subject to the supply being through meter from the Keighley Corporation Mains.

That the Parks Subcommittee be instructed to change men employed on the Park scheme weekly, also that they have power to deal with the reforming of Butt Lane, and to make enquiries from the executors of the late Mr Cecil Ackroyd with respect to the land owned by them abutting on Bridgehouse Lane.

That the Clerk write to the County Council asking what steps they are taking with regard to the widening of bridge near the Royal Oak, Mill Hey.

April 5, 1927
The Clerk laid before the Council letters from the County Council with respect to the Haworth Hippodrome and Haworth Brontë Cinema asking if the Council have any observations to make with respect to Cinematograph Licence. It was resolved that the Council reply stating that they have no observations to make.

It was resolved that the applications for electricity supplies from the Keighley Corporation Mains by Bertie Dyson, 48 Lees and Wm Barwick 90 Cross Roads, be granted subject to terms to be agreed between the Council and the Corporation.

That the Clerk be instructed to deal with the ?6 found by the Council's servants in house lately occupied by Thomas Bleggard at Star Street by handing the same to the family, subject to the Council being indemnified against any claim or loss.

May 3, 1927
That Butt Lane be lighted by electric light.

That one half of Lord Lane be repaired with tar mac adam at an estimated cost of ?50.

That the Chairman of the Council and Messers Dickinson, Waddington, Murgatroyd & Bannister be appointed to meet the County Assistant Surveyor with respect to the question of provision of white lines, and road and school signs in the Council's District.

That the offer of Mr G H Hall for removing excreta by barrel from the whole of the Council's Urban District for the year ending 31 March 1928, in the sum of ?140, no excrement to be deposited in the Council's District unless with the consent in writing of this Council, be accepted.

That in future the Gasworks Manager be empowered to deal personally with cases of insubordination of employees.

That the application of James Garthwaite, Changegate, for supply of gas for fish frying be granted.

That the Clerk be instructed to write to Mr F Astin expressing regret that gas supply to incubator had failed, but that no action can be taken.

That the application of Messers Snaith & Taylor for renewal of Hackney carriage licence to December 31, 1927 in respect of their bus to Stanbury, be granted so far as the Council's District is concerned.

That the application of Edward Burrow & Co Ltd for permission to supply official Hand-Book for the Council's District be granted.

That the Parks Subcommittee be instructed to negotiate with Mr Ogden with respect to purchase of land and buildings at Mill Hill and report to the Council.

May 13, 1927
The Clerk laid before the Council tenders for painters and electricians work in connection with erection of houses Mytholmes. It was resolved that the tender of Mr Fred Lambert, 3 Halifax road, Cullingworth, amounting to ?165-11-3 for painters work and Messers G J Ramsbottom & Co Ltd amounting to ?112 for electricians work be accepted.

May 17, 1927
the proposed alteration to pipes under the Hough reservoir be carried out.

June 9, 1927
That the offer of Mr Holmes Ackroyd of loan of lawnmower for use at the cemetery be accepted, any cost of sharpening to be borne by the Council.

That the application of the British Legion for permission to deposit soil on the Council's Park scheme be approved, provided that this is done at no cost to the Council.

That the Police Authorities be asked to give special oversight over the Council's sewage farm in view of damage which is constantly being done to the works.

That a milk committee be constituted to organise and carry out a clean milk campaign in the Council's area.

That the Gas Manager, the Chairman of the Council and the Clerk be appointed a subcommittee to interview the Council’s Solicitor on the question of Mr Astin's claim for spoilt eggs owing to gas supply to incubators failing.

That the application for a supply of gas to new Baptist school and Chapel at Oxenhope be granted on the usual terms.

That the question of arranging details as to the fixing of new outlet pipe at Hough reservoir be referred to the subcommittee.

That a supply of water be granted to the Council's Parks and Recreation Ground at a charge of ?4 per annum.

That the application of the housing committee for gas, water and electricity, to the Council's houses at Mytholmes be granted on the usual terms.

That the application of the Keighley Post Office for permission to fix an electric light in a telephone kiosk, Mill Hey, be granted and that the charge for electric current be ?2 per annum.

That the Council support the Malvern Urban District Council in the following resolution viz: That this Council views with the greatest concern the ever increasing number of fatalities occurring to motorcyclists with pillion riders and strongly urges the Government to take drastic steps to minimise the danger by prohibitive legislation, and that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Minister of Transport, Minister of Health and local Member of Parliament.

That the Council support the Saddleworth Union in the following resolution viz: That this Council most strongly protest against the proposed appointment by the West Riding County Council of the County Rating Officer at the salary of ?1500 per year, and also against the proposed large increases of the salaries of already highly paid officials of the Council and urges the County Council to exercise rigid economy in each and every of its departments and that a copy of this resolution be sent to the West Riding County Council and County Councillor J Ogden.

July 5, 1927
That the sanitary inspector be given power to engage and man to work on the Lees Moor tip for one month with the object of reducing the quantity of paper blowing on the tip.

That the application of the British Legion for supply of water to their premises Sun Street, be granted.

That the free supply of water to Old Hall farm be given from the 6"water main in Main Street.

That the application of the Haworth Industrial Cooperative Society for electricity for lighting purposes to their premises Victoria road be granted subject to terms to be arranged later.

That the Tithe rent charge on land in Butt Lane from Green Emmott’s Estate in the sum of ?5-4-0 be redeemed.

That permission be granted to the Post Office Telephones to the establishing of a street kiosk at the corner of Sun Street and Main Street, and that they be asked to erect further kiosks in the vicinity of Haworth Post Office and at Cross Roads, near to Cross Roads Inn.

That permission be given to Messers Morgan Land & Co Ltd to publish guidebook in respect of the Council's District.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Charity Commission dated 9 June 1927 with respect to the proposal to sell for the sum of ?3000 the residence erected in the Council's District known as the Rectory. It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with Sir James Roberts Bart. thanking him from a public point of view for his generous act in purchasing on behalf of the Brontë society the Rectory at Haworth, and for presenting same to the Society. It is felt that the act will give an additional amenity and attraction to the Council's District and make it possible for the Rectory To be kept open for all time as a place for the Brontë relics.

It was resolved that the application of Snaith & Taylor for Hackney Carriage Licence in respect of Fiat Motor Bus be granted subject to the condition that when the bus is going down hills they go down in low gear.

That the Clerk communicate with the Postmaster at Keighley asking that letters be forwarded to Haworth by the 4:15 p.m. train instead of the 4:54 p.m. train which would have the effect of an earlier delivery of letters in Haworth, and also ask for an earlier delivery of letters in the Lees and Cross Roads District.

July 12, 1927
Tenders were received for the work required in connection with Ashphalting of Paths and making of Tennis Courts in the Park. It was resolved that the tender of the Tarred and Rock Asphalt Paving Co, Sheffield in the sum of 3/2 per square yard for asphalting of Paths; and in the sum of 3/2 per square yard for making one Tarred Macadam Tennis Court and 3/4 per square yard for making one Red Shale Tennis Court with the addition of ?85 for fittings for both courts be accepted. It was resolved that two tennis courts to be provided, one tarred macadam, and one red shale.

A letter from certain ratepayers in the West Ward was laid before the Council protesting against Mr James Hollingdrake letting football field owned by him to people for use as a fairground. It was resolved that the Clerk reply stating that the matter had received the consideration of the Council but they have no jurisdiction in the matter.

August 2, 1927
That the plan of proposed vicarage, Haworth, submitted on behalf of Mr N H Merrall be approved.

That this Council desires to record its opinion that there is still throughout the country are very serious shortage of houses which can be let at rents within the means of the lower paid wage earners. The Council expresses its firm conviction that the houses required by the working classes cannot be provided without state assistance, and accordingly requests the executive committee of the National Housing and Town Planning Council to obtain the cancellation of the Housing Acts (Revision of Contributions) Order 1926 so that the present housing subsidies may be continued until the date of the next statutory review.

That arrangements be made for the Council and farmers in the Council's District to visit Follyfoot farm, near Harrogate and thence forward to another farm, if possible, on August 13 with the object of inspecting conditions of production of grade A milk.

That an electric cable be laid from the existing cable in Victoria Road to Prince Street.

The Surveyor to engage man for attendance at Park at a wage of ?1 per week be approved. That the Parks committee be instructed to draw up a list of duties and advertise for a park attendant.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from Sir James Roberts, dated 10 July, thanking the Council for the special reference made at the last meeting of the Council to the purchase by him of the Parsonage, Haworth, for the Brontë Society.

That the Clerk advertise for sanitary inspector to the Council at a salary of ?200 per year as the sanitary inspector.

September 6, 1927
That the Clerk write to the Education Committee asking that arrangements be made by them for the lopping of overhanging tree branches on their property Butt Lane, Haworth.

That electric lights be fixed as follows:- 1 on urinal at Belle Isle, one at the top of Ivy bank Lane, two electric standards in Butt Lane.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Corporation asking them to remove forthwith the electric standards along Hebden road in the Haworth area which are not in use, also that he draw the attention of the Corporation to the unsatisfactory supply of gas in the Cross Roads District and ask that steps be taken to remedy the shortage.

It was resolved that the Council enter into coal contracts with Messers James Wilby Ltd for supply of 1000 tons of Hemsworth Haigh Moor Washed Small Gas Nuts at 22/4 per ton delivered Haworth LMS Railway, delivery up to 30 June 1928; and with the Albion Coal and Cannal Co for supply of 1150 tons New Monckton Large Gas Nuts at 22/9 per ton, delivered Haworth station; and the 450 tons Wombwell Washed Singles at 20/3 per ton.

That in case of electricity consumers failing to pay arrears for meter rent or for electricity consumed, that the supply be cut off until such times as the arrears are paid.

That the seat at present fixed at the top of Bridgehouse Lane be removed into the Park.

That the Council purchase from Mr James Ogden subject to the consent of the Ministry of Health, his property situated between Butt Lane, Belle Isle Road and the Park, for the sum of ?1420.

That application be made to the Ministry of Health for sanction to loan of ?1700 for the purchase of land and buildings between Butt Lane, Belle Isle Road and the Park and for Street improvements.

It was resolved that the seal of the Council be affixed to documents as follows:- Agreement in duplicate between the Council and Messers Rushworth Lund & Co Ltd for supply of electrical energy to Townend Mills.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Lees and Cross Roads and Bocking War Memorial intimating that the Trustees have raised necessary resolutions to transfer the ownership of the Lees and Cross Roads and Bocking War Memorial Ground to the Council.

October 4, 1927
The Chairman of the Board made special reference to the death of Mr J A Murgatroyd, also to the long and valuable services extending over 19 years, which Mr Murgatroyd rendered to the Council.

That the Council use the cheaper brand of petrol (until further notice) as supplied in the district at a price of 10? per gallon.

That a supply of water be granted to Mr H Metcalfe 66 Stanbury, for purposes of building at the New Vicarage West Lane, on the usual terms.

On the recommendation of the Parks Committee and on the motion of Mr Thomas Duerden seconded by Mr Holmes Ackroyd it was unanimously resolved. That the Council open a subscription list inviting the public to subscribe towards the provision of seats in the Park, the value of the seat for the purpose to be fixed at 48/, and all donors to have presentation nameplates fixed on seats given by them. Also that the Clerk to the Council be appointed treasurer of the fund so raised.

It was unanimously resolved on the recommendation of the housing committee, that the Council take the necessary steps to sell houses at present being erected at Mytholmes in connection with the housing scheme.

That the application of Messers Snaith & Taylor for permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation for supply of electricity to Lees garage, Lees: and the application of Mr L S Bailey for permission to apply to the Keighley Corporation for supply of electricity to Cross Roads Inn, be granted on condition to be agreed between the Council and the Corporation.

It was resolved on the motion of Mr G Dickinson seconded by Mr Mitchell that the Council congratulate Mr J H Thomas on his success in winning research scholarship entitling him to attend Oxford University.

October 25, 1927
The Clerk reported that closing order in respect of standards 6 of the Haworth Central School have been made in respect of outbreak of smallpox from October 18 to November 4.

It was resolved that the Council takes steps to sell houses erected by them at Mytholmes, Haworth at a price of ?465 per house, subsidy being included in the price with an additional sum for land varying in amount approximately from ?1 to ?12, according to the position of each house, and that the proceeds of sales be used in repaying outstanding capital loan charges.

It was resolved that the salary of the Buildings Inspector be increased by the sum of 10/-per week from the date of his commencing his duties until the Council decide as to the tenancy of house at Mytholmes.

November 1, 1927
it was resolved that the Clerk write to the Keighley Corporation stating the intention of the Council to take over the plot of land known as Pinfold, West Lane, by reason of its unsanitary condition.

That an electric lamp be fixed on main road at Bocking by the Keighley Corporation at their cost.

That the Keighley Corporation be given permission to erect bus signs on street lamps situated at Station Road, River Street, Ebor Lane Top and Merralls Mill.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Waterworks committee pointing out that although the Haworth Council is now a subscriber to the Keighley Fire Brigade the supply of water from the Keighley water main to Churchhills reservoir is delivered through a 2” meter, and asking if some arrangement can be made to the meter to be bye-passed in case of fire, so as to give an increased water pressure.

November 8, 1927
it was resolved that an Electrical Exhibition be arranged for the Council's District for two weeks, and that the Clerk, if possible arrange to the use of the Bridgehouse Infants School.

A deputation of four gentlemen from the Masonic Lodge attended the meeting with respect to the question of buttressing the Masonic Hall. They explained to the Council that it was absolutely necessary that something to be done to make the building more secure. It was resolved that the Council offer no objection to the Masonic Lodge buttressing their building at the back, provided that if they encroach upon the proposed road, they arrange for the road, if made in the future to be at the same width shown on plan, the Masonic Lodge to make their own arrangements with the owners of the land which is maybe necessary to use.

The Clerk laid before the Council four applications for purchase of houses. It was resolved that the same be accepted provisionally. That Messers Duerden, Bannister, Waddington, Dickinson, Bailey, Rushworth and Pickles be appointed a committee to interview applicants for houses with a view to arranging if possible, for the four applicants to purchase houses in the same block, also that they be appointed to select tenants for the houses unsold.

It was unanimously resolved on the recommendation of the Parks committee that Mr Albert E Sunderland be appointed Gardener attendant at the Council's Park at a wage of ?3-5-0 per week. That the offer of Messers Jagger Bros to give to the Council stone for the purpose of inscribing names of members of the Council in connection with the completion of Park be accepted, and that the names of the whole of the members of the Council along with the Clerk be inscribed on the stone.

November 25, 1927
the Council interviewed 11th applicants for tenancy of the Council's houses at Mytholmes. It was resolved that after the applicants had balloted for houses, that they be allotted as follows:- No 1, Walton; No 2 Holdsworth; No 4 Weller; No5 Lewis Whitaker; No 13 Wright Whitaker; No 14 Gill, No 15 Scarborough; No 17 Earnshaw; No 18 Peace No 19 Butler, No20 Bentley. It was resolved that the contract be approved subject to clauses being inserted that boundary wall at Mytholmes Lane be not rebuilt or altered from its present position without the consent of the Council. That the Council Solicitor insert a clause giving rights of way round each Gable house and each adjoining house be reserved to the adjoining two owners.

December 6, 1927
That three electric standards be erected between Myrtle Terrace and the foot of Cross Roads Hill and also along Lees.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Corporation asking what price they would be prepared to accept for the piece of land known as Pinfold, West Lane.

That the Council withdraw Ebor Lane from their application now before the Electricity Commissioners, for permission to break up private streets under the electric lighting orders.

That the Clerk write to the County Council asking them to take over bridge at Lord Lane as part of their responsibility on the ground that the bridge forms a portion of main road between Oakworth and Haworth.

That the Council purchase a rebuilt Remington typewriter for the use of the officers at an estimated cost of ?10-10-0.

The Parks Committee recommended and Mr George Rushworth moved and Mr W Bannister seconded that dogs be not admitted in the Park. As an amendment Mr Holmes Ackroyd moved and Mr Charlie Smith seconded that dogs be not admitted in the Park except on leash. The Chairman on putting the amendment to the meeting declared the same to be carried.

That the house No 39 North Street be let to John Mitchell Cold Street.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the West Riding of Yorkshire Playing Fields Association intimating that the last day for applications for grants was the 15th of December. It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the Association pointing out that the Council have in view plot of ground near Council Schools which they think is very suitable for purpose of playing fields and ask for this land to be scheduled for purpose of application for grant

That the tender of Mr Robert Ratcliffe required in connection with the provision of cold frames and notice boards etc at the Park in the sum of ?18-9-6 be accepted.

1928

January 3, 1928
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Keighley Corporation stating that the negotiations with the owners of property adjoining land known as Pinfold, West Lane, Haworth resulted in an argument to sell this piece of land.

That the application of William Tibbols of 6 Mill Hey for permission to fix wireless aerial to the Gasworks yard wall be granted subject to his entering into an agreement to remove the same when called upon to the payment of 1/-per year acknowledgement.

That the dwelling house No 7 Sowdens, be let to Mr H Ayres, Ingrow at a rent of 2/3 per week, plus rates.

That the cable be extended from Clarendon Street to the end of Minnie Street and from Station Road to Bright Street at an estimated cost of ?70.

That Hackney Carriage Drivers licenses in respect of 49 motor omnibus drivers in the employ of the Keighley Corporation and 30 motor omnibus drivers in the employ of the Yorkshire (Woollen District) Electric Tramways Ltd be granted.

That the Council support the resolution of the Skelton and Brotton Urban District Council as follows:- That the Government be requested to provide the full amount of the cost of constructing and maintaining every district road which has been scheduled by the Ministry of Transport.

February 7, 1928
That a supply of electric current be granted to Messers Denby’s, Bridgehouse Mills, for lighting purposes at the rate of 6d per unit.

That a supply of electric current be granted to Messers W.A & F Priestly (Haworth) Ltd for lighting purposes.

On the recommendation of the Parks committee it was unanimously resolved that the Parks Superintendent be instructed to limit the playing of organised games in the Park to schoolchildren. That the sum of ?20 be paid to Mr Albert Sunderland the Parks Superintendent for plants supplied to the Park.

That the following applications for licences for one year to December 31 next be granted viz:-Yorkshire (Woollen District) Electric Tramways Ltd 77 buses. Keighley Corporation, 27 buses. Todmordon Corporation 8 buses and 53 drivers and 52 conductors in their employ.

That the electricity committee be empowered to take what steps they think best to advertise the use of electricity with a view of obtaining further consumers.

That the plan of coal store and potting shed to be erected in the Council's Park be approved.

That the application of Messers Snaith & Taylor for omnibus licences in respect of proposed service between Haworth and Oxenhope, via Bridgehouse Lane, Sun Street, Marsh and they be granted so far as the Council's District is concerned to December 31, 1928.

That Messers Duerden, Mitchell, Bannister and Ackroyd be appointed as subcommittee to prepare scheme for shelter and lavatories on land bottom of Bridgehouse Lane, Haworth.

It was resolved that the Clerk write the to public bodies in the Council's District inviting them to send a representative to meet the Parks committee with a view to the provision of public seats in the Council's District.

That the Parks committee have full power to accept the tender for provision of seats.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Minister of Health stating that he will be prepared to regard the five houses which have been sold to date as eligible for the grant of ?6 per annum for 20 years instead of that provided by section 2 of the Housing Financial Provisions Act 1924.

February 18, 1928
That Messers R B Broster & Sons be instructed to prepare plan and scheme for (1) Erection of shelter, and (2) Erection of shelter and lavatories: land at the bottom of Bridgehouse Lane, and immediately in front of Bridgehouse Mills.

March 6, 1928
That the Council make application to the Keighley Corporation for permission to use their old quarry on Flappit road for purpose of tipping refuse.

That the contract with Mr G H Hall for removal of excreta from the Council's District be continued for a further 12 months subject to contract being entered into.

That the application of the Brontë cinema for supply of electricity be granted at the price of 3d per unit from voltage of 400 and subject to a minimum payment of ?20 per annum for a period of five years.

That a supply of electric current be granted to the Haworth Public Institute for lighting purposes.

That an electric cable be laid from the Council's main cable to Bridgehouse Mills at an estimated cost of ?10-10-0.

On the recommendation of the Parks committee it was unanimously resolved that the coal store and potting shed be erected in the Park and that the tender of Messers Towler & Crabtree for the erection of same in the sum of ?130-15-0 be accepted.

That the tender of Mr James Wharton for provision of 200 seed boxes for the sum of ?6-13-4 be accepted.

That the tender of Messers Ceilbrans Ltd for supply of trees for the Park be accepted at the sum of ?160.

That the necessary plant pots be purchased from Messers Sankey & Son Ltd at an estimated cost of ?10.

The Chairman reported to the Council a letter received by him from the Rector of Haworth, inviting the Council to attend Divine Service at the Parish Church on Sunday the 13th inst. and further asking the Council to be present at the dedication of the new Rectory after morning worship. It was resolved that the Council accept the invitation.

March 26, 1928
It was resolved that the design of Park stone to be placed in entrance to Councils Park as drawn by Messers Jagger Bros Ltd be approved and accepted.

That temporary bus licence be granted to the Keighley Corporation in respect of Leyland Lioness 26 seater bus registered No 4695.

It was resolved that the Clerk write to the London Midland & Scottish Railway Company drawing attention to the fact that excursion train facilities have not been granted to the stations on the Worth Valley line and asking that this concession be granted to the stations on the Worth Valley Banch.

April 3, 1928
It was resolved that the Clerk write to the London Midland and Scottish Railway Company asking if the company are prepared to meet a deputation of the Council with respect to proposed road improvement near Bridgehouse Wesleyan Chapel.

It was resolved that Messers RB Broster & Sons, the Council's architects of the Park scheme, be instructed to re-arrange the paddling pool in the Council's Park.

April 19, 1928
It was resolved that the Council are of opinion that all motor omnibuses running into the Council's area should be examined for mechanical fitness, and that this matter be referred to a joint committee of the Oakworth and Haworth Councils to make recommendations to the two Councils bearing upon the resolution.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Electricity Commission with respect to overhead lines to be attached to Trolley Vehicle Standards in the Urban District of Haworth, stating that the commissioners had been satisfied that the technical proposals of the Corporation are sound, and that the lines if and when erected will comply with their regulations for overhead lines. It was resolved that the Clerk reply stating the standards were put up for the convenience of their trolley bus system and have been subsequently converted into standards for carrying overhead electric cables and that they have been a nuisance to pedestrians and the danger ever since erected, that they constitute an additional danger in view of the street lamps and telephone poles erected along the same road, and that the Council would like them removing, or placed on the opposite side of the road and suggest that the Council would be glad to meet the Keighley Corporation to discuss the matter.

That a letter of thanks be sent to the Cooperative Society, Haworth, employees for the gift of a seat in the Council's Park.

May 1, 1928
On the recommendation of the Parks Committee it was resolved that the Council purchase 26 collapsible chairs for use of bands when giving concerts in the bandstand, the Haworth Band having promised to arrange concerts to liquidate the cost.

That permission be granted to the Haworth Band to practice in the band stand on week-days in view of their contest on May 12; also that they be given permission to use the Park on Whit Sunday and Sunday, July 1928.

That a lawnmower with roller be purchased at an estimated cost of ?7.

That application be made to the Ministry of Transport and the Unemployment Grants Committee for financial assistance towards the Butt Lane improvement scheme and that Messers R B Broster & Sons be instructed to prepare necessary plans and estimates required.

Mr J Hindley moved and Mr W Bannister seconded that no Band Rehearsals or other practices be allowed in the Park on Sundays. On the Chairman putting the motion to the meeting he declared the same to be lost; 4 voting for 10 against.

June 5, 1928
That the Clerk be instructed to see the Superintendent of Police, Keighley, asking that prosecutions be instituted forthwith against any person's found trespassing on the sewage farm, and ensuring him of the Council support in any action taken.

It was resolved that the Council takes steps to acquire if possible, land at Cross Roads adjoining the Lees and Cross Roads Recreation Ground, opposite the Lees and Cross Roads Cooperative society; the purpose of additional land to be added to this recreation ground.

July 3, 1928
That the following plans be approved, viz:- proposed alterations at the Old Rectory, Haworth for the Brontë society.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Keighley Corporation with respect to refuse tip proposed at Brow Moor road asking the nature of the material intended to be deposited. It was resolved that the Clerk reply stating that household refuse from sanitary bins only, chiefly dry ashes, is proposed to be tipped, and that the Council are willing to pay ?1 a year acknowledgement.

That permission be granted to the Haworth Public Institute to arrange a Community Sing in the Council's Park on one Sunday in August the day to be fixed later.

It was resolved that the Clerk order a further 20 seats from Messers Murton & Varley Ltd of their "Anchor" type.

August 7, 1928
That all trackless standards from Cross Roads Top to Bocking be removed and where possible the electric lamps necessary to light the route be fixed on the outer side of footpath instead of on the curb stones.

That permission be granted to the Haworth public Institute to hold a community sing in the Park on Tuesday evening August 14 in the place of the Sunday previously suggested.

That all employees obtaining the age of 65 years, employed in the various departments of the Council be put on 24 hours per week, unless their cases are specially considered by the Council, and that any employee engaged in the future be automatically retired on obtaining the age of 70 years.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Haworth Amateur Operatic Society, asking permission to use the Councils offices in respect of booking arrangements for a musical production which they are giving in October.

September 4, 1928
It was unanimously resolved that electric current for lighting purposes be supplied to Miss Martha Kershaw, 5 Earl Street Haworth.

That the Clerk take the necessary steps to obtain the services of some member of the Royal family for the ceremony of the opening of the Park.

September 21, 1928
That the Parks Committee be empowered to take steps necessary for the preparation of detailed plans of the proposed layout of the East side of the Park.

That a deposit of ?100 be paid to Mr James Ogden on account of purchase price for land, Butt Lane for the development of the East side of the Park.

October 2, 1928
That a committee be appointed to consider the question of renewal of the scavenging lorry, also they consider the advisability of fitting a petrol storage tank at an estimated cost of ?10.

The Chairman of the Council reported on dispute which the sanitary officer had with one of the butchers with respect to the carcass which he had seized as being unfit for human consumption. It was resolved that the action of the Chairman of the Council and the Chairman of the sanitary committee in arranging to test the findings of the sanitary inspector with respect to this case be approved, the test proving the sanitary officer's decision to be quite correct.

On the recommendation of the Parks committee it was unanimously resolved that the Council's architect be instructed to prepare detailed plans of the proposed layout of the land on the east side of the Council's Park.

November 6, 1928
On the recommendation of the Parks Committee it was unanimously resolved that the tender of Mr J Pedley for the provision of shelving in greenhouse in the Council's Park, for the sum of ?9-15-0 be accepted.

That Messers Mitchell and Barwick be requested to obtain offer in writing from Mr James Greenwood with respect to proposed purchase of property Haworth Road also that the Clerk be instructed to communicate with Capt Greenwood pointing out that the Council are seeking to extend the Lees and Cross Roads Recreation Ground to open out into Haworth Road, and ask if he can see his way to give a portion of land belonging to him, for the extension, also stating that the Council are in negotiation with Mr James Greenwood for the purchase of land belonging to him.

That the application of the Keighley Corporation for Hackney carriage licence in respect of 4 Leyland double deck top covered 51 seat motor omnibuses be granted to December 31, 1928.

That the application of Mr J B Snaith for Hackney carriage licence in respect of a Commer 14 seater motor omnibus be granted to December 31, 1928.

It was resolved that a licence be granted to the West Yorkshire Road Car Co Ltd for them to ply for hire with service of motor omnibuses between Haworth and Bradford, via Denholme.

December 4, 1928
It was resolved that the applications of Messers George Bancroft & Son, Sun Street and Percy Todd, Mytholmes Lane for supply of electricity for power purposes be granted.

That Mr James Greenwood be asked to sign option to be drawn by the Council Solicitor for the Council to purchase land at 2/6 per yard, opposite Lees and Cross Roads Cooperative Society and adjoining Lees recreation grounds and that if necessary ?25 deposit be paid subject to the sanction of the Ministry of Health being obtained.

1929

January 1, 1929
That the public lamps be lit all night of the nights of Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Imperial War Graves Commission asking the Council to grant to the commission the exclusive right of burial in the following graves No 249, section A; No 290 section A and No 185 section B in the Council's cemetery. It was resolved that the Clerk reply stating that as the graves are privately held, the Council do not see how they can accede to the request of the commission.

On the recommendation of the Parks committee it was unanimously resolved that six tons of weathered limestone be purchased for additional rockery work at an estimated cost of ?6.

That the application of the Haworth West Lane Wesleyan church for supply of electricity to electric blower for the organ at West Lane Church be granted.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter and plans received from the Council's architects in connection with proposed improvements at junction of Butt Lane and Belle Isle Road, which scheme shows an estimated expenditure of ?1050.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter received from the Council’s Solicitors enclosing agreement for purchase of land from Mr James Greenwood, adjoining Lees and Cross Roads Recreation Ground. It was resolved that the Clerk be authorised to sign the document on behalf of the Council and that the scale charges of the vendor and purchaser be paid by the Council and a cheque drawn for ?18-15-0 being 10% deposit over the purchase price.

February 5, 1929
The Chairman made reference to the death of Mr Joseph Mitchell who have been a member of the Council continuously for the past 21 years and to the great loss sustained by the Council by Mr Mitchell's death.

That an electric lamp be substituted for the gas lamp at present erected in front of the Central Stores of the Haworth Cooperative society, Main Street.

That the rent of the Council's houses, Mytholmes Lane, be reduced to 8/10 per week, that the reduction to take place as from April 1, 1928 and that the excess rent collected from the date be refunded to the tenants.

That the application of Mr R Jagger for supply of water by meter to Bankfield quarry, be granted.

That the plans of two dwelling houses proposed to be erected at Hebden road for Messers Mitchell and Howker be approved.

February 22, 1929
The Council's architects Messers R B Broster & sons attended the meeting and laid before the Council amended scheme for alteration at the junction of Belle Isle Lane and Butt Lane and completion of Haworth Park. It was resolved that application be made to the Ministry of Health for sanction to loan in the sum of ?1200 additional to the sums of ?95 and ?376 granted on 7 September 1928 for the purpose of completing the Haworth Park, boundary and improvement at the junctions of Belle Isle Lane and Butt Lane including for the demolition of cottage property and outbuildings forming fuel store and bath room in accordance with the scheme prepared by the Council's architect.

March 5, 1929
That the offer of Messers Merrall & Son Ltd to sell to the Council 27? yards of land or thereabouts adjoining South view and North Street at the price of 1/0 per yard be accepted.

That electricity for power purposes be supplied to Messers G F Denby & Son, Bridgehouse Mills at the price of 1?d per unit plus meter rent, they to undertake to take such supply as will re-coup the Council for outlay on cable in two years.

April 5, 1929
That Messers Duerden, Ackroyd and Waddington be empowered to take what steps they think fit with regard to the disposal and replacement of the horse belonging to the Council and engaged in the Highways Department.

May 7, 1929
On the recommendation of the Parks Committee it was unanimously resolved: That a lawnmower be purchased at an estimated cost of ?6. That it be an instruction to the Parks Superintendent that in frosty weather, that the WC's in the Park be locked up, and that the water cisterns be emptied. It was resolved that the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Parks Committee be empowered to purchase 26 folding chairs for use in the Band Stand. That necessary plates "please keep of the grass" be purchased to use in the Park. That the Haworth Band be granted free use of the Park on Whit Sunday and Rush-bearing Sunday.

May 10, 1929
It was resolved that the plan of proposed wooden garage for Mr J Gray in field of Back Alma Street be disapproved on the grounds of the building being erected before plan was considered by the Council.

June 4, 1929
The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the County Council with respect to hoardings in the Council's District, intimating that the highway authority may by notice prohibit erection of hoardings or other structures at the corner on bend of the road in the order to prevent obstruction of view of persons using the highway.

July 2, 1929
On the recommendation of the Parks Committee it was unanimously resolved, that the application of the Bradford City and Working Men's Club and Institute to give a performance on Sunday, June 30 on the terms of ?2; ?1 deposit and the other ?1 to be paid on the day of the performance.

Mr Holmes Ackroyd moved and Mr James Riley seconded that clause 20 of the bylaws be amended to read "dogs not allowed in the park except on leash". On the amendment being put to the meeting, the Chairman declared the same to be carried

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Haworth West Lane Wesleyan Chapel Sunday school, asking the Council to take steps to arrange with the West Riding County Council for supply of books under their Lending Library Scheme and stating that they would have no objection to such a library, if granted to them, being thrown open to the public. It was resolved that the West Riding County Council be asked to accede to the request of the school.

August 6, 1929
The Clerk reported that the Ministry of Health had returned draft byelaws with respect to the Park with certain amendments. It was resolved to agree to delete clauses 2 and 3 of the draft, and to approve replies to observations on clauses 9, 10, 14 and 23.

That the application of the London, Midland and Scottish Railway Co and the London & North Eastern Railway Co for licence for service of motor omnibuses between Bradford and Haworth via Cullingworth, be granted, also that their application for licence in respect of 5 Hackney carriages be granted to December 31, 1929.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Brontë Bus Company asking the Council if they could see their way to find them bus stand as they had been ordered by the L. M & S. Railway to pay 10/-per week for their two buses standing on the ground in front of the Haworth Station. It was resolved that a subcommittee comprising of Messers Duerden, Ackroyd, Bannister, Waddington the appointed to deal with the request contained in their letter.

August 15, 1929
That the seal of the Council be affixed to conveyance and agreement between the trustees of the Lees and Cross Roads Recreation Ground and the Council the taking over of the Lees and Cross Roads Recreation Ground by the Council.

September 3, 1929
That the Council agree to put in the extra 5 yards of cable, free of cost, installing electricity units Mr Holmes property, Belle Isle.

October 1, 1929
That steps be taken to obtain borrowing powers to cover cost of proposed removal of War Memorial into the Park.

That 28 days notice under section 91 of the Public Health Act 1875 be served on both owner and occupier of No 30 Prospect Street to abate nuisance caused by overcrowding at the said house.

That Messers R B Broster & Sons be appointed architects in connection with proposed lay out of the Lees and Cross Roads Recreation Ground.

That the following suggestions be incorporated in scheme for lay out of the Lees and Cross Roads recreation ground to be prepared by Messers Broster, viz that conveniences be built for both sexes; that the Bowling Green be relaid, that the two grass tennis courts at present on the ground be converted into two hard courts; that an ornamental wall and railings be erected on the new land, that a paddling pool be erected somewhere on the land, that the bottom half of the recreation ground be levelled to provide a playing field, that ornamental bedding be provided, that a small stone building be erected for accommodation of tools.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the County Council with respect to the proposed library centre at West Lane Wesleyan Sunday school, Haworth. It was resolved that handbills be drawn up and distributed in the district setting out the facilities provided by the library.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Keighley and District Joint Town Planning Committee stating that the joint town planning committee at their last meeting had passed the following resolution, viz:- That the average number of houses per acre over any land unit be not more than 16 with a maximum of not more than 20 houses on any one acre of land unit.

November 5, 1929
It was resolved that an extra electric light be fixed on standard opposite Roller yard, Whins Wood, also gas lamp be erected in Garden Street, Cross Roads, that the bracket lamp top of Main Street be increased to 500 candlepower, that an electric lamp be provided middle of Main Street and bracket gas lamp, Prince Street.

That the application of the London Midland and Scottish Railway Co for supply of electricity for electric juggers crane, goods warehouse, Haworth, a granted.

That the request of Messers Vickery, Kyle & Company Ltd to produce combined guidebook for Haworth and Oakworth District owing to insufficient support having been given to them to produce a separate guidebook for the Haworth District be granted.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Unemployment Grants Committee intimating that the scheme with respect to the completion of the Haworth Park is approved for grant purposes as follows:-75% of the interest and sinking fund charges on the loan not exceeding ?1766 raised to meet private expenditure for the first half up to 15 years of the loan period.

That the scheme prepared by Messers RB Broster & sons for proposed layout in connection with the Lees and Cross Roads recreation ground be approved and that application be made to the Ministry of Health for sanction to loan in the sum of ?4820 for the purpose of carrying out the scheme, also that application be made to the Unemployment Grants committee for grant in aid of carrying out the work.

December 3, 1929
That the scheme of Radiation Ltd for advertising gas appliances in the Haworth Advertiser be adopted by the Council at a cost of ?5, 40% of cost to be borne by the Council and 60% by Radiation Ltd.

On the recommendation of the Parks Committee it was unanimously resolved that Messers Duerden, Bannister, Spencer and Rushworth be appointed a subcommittee with full power to act, to negotiate with Mr J Rhodes for purchase of land belonging to him abutting on Belle Isle Road. That the District Valuer be asked for his value of this land and that the powers of the Council be ascertained, if any, under the acquisition of lands act.

That the electric Street lamps erected at street corners be lit in the early mornings until further notice.

It was resolved that cheques be drawn in payment of purchase price for land at the Lees and Cross Roads recreation ground, bought from Mr James Greenwood and Mr J A Greenwood when the Council’s Solicitor ascertain the amount of purchase money required.

1930

January 7, 1930
it was resolved that the Council do not proceed at present with provision of electric lamp at urinal in Belle Isle.

That the arrangement made for WJT Hartley, Sowdens House, to pay an acknowledgement of 2/6 per year for the privilege of washing his motor car in the yard at Sowdens Farm, and also to pay ?1 towards cost of repairing yard opposite his frontage be confirmed.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from Mr Walker Emmott asking the terms of supply of electricity to Messers Jagger Bros for additional plant which they intend to install. It was resolved that Messers Bannister and Duerden have full power to settle terms of supply.

That chimney in house occupied by Mr James Ogden Mill Hill, be relined.

It was resolved that the seal of the Council be affixed to conveyances between the Council and Mr James Greenwood and Mr John Anderton Greenwood for sale to the Council of plots of land adjoining the Lees and Cross Roads recreation ground.

The Clerk laid before the Council notice from Mr Stephen Greenwood of his intention to apply for excise licence to retail cider for consumption off the premises 43 Mill Hey, Haworth, at the West Riding Court House, Keighley on 7 February next. The Council made no observations.

January 9, 1930
It was resolved that the Council pay to Messers Towler and Crabtree the sum of ?10 in consequence of their relinquishing all their rights of bridle path now enjoyed by them over the property of the London Midland and Scottish railway at Haworth into Belle Isle Lane, provided that the Council will make a gateway in the Council's land at Belle Isle for the purpose of allowing them to turn off and on water supply also for the purpose of allowing them to cleanse and repair watercourse.

March 4, 1930
On the recommendation of the Parks Committee it was unanimously resolved that 1500 antiseptic impregnated lavatory seat covers be purchased from Messers JG Porter (printers) Ltd, 26-27 Bond Street, Leeds, at a cost of ?1-0-0.

That the tender of Mr James Smith, for supply of plants for the Council's Park in the sum of ?20-15-6 be accepted.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Yorkshire Electric Power Co Ltd, stating that with respect to the distribution of electricity in Haworth by the company, they have considered the matter very carefully, and have regretfully come to the conclusion they could not develop the undertaking in the manner in which they would desire unless the Keighley Corporation were prepared to terminate or amend bulk supply agreement.

March 24, 1930
That this committee recommends to the Keighley and District Joint Town Planning Committee that houses in the Haworth Urban District Council be of a density of .16 per acre.

That the following plans be approved plans for two houses, Hebden road, for Mitchell & Gilson; new lavatory and WC at Black Bull hotel for Bentleys Yorkshire Breweries; alterations to Royal Oak for D Fielding & sons.

That the Clerk be instructed to send a printed copy of the Park Bye Laws to Mr Holden, the schoolmaster, and to ask him to read these out in school.

That the Council lay an electrical cable along Prince Street not later than September next providing that not less than nine consumers guarantee to take a supply.

April 16, 1930
The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the Unemployment Grants Committee intimating grant in respect of Lees & Cross Roads recreation ground, the work to be actually commenced by the 19th of May.

It was resolved that the seal of the Council be affixed to six Deeds of Release with respect to abandonment of Annie Street.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the secretary of the Bingley Vicarial Tithes asking the Council to redeem tithe on land at the Lees & Cross Roads recreation ground in the sum of ?2-8-4. It was resolved that this tithe be redeemed.

That the application of the Brontë Bus Company to license their new Commer Omnibus, also for licence in respect of driver and conductor, of this particular bus, be granted to December 31 next.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the LM & S Railway Co with respect to improvement of Belle Isle Road stating that the offer of ?6 made by the company to assist the Council in raising the building was withdrawn. It was resolved that the Council reply stating that the Council are surprised at the letter and suggest that the Council still think that a monetary contribution of ?10 by the company is quite reasonable in view of the benefits they have obtained.

That Messers Pickles, Duerden and Ackroyd be appointed a deputation to discuss with the trustees of the Conservative Club, Haworth the proposed abandonment of the frontage of the Conservative Club in Mill Hey.

That the Clerk write to the Keighley Corporation Tramways Manager suggesting that the Corporation buses on Haworth route start at Townfield gate at a point along side the curb and if possible on the theatre side and not on the parking ground as at present.

May 6, 1930
The Clerk reported letter from the Ministry of Transport intimating that it will not be possible in future for the Ministry of Transport to give grants towards the surface tarring of unclassified roads. It was resolved that the West Riding County Council be asked to take over the maintenance and repair of Bingley road.

That the Chairman of this committee and sanitary inspector consider letter received from the County Council, with a view to scheduling certain parts of the district for control of the erection of petrol pumps and report to the sanitary committee.

That a closing order be made on house No 6 Hoyle Cottages on the ground that the house is unfit for human habitation.

That the charge to school teachers and children from the two Council schools in the district, for tennis be one penny per game from 4 pm to 5:30 pm on Mondays Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and Saturday morning up to 12 o'clock noon.

That the Council advertise for a youth 16 years of age as the assistant to the Parks Superintendent at a wage of 15/- per week.

That the plan of proposed buildings and layout for the Lees and Cross Roads recreation ground as presented to this meeting by the Council's architects be sealed with the Council's seal.

The Clerk reported receipt of sanctions to loans in the sum of ?400 and ?4420 in connection with the Lees and Cross Roads recreation ground scheme.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the County Council enclosing bye laws recently made by the County Council with respect to the protection of wild plants and suppression of litter.

May 13, 1930
That two electric lamps be fitted at Butt Lane and Belle Isle Road.

That the owners of land on West side of Butt Lane be called upon to fence in their own land in conformity with the width of Butt Lane and in accordance with the terms of purchase of their land, and also to pave half of Butt Lane abutting on the frontage of their property. The motion declared the motion to be not carried. That Butt Lane be paved from the fence to fence, with the exception that curb footpath be laid where necessary between Mill Hill and Haworth Institute.

June 3, 1930
The Clerk laid before the Council letter from Miss Doris Redman asking permission to use the Park on September 6 next in connection with demonstration to commemorate the founding of the Sunday Schools. It was resolved that such permission be granted.

That the Clerk communicate with Messers W Bannister, Ratcliffe, Pedley and Sunderland, and the Haworth Institute asking what steps they contemplate taking if any, with regard to the making of the Street that is already planned for behind Mill Hill Road between their respective properties before the Council complete Butt Lane improvement.

June 11, 1930
the Council's architects, Messers RB Broster & sons, presented to the meeting, tenders for work required in connection with the Lees and Cross Roads recreation ground scheme. There were 13 tenders for Mason's work, 10 for joiners work, seven for slaters work, 15 for plumbers work, six for plasterers work. It was resolved that the following tenders be accepted, subject to the price is being checked by the Council's architects and to be being found correct viz:-
Albert Sharp Ltd Mason's work ?1400-0-0
H Ratcliffe Joiner’s work ?331-14-6
WH & G Walton Slater’s work ?112-10-0
A Jowett plumber’s work ?154-2-3
W Harris plasterer’s work ?174-14-5

June 19, 1930
It was reported that in checking figures of the tender of Albert Sharp Ltd an error had occurred which increase the amount of their tender. It was therefore resolved that the tender of Rastrick in the sum of ?1460 be accepted.

July 1, 1930
That the Surveyor be authorised to pave Butt Lane as far as possible with the paviors at present in his possession, and that the question of purchasing further setts, as and when required for the purpose from the West Riding County Council be left with the Chairman of the Highways Committee and the surveyor.

That the architect be instructed by the Surveyor to take the necessary steps to complete erection of the railings in the Park.

That the Lees & Cross Roads Institute be granted permission to hold their annual sing in the Cross Roads Park on Sunday, August 24, 1930. That it be held in such part as will not interfere with the alterations proceeding, and that the Institute committee be responsible for any damage done.

That the Denholme prize Band be granted permission to use the Park for two concerts on Sunday, July 13, 1930.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Keighley Corporation Water Works committee pointing out that the Council have exceeded the permission granted by the Keighley Water Works committee in placing seats on Brow Moor. It was resolved that the Council ask for the necessary permission for these seats to be placed on Brow Moor.

July 15, 1930
The Clerk laid before the Council circular letter from the Ministry of Health dated the third instant, with respect to the provision of work for the unemployed. It was resolved, arising out of the circular, that the Clerk communicate with the West Riding County Council urging upon them to carry out the following schemes viz:-

1. Improvement of Station Road opposite Bridgehouse Wesleyan Chapel.
2. Continuation of Rawdon road into North Street.
3. Proposed new road between Oakworth and Haworth, as outlined by the Leeds and Bradford Region Town Planning Committee.
4. Improvement of road at Cross Roads by the removal of slaughterhouse.

And also that the Clerk communicate with the Ministry of Health suggesting provision of shelter and conveniences at Bridgehouse and provision of Bowling Green in Haworth Park.

It was resolved that a tentative offer of ?100 per acre for land behind the Central Schools for proposed use as playing fields be made to the owners of the land.

That Messers R B Broster & sons be asked to give their opinion as to provision of Bowling Green in the Haworth Park at the bottom end, on either side, and that they give a provisional estimate of cost.

August 5, 1930
That the Haworth Public Institute be granted use of the Haworth Park for annual sing on Sunday, 31 August 1930.

It was resolved that the Council takes steps to provide Bowling Green.

That a subcommittee consisting of the Chairman and Messers Ackroyd and Rushworth seek interview with the trustees of the Rawdon estate with a view to the purchase of land behind the Central Schools.

August 15, 1930
Mr George Rushworth moved and Mr Bannister seconded that in the opinion of the Council the land behind the Central Schools is suitable for the purpose of playing fields. As an amendment Mr Holdsworth moved and Mr Spencer seconded that no action be taken with regard to the land. The Chairman on putting the amendment to the meeting declared the same to be lost, and the original motion carried.

That the Parks Committee be instructed to see to the shelters in Haworth Park being boarded on the inside immediately above the seats.

September 2, 1930
That the paving of Butt Lane full width be continued up to the top gates of the Park entrance in Butt Lane, also the Council's portion continued from Park entrance to present paving in Butt Lane.

That the work of laying cable along Prince Street, a distance of 200 yards, at an estimated cost of ?160 be proceeded with at once.

That Mr Robert Wood be requested to undertake the work of boarding up the sides of the shelters in the Council's Park.

That the Clerk communicate with Dr Fitzgerald drawing his attention to the unsatisfactory state of the fencing round his property, and to the fact that at present the fencing allows the possibility of people to enter the Park by way of his private footpath; and further to request Dr Fitzgerald to desist from tipping garden rubbish into the Park.

That the laying of electric cables be carried out on Prince Street, Victoria road, Dean Street and subsidiary streets also Coldshaw and Hebden road at an estimated cost of ?1100, subject to grant in aid being received from the Unemployment Grants Committee.

The Clerk reported receipt of a letter from the County Council dated 8 August, with respect to Isolation Hospital Accommodation, enclosing report setting out areas into which it is proposed the several authorities be grouped for provision of Isolation Hospital Accommodation and asking the Council to consider the suggestions and inform the County Council of the Council's decision on the report.

October 7, 1930
That the tender of Messers Thos Blackburn & Sons Ltd, Preston Ironworks, Preston, Lancs, for providing railings for Cross Roads Park, be accepted in the sum of ?265-16-4.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from Messers RB Broster & sons intimating that the trustees of the Rawdon estate were prepared to accept ?200 acre for land coloured red and ?100 acre for land coloured blue on tracing enclosed with the letter, for the sale to the Council of land behind the Central Schools, for purposes of playing fields.

The subcommittee which have been looking into the question, recommended the purchase of the land tinted on the plan with the addition of 2622 yards of land as shown on tracing to the North-west boundary in a straight line to Rawdon road. It was resolved that the recommendation of the subcommittee with respect to the additional land be approved.

It was resolved that the Clerk communicate with the West Riding County Council Education Department and the West Riding of Yorkshire Playing Fields Association, stating that the Council are negotiating for the purchase of this land, and asking if they are willing to make a grant towards the purchase price.

It was resolved that the Council make application to the Ministry of Health for sanction to loan in the sum of ?1030 for the purchase of land behind the Central Schools, Haworth, for the purpose of playing fields.

October 17, 1930
the Council took into consideration the question of the turfing of Bowling Green proposed to be laid in the Council's Park, Cross Roads. It was resolved that the offer of the proprietor of Grange farm, Mr Hunter, Oakworth, to supply turf at a price of 4 ?d per yard, the Council to do their own cutting and leading, be accepted.

The Clerk laid before the Council letter from the Council’s Solicitors with respect to the purchase of playing fields behind Central Schools, Haworth, intimating the acceptance by the solicitors to the Rawdon trustees of the amended offer of the Council of ?1000 for the land coloured blue, pink, green and brown, as shown on plan accompanying the letter. It was resolved that the contract between the trustees and the Council be signed, subject to the conditions set out in the letter of the Council's Solicitors to the solicitors of the Rawdon trustees dated the 10th instant.

November 4, 1930
Recommended that the Council offer electric current to the picture house, Haworth Hippodrome Ltd at a flat rate of 3d per unit.

It was resolved that the Council are quite agreeable to the Gasworks Department selling coal to the Midgley & Pollard charities at cost price, and for the Council's scavenging wagon to deliver coal within the Council's District on or about December 23, 1930.

December 2, 1930
It was resolved that the public lamps be lit in early mornings as in previous years at the main points of the district; also the public lamps be lit all night Christmas Eve, Christmas Day night and Boxing night.

December 18, 1930
The Clerk lay before the Council letter from the Unemployment Grants Committee dated the 15th instant with respect to relaying of gas mains, Lower Oxenhope to Marsh, and Hebden road, Haworth. The letter stated that the Unemployment Grants Committee are anxious to get all schemes of work for the relief of unemployment into operation before Christmas, and in the circumstances request the Council to do their utmost to proceed with the works at the earliest possible moment. That it be an instruction that only materials of British manufacture be used.



haworth-village.org.uk 2001 - 2017


tracker